We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel,Great Staff and Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel,Great Staff and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Just back from a 2 day break,really hard to find any negative comments apart from the room heating not coming on until 7pm!!
Rooms were a good size with views over the Lough or the Golf Course.
The best bit was the food in the resturant I think excellent quality,presentation and service would cover it.
Would recommend this for both couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ray_heron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    510
    225
    116
    82
See reviews for
397
984
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Good hotel for families with young kids. Pool is great for children,although they'll kick out kids the moment the childrens pool times are over :( Good gym.
It's also adjacent to http://www.leisurelandredcastle.ie/ which is also great for kids.

The staff were very very friendly and hospitable, more so than normal.
The hotel was refurbished about 5 years ago and would have been great then but is starting to show some wear and tear in places.

We booked at a reduced rate through hotelsireland dot com We were only going to book for 2 nights but saw a deal that if we booked for 2 nights we got a 3rd night free, which we took advantage.

There was no internet in our rooms but free wifi in the lobby.
The hotel is far from perfect but it is good value for a decent 4 star hotel and is well recommended for kids

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likes2travel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Derry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Stayed here over the St Patricks break with my mum and 3 children. We have stayed at this hotel a few times and we all love it. Staff were really helpful especially when my two year old requested pasta at breakfast that we laughed at but 10 mins later to our surprise the lovely waitress brought a bowl of pasta to a delighted child. Really nice of them. Pool lovely and children loved it so will definitely be back. Would recommend this hotel even though some people think its a bit tatty. We have always enjoyed our stays and will be back.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry city
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

this hotel looked lovely on the internet despite some negative reviews, it was not good. the room was drab, dark brown chipped and worn furnishings, cheap toiletries, no dressing gown/slippers, not even a biscuit with the hospitality tray. like another reviewer we also had a room overlooking the car park (we werent on a special package), unexciting. the bed was actually 2 beds pushed together so we had a big ridge down the middle and curtain was hanging off window at one end, the hairdryer kept switching off and the tv was from the 70s, the whole room looked and felt dreary. the restaurant was busy so we opted for bar food until we saw it was €15.50 for fish and chips which we had to eat in the foyer cos the bar was closed...we went to nearby village (moville) and got lovely lemon and pepper haddock and garlic chips for less than half the price. the hotel was really noisy with banging doors, an amorous couple and people using the toilet all night long. when we were going down to breakfast in morning the plumber was at the room opposite because the toilet wasnt flushing. breakfast was bog standard 3* serve yourself style, we had to ask them to bring our tea and coffee and we noticed that the table next to ours had to chase the waitress for their tea and coffee also, not what you expect from a 4 star, we really dont understand why this is a 4 star, we're not snobby, sometimes we find ourselves in 3* hotels but you know what to expect and you cant complain, what annoys us is to pay the extra to book a 4* and get 3* standards, would we stay here again? - definitely no, would we recommend it? - definitely not, this hotel is clean and if your room is on the river side it has lovely views and some of the staff were friendly...other than that it is, in our estimation, a poor 3 star hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquiohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

I stayed in this in hotel in July. The location of the hotel was lovely, it was a very peaceful area with plenty of lovely villages nearby, however there were no pubs / shops within walking distance. The service of the staff was excellent. The food in the restaurant was beautiful, you could sit there and look out at the views without being rushed at all. The bar was excellent and a lovely place to chill out (although there wasn't a huge amount of atmosphere in it). Our room was great, we had a seperate sitting room which was a great bonus.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

My other half and I went there for a weekend at the beginning of January. Very helpful and friendly staff on arrival. We won a trip so there was champagne and chocs in our room. They were delicious as we stood out on the balcony area looking at the mountains covered in snow! We had two views that over looked the peninsula. The room was on the lower level and it looked like we were surrounded by water- it was very scenic. Comfy bed and very spacious room. Big bathroom too.
Food was fab! We had dinner looking out onto the lough- beautuful! The house wine was also very good- maybe too good!! We had bar food on the sunday. ALso very good. The bar was closed though- I thought this was odd. Perhaps they dont do much business at that time of year but I thought it would be open on a Sunday. There was music on the Saturday - good craic in the bar.
All in all a very good stay. We said we would love to see the area on a summers day so I suppose that in itself says we'd go back!
Also spa was good! Had a treatment done.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smaointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

We are a young couple in our twenties, we stayed in the Carlton Hotel for 2 nights in early January. I was disapointed with the room we got at check in which overlooked the carpark, as most people would go there for the beautiful view. They offer great deals online but these are the rooms you are getting with no view. In fact you need to pay for an ugrade to get a view with a room overlooking the sea. We did pay for an upgrade as the receptionist was unwilling to give us a room with a view without paying for an upgrade. I've stayed in many hotels worldwide & whenever we request a view we seem to get it complimentary. The upgraded room was really nice, but not worth the money on top of what we paid. The room was cold and had to call reception each day asking them to turn on heat as it was only coming on in the morning for a while and then the evening. Not good enough in the middle of winter with snow outside, the heat should be constant and you can decide when you want heat instead of the inconvenience of calling reception. We had a DO NOT DISTURB sign on our door when housekeeping knocked away asking to clean our room. Their staff obviously are not trained correctly and seem to do whatever they want.

There was a mid aged woman serving breakfast and as we arrived around ten minutes before breakfast finished we felt like she was rushing us and in fact looking down at us. The breakfast arrived and must have been sitting for a while as bacon was so overcooked you couldn't eat it. On the carlton hotel's website it states there is WIFI in every room but in fact there is only WIFI available in the lobby of the hotel, this again shows how things aren't as they should be in a 4*hotel. I found one of the reception girls had an attitude which wasn't very professional and for that reason I would not recomment this hotel even though I live in Donegal and have many friends & family that were thinking of going. Overall I felt very uncomfortable staying in this hotel & wished we went somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty08Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.7 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Property: Redcastle Hotel
Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing