We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent house, excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Palmtree cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Moville, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ubgalway
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent house, excellent location”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in palmtree cottage for a week, 2 ad 3 kids. It's a really lovely house, much the nicest we've ever rented. Really clean and very well equipped, and a lovely touch was the prosecco and milk tray that awaited us! Moville is beautiful, especially the shore walk. The house is easy walking distance from the village , which is small but we enjoa couple of nice evenings out in Rosatos bar and restaurant. Biddys fast food does lovely chipper food and big portions but I didn't like their pizzas, rosatos for the pizza!
Moville is a good location to visit the north,we took the ferry from nearby Greencastle across to go to the giants causeway, the crossing costs €16 return for a car. We took the bus to Derry from moville, cost €34 for all of us return and was really handy . It's only about half an hour to Derry and we really enjoyed Derry especially the Walls walking tour which I shall review later. Overall, I really recommend Palmtree as a location and as a great value rental!

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathd2003
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
“Holiday in Moville”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

First time in Moville and we stayed at Palmtree cottage which was in an ideal location a few minutes walk from the lovely shore walk , harbour , swing park and local shops. We had a lovely week. The cottage was spacious and we really enjoyed the outdoor space. Hope to return again one day . Thanks to the thoughtful owner who left us wine and chocolates on our arrival which was a lovely surprise.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spdm18
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely cottage well equipped with everything you could need, short walk into town and the coastal path - would recommend this lovely place.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeralda
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well located accommodation in Moville”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This cottage had many pluses. Its location is within easy walking distance of the centre of Moville. Its sitting room and dining kitchen are very comfortable and the kitchen was well provided with all the pots and utensils you could need. Only a few minuses prevent us from rating this property higher: the double bed in the main downstairs bedroom was very uncomfortable and lacked proper mattress support. We were met with a slightly damp, musty smell on arrival which dissipated over the week once aired. Disappointingly the garden area totally lacked privacy due to the location of a large house at the rear which is not evident from the photographs. As a base for exploring beautiful County Donegal it is more than adequate.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review. All the mattresses were replaced last year. The single beds all have memory foam and we chose an orthopedic one for the double room as this is our own holiday home and I have back problems. I am sorry that you thought that this lacked support. The house has been very busy since April and I do not detect the musty smell that you mentioned. There were people staying right up until the day that you arrived so the house has not been left empty. Additionally, in the winter months we run the heating and arrange for a neighbour to open and close windows. However, I will take your feedback on board and leave all the windows open during the changeover times. The house is situated in the village and has neighbours behind and on either sides. It is however well placed for anyone looking to leave their car and walk to the shops and to the shore.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very comfortable stay in house with all facilities in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Palmtree Cottage is in a beautiful village of Moville in North Donegal. The area is quite stunning, with beautiful coastline. Moville is kept very clean and tidy and is a credit to the locals. There is a lovely walk along the coast to next village, Greencastle. This is a must do!! There are several rest areas on the walk and for all dog lovers, ye are well catered for too, with ample supply of poop bags etc.

The Cottage has all amenities that one can possibly need, ie, TV, CD player, lots of books, mags and games. All kitchen utilities supplied. Also free internet access, word of warning here, Please follow owners instructions as regards to Vodafone dongle supplied. Do not download films, songs, etc as this uses up the monthly fee paid by owner very quickly, hence next tenant will suffer as they wont have internet access AT ALL.

All in all, the accommodation here is very comfortable and we had a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Brill week for 30th anniversary”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Extremely Beautiful well equipped cottage, thought of all the things you can't take on holiday with you, travel cot, high chair, child safety gate ect, very comfortable cottage with washing machine, decking and barbecue. Even has WiFi, walking distance to shops, restaurants, shore and pubs. will definitely be back in the future, thanx Hugh

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Alison
I'm glad you had a good time and I hope to see you soon, thanks for your kind comments.
Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We Will Be Back!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at this property for the second time and again the owners have not failed to impress. Property was immaculate upon arrival. Anything we would have needed as travelling with a baby was all available in the property ie. High chair, travel cot, safety gate and baby bath which made our stay so much more homely. Property situated central to a beautiful shore walk and walking distance to town centre. When departing from the property had the pleasure of meeting the home owner Hugh and his wife, very friendly to match the friendly holiday home they own. Would recommend this property to anyone visiting Moville.

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
David
Thanks very much for your review we try very hard to make everything just so and it's great to be appreciated, hope to see you soon
Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.