We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good that I almost don't want to share the secret!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Glynarthen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So good that I almost don't want to share the secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having stayed on many occasions with Richard & Huw at their previous (and similarly excellent) establishment near Cardiff we were very keen to pay a joint-birthday visit to Penbontbren to say hello and sample the delights of their rural retreat, and the reviews already posted here do not exaggerate in their fulsome praise. Penbontbren is, simply, perfect. The suites are spacious, luxurious and extremely well appointed - no expense has been spared and every possible need is catered for. There can't be many B&B's with suites that contain a well-stocked fridge, White Company toiletries and Cath Kidston crockery! I never watch TV on holiday but there were two to choose from and I was so happy to have a teapot (that doesn't drip), proper cups and saucers and real milk in the fridge, not to mention the scrummy welshcakes. The bed was huge and ever so comfortable, and the bright, spacious bathroom was a pleasure to luxuriate in. The private terrace overlooking Huw's well-tended grounds was just the icing on the cake - especially as we had glorious weather to enjoy being outdoors. Breakfast each morning across the courtyard in the light, airy breakfast room was another delight - as expected. Local produce, expertly prepared. Carol, the manageress, is an absolute darling and Richard was always on hand with his effortless wit and enthusiasm, and if you hang around long enough you'll catch Huw after his morning walk with William & Edward. The boys are such fun and there's no doubt that they make the place what it is. Nothing is too much trouble for them - the first thing we found in the suite when we arrived were two birthday cards and two bars of the local artisan chocolate. We were only booked in for two nights originally but we simply couldn't bear to leave. The suites were all fully booked for the next two nights (hardly a surprise) so Richard very kindly gave us the cottage for two nights (with breakfast), which made us feel thoroughly spoiled. I could happily have spent a week (or two) in the suite, but I could easily move into the cottage and live there! It offers the same high level of comfort and amenity as the suites, just with more space for larger groups - it's actually the old farmhouse and there's plenty of room for up to six or seven people so we were very lucky just to have it to the two of us. There's plenty to do in the area - gorgeous beach at nearby Penbryn, excellent food in the picturesque harbour town of Aberaeron, history at Plas Llanerchaeron, not to mention the local landscape and coastal scenery. I have never been so sorry to leave somewhere but the boys gave us a lovely send off. There's no question of 'if' we'll be going back, simply a question of 'when' - as soon as possible!!!

Room Tip: Ground-floor suites have their own private terraces, or there's the Garden Room if you want tota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blorenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
204
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary on 8th May 2014 and we wanted somewhere to stay that would match our special occasion so we booked a 2 night stay at Penbontbren and what a beautiful place it is. From the moment we turned in to the idillic court yard we knew we had made the right choice.

We were greeted with the warmest of welcomes from Richard and Huw before being offered one of two rooms. We opted for an upstairs room which had a lovely views over the stunning gardens that Huw has created. The room with it's exposed beams and luxury touches throughout was the perfect setting.

The separate living space was so comfortable and relaxing we had the windows open looking over the grounds with the birds singing it was heavenly and a million miles away from our daily hustle and bustle within the big city.

Then you have the mini bar area that is very well stocked with all that you'll need from champagne to chocolate and with the prices very reasonable you won't help but indulge (we did).

Then you enter your large bedroom with en-suite bathroom accompanied by luxury toiletries. The luxury touches don't stop there, I know they say there's no better bed than your own but after this stay I have disagree this has to be the best nights sleep we've ever had, the mattress and pillows were perfect and the bed linen was so soft.

If this wasn't enough the breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented with all food locally produced and supplied.

And then there is Richard and Huw what fantastic hosts their knowledge of the local area is 2nd to none and the way they look after your every need is something you just don't get anywhere else.

Together Richard and Huw really have made the most PERFECT PLACE TO STAY. Words can't really do Penbontbren justice so you will just have to come and see for yourself, you don't get 5 star ratings for nothing.

Thanks both can't wait to come back. See you both very soon.

Gareth & Christina Hutchings

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have lovely exposed beams and comes complete with your outside seating are to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

'Beautiful property, in peaceful surroundings. Very relaxed atmosphere, made even more comfortable by the friendly welcome and service. The perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hosts/staff were extremely friendly and put everyone at ease, which led to a lovely atmosphere at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked to stay 3 nights at Penbontbren, and received a very warm welcome from Richard upon our arrival. We were shown to our spacious, immaculate 2 bedroom suite (number 1), with separate living room and private patio overlooking the beautifully kept gardens. It was such a peaceful location and perfect for exploring the Ceredigion area.

The breakfast was delicious and a very relaxing start to the day. Richard was most helpful in providing tips for places to visit and restaurant recommendations for lunch and dinner.

We would not hesitate to recommend this excellent luxury bed and breakfast and will hopefully return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewJKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently stayed at Penbontbren with my husband and it certainly lives up to its tripadvisor rating. From the moment I booked we received a first class service. Richard sent all the information that we needed by email, and was extremely helpful when I asked for advice on where to eat. When we arrived, Richard greeted us in the car park and showed us to our beautiful room which was extremely luxurious and had everything we needed for the weekend. Breakfast was amazing and everything was of the highest standard. Richard is the perfect host and seems to know exactly when he is needed. We stayed for two nights and only wish that we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful guest house. Everyone should experience this place at least once in their lives.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Thank you Richard and Huw for 5* treatment at every level. Luxury accommodation at its best. This place was Elite in every way. From the very beginning to the very end it was wonderful. The attention to detail was second to none, the food was delicious and the two night stay was perfect. Would love to go again, and would recommend it to anyone who loves Wales at its very, very best.
Thank you for a wonderful few days - we will be back. Diolch yn fawr

Room Tip: They are all good. Some have stone steps so not ideal for the everyone, but plenty of ones on ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment you book to the second you leave you are made to feel welcome. The accommodation is simply magnificent, very clean and comfortable a true home from home. Breakfast is perfect and your host is always at hand to help you with tips for the day. Theblads know their country and the local area well and. Will never steer you wrong.
Situated at the end of a lane tucked neatly into the most wonderful setting, you'll be treated to awesome views and rich wildlife. If you can tear yourself away this is the perfect place to explore a very rich part of the Welsh nation and both Richard and Huw will help you make the most of it. We cant wait to go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glynarthen
9.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.3 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
6.2 mi away
The Swallows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: Penbontbren | Nr. Cardigan, Glynarthen SA44 6PE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Glynarthen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glynarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penbontbren has been described as the definitive luxury bed and breakfast. Penbontbren's suites are all newly refurbished with King or Super king beds, private terraced gardens and are suites with seperate sitting rooms. Direct dial telephone, i pod docking station, flat screen tv, filter coffee machine, iron and board are just some of the ameneties provided. Winner of the Good Hotel Guide's prestigious Cesar award, Penbontbren has been awarded 5 star and the Gold award from Visit Wales, and has also been entered into the respected Johansen's guide and Alastaire Sawday's special places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penbontbren Luxury Bed And Breakfast Glynarthen, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing