We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully renovated wee house.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Palmtree cottage

Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Kitchen/diner Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Kitchen/diner
Living room
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Main bedroom
Bathroom with large walk-in shower area. Heated towel rail.
Twin bedroom. 2 single beds. Wall mounted TV. Antique fireplace.
Enclosed outdoor area, Charcoal barbeque
Palmtree cottage
Yes - there is an actual palmtree!
Palmtree Christmas
Local pubs and diners only a 5 minute walk from Palmtree
Scenic shore walk from Moville to neighbouring village of Greencastle - 2 minutes from Plmtree
Village square - 5 minute walk
St Patrick's Day parade 2016
St patrick's Day parade outside Palmtree Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Moville, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
wendyengl...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated wee house.”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I booked the cottage last minute in order to visit family nearby with my parents. Upon arrival we found out the heating needed sorted but Siobhan and Hugh were already on the way to make sure all was well and driving through storm Ophelia to do so!
They could not have been more helpful and they have made a beautiful job of the house. The decor is tasteful, beds comfortable and personal touches like chocolates on arrival show the attention to detail. The central location is great too. We hope to be back and would recommend the house heartily to visitors to Moville and around. Only thing missing was a cafetiere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy M
Ballyclare
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Really close to village centre and lovely coffee shops and pubs.House spotless and fantastic for families. Private parking and open fire. Internet a bit slow but worked fine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ubgalway
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent house, excellent location”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in palmtree cottage for a week, 2 ad 3 kids. It's a really lovely house, much the nicest we've ever rented. Really clean and very well equipped, and a lovely touch was the prosecco and milk tray that awaited us! Moville is beautiful, especially the shore walk. The house is easy walking distance from the village , which is small but we enjoa couple of nice evenings out in Rosatos bar and restaurant. Biddys fast food does lovely chipper food and big portions but I didn't like their pizzas, rosatos for the pizza!
Moville is a good location to visit the north,we took the ferry from nearby Greencastle across to go to the giants causeway, the crossing costs €16 return for a car. We took the bus to Derry from moville, cost €34 for all of us return and was really handy . It's only about half an hour to Derry and we really enjoyed Derry especially the Walls walking tour which I shall review later. Overall, I really recommend Palmtree as a location and as a great value rental!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathd2003
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
“Holiday in Moville”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

First time in Moville and we stayed at Palmtree cottage which was in an ideal location a few minutes walk from the lovely shore walk , harbour , swing park and local shops. We had a lovely week. The cottage was spacious and we really enjoyed the outdoor space. Hope to return again one day . Thanks to the thoughtful owner who left us wine and chocolates on our arrival which was a lovely surprise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spdm18
Sheffield
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely cottage well equipped with everything you could need, short walk into town and the coastal path - would recommend this lovely place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeralda
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well located accommodation in Moville”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This cottage had many pluses. Its location is within easy walking distance of the centre of Moville. Its sitting room and dining kitchen are very comfortable and the kitchen was well provided with all the pots and utensils you could need. Only a few minuses prevent us from rating this property higher: the double bed in the main downstairs bedroom was very uncomfortable and lacked proper mattress support. We were met with a slightly damp, musty smell on arrival which dissipated over the week once aired. Disappointingly the garden area totally lacked privacy due to the location of a large house at the rear which is not evident from the photographs. As a base for exploring beautiful County Donegal it is more than adequate.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review. All the mattresses were replaced last year. The single beds all have memory foam and we chose an orthopedic one for the double room as this is our own holiday home and I have back problems. I am sorry that you thought that this lacked support. The house has been very busy since April and I do not detect the musty smell that you mentioned. There were people staying right up until the day that you arrived so the house has not been left empty. Additionally, in the winter months we run the heating and arrange for a neighbour to open and close windows. However, I will take your feedback on board and leave all the windows open during the changeover times. The house is situated in the village and has neighbours behind and on either sides. It is however well placed for anyone looking to leave their car and walk to the shops and to the shore.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Very comfortable stay in house with all facilities in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Palmtree Cottage is in a beautiful village of Moville in North Donegal. The area is quite stunning, with beautiful coastline. Moville is kept very clean and tidy and is a credit to the locals. There is a lovely walk along the coast to next village, Greencastle. This is a must do!! There are several rest areas on the walk and for all dog lovers, ye are well catered for too, with ample supply of poop bags etc.

The Cottage has all amenities that one can possibly need, ie, TV, CD player, lots of books, mags and games. All kitchen utilities supplied. Also free internet access, word of warning here, Please follow owners instructions as regards to Vodafone dongle supplied. Do not download films, songs, etc as this uses up the monthly fee paid by owner very quickly, hence next tenant will suffer as they wont have internet access AT ALL.

All in all, the accommodation here is very comfortable and we had a very pleasant stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing