We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food!”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, N. Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Had a great weekend. Fabulous breakfast and dinner, as good as we have had anywhere in the world.
Great staff, nice facilities and accommodation. Only disappointment was poor wi-fi / internet but this may not be all the hotel's fault.
Great location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dufferin-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sending us your feedback, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon. We are looking into our Wifi system and hoping to get this sorted as soon as possible.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    530
    234
    120
    84
See reviews for
415
1,027
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend stay in the Redcastle hotel. While it has a lovely setting and very friendly, attentive staff, the hotel could do with some attention to maintain the 4 star rating it is advertised as. The general appearance of the hotel is lovely but it is hard not to notice that the woodwork in the corridors and in the bedrooms is very scuffed and worn. We had also expected a separate shower and bath in a 4 star hotel rather than a shower over the bath with a simple shower curtain. The break was for my husband's birthday so it was a nice touch that a little box of chocolates had been left on the bed with compliments.
The breakfast was fine but if you did not choose to have a cooked breakfast each morning (as I didn't), the selection was quite limited. I've definitely had much better breakfast selection in other hotels.
The area most needing upgrading in the hotel is the pool/spa area. I had read reviews before we visited about Jacuzzis etc not working in February but naturally assumed this would be fixed promptly. However the same problems were there. The shower which is to be used between the sauna and entering the pool was ice cold and hence very unpleasant. A number of the Jacuzzi areas were not functioning at all and the sauna and steam rooms were quite grotty to be frank. We didn't hang about there for too long.
We probably would not return to this hotel unless we were sure it had been renovated. We did not have a deal for this 3 night break and so were paying full price so it was disappointing to not be fully satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillyNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read that you were not happy with certain aspects of your stay. We are indeed upgrading certain areas within the leisure centre and Spa and I hope you will get an opportunity to see these changes on your next visit. I will pass your comments also about the breakfast buffet to our Food & Beverage Manager. If you would like to discuss any of these points further please do feel free to contact us directly of feedback@redcastlehotel.com
Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel mid February 2014 . The food was good both at breakfast and evening , lovely position next to the lough foyle . However , the spa was not very well maintained . The water was cold and many of the facilities weren't working .
The accommodation was just acceptible , but tired and lacking the standards of a four star hotel .
The staff were all very friendly and professional ,nevertheless overall very average hotel .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank joc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I was sorry to read that certain aspects of your stay were not as you expected. If you could please contact us on feedback@redcastlehotel.com we would welcome the opportunity to discuss these matters further
Thank you once again
Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Have just returned from a 2 day break in The Redcastle. This is my second stay in the last 6 months and, like my first visit, I was impressed by all aspects of the hotel - excellent and professional staff, great food , lovely rooms and perfect setting. I look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marray2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in Redcastle Hotel quite a few times now and fell in love with it the very first time I stayed. The hotel is beautiful as is the food and the location and views are magnificent! The staff are lovely too. In particular, I found the swimming pool attendant Brendan Doherty particularly helpful during my most recent stay as I had misplaced my room card and he was very helpful indeed in resolving this. He immediately went to reception for me and provided me with a new card. A complete star!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drshaz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review and also for choosing our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again very soon. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Brendan.

Redcastle Customer Care Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Wonderful staff, beautiful hotel, stayed here once again for my daughters birthday and had an amazing time. Will be back later in the year!! Thank you to all the staff who helped make my daughters weekend special!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysteria444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sending us your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your weekend and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

On this occasion we had a family lunch for over fifty people with about twenty non family guests.

The food was good to very good. The service was very good as the staff were professional and helpful. The lunch, which consisted of three course plus coffee was very good value. The price was agreed beforehand.

The hotel is located on the western shore of Lough Foyle in a sheltered position, approximately 15 miles from the City of Derry/ Londonderry

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAMON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your review. We are delighted to hear your group enjoyed their meal and we hope you will visit us again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
897 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
129 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,815 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Property: Redcastle Hotel
Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing