We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Glynarthen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond perfection”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said about this lovely B&B. Richard is the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble and continually offered to go above and beyond.

The facilities and rooms are faultless, not to mention the amazing breakfasts whipped up in the kitchen by the lovely Huw.

If you choose to stay here, you're in for absolute treat, I for one am looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
209
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is far-and-away the nicest B & B that I have ever stayed. Everything is perfect down to the smallest detail. You are treated like an old friend rather than a guest. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The setting is the idyllic Welsh countryside. What could be better?
Highly, highly recommended and I truly can't wait to return.

Thanks to everyone for making our trip so special. ( and the breakfasts are luxurious!)

Well-done!

Dr. Thomas Arnold

Room Tip: All looked delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bassboy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Richard and Huw have created the perfect B&B experience. My wife and I, and our greyhound Louis thoroughly enjoyed every part of our stay. The suite was fabulous, the breakfast delicious, the welcome and friendliness of the hosts absolutely topped it off.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you're bringing a dog,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Everything about our stay was first class. The upstairs timber-frame ensuite was absolutely 5-star ... spotless, cozy, warm and absolutely silent (a cure for anyone who suffers from insomnia)

Breakfast was superb - and Richard was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants, sites and some amazing drives in the vicinity. This level of personal service is something you won't get - even at the best hotels.

I highly recommend Penbontbren to anyone visting Wales (and I can understand why every other review here is Excellent)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inukshukasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

From the moment we arrived we instantly felt at home and fell in love with Penbontbren.
We received the warmest welcome from Richard who had a great sense of humour and made our stay relaxing and special. On the first day we had the most amazing breakfast in our fabulous suite which was served in fine china with such attention to detail. The furnishings and decor was finished impeccably in every way. From the stiletto phone to the amazing paintings on the walls.
On the second day we ate breakfast in the dining room. We can recommend the bacon and cockles and the whole menu was simply delicious.
We were reluctant to leave at the end of our weekend as it truly is the most fabulous place, in beautiful surroundings and we can't wait to return as soon as we can. Thanks again Richard. John and Laura (the Greene's).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebra1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanddeusant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

You just cannot be disappointed, every attention to detail, and the rooms are sumptuous, the bed was just amazing (think it was king size but like sleeping on a cloud). Breakfast the next day was huge and beautifully cooked, and the hosts were charming. Beaches around were lovely, and the dog who came with us was very contented, and that's all that matters (not always)..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jondobson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My owners have stayed here several times now and it has always been an absolute pleasure. There is a lovely garden I can run around in, the rooms are exceptional although I am not allowed on that very comfy looking bed and those gorgeous sofas but hey ho it's a dogs life. Not a bad one in this case.
The breakfasts are terrific because I always get a small piece smuggled back to me by my owners and it is delicious - and the hosts are so friendly and welcoming.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is warm, welcoming, quite and super, super comfortable but within easy reach of the beaches, check out my picture on the beach, and many other places look no further because you just found it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glynarthen
5.3 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
7.4 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
6.2 mi away
The Swallows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: Penbontbren | Nr. Cardigan, Glynarthen SA44 6PE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Glynarthen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glynarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penbontbren has been described as the definitive luxury bed and breakfast. Penbontbren's suites are all newly refurbished with King or Super king beds, private terraced gardens and are suites with seperate sitting rooms. Direct dial telephone, i pod docking station, flat screen tv, filter coffee machine, iron and board are just some of the ameneties provided. Winner of the Good Hotel Guide's prestigious Cesar award, Penbontbren has been awarded 5 star and the Gold award from Visit Wales, and has also been entered into the respected Johansen's guide and Alastaire Sawday's special places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penbontbren Luxury Bed And Breakfast Glynarthen, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing