We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Glynarthen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Special B and B”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Fantastic suite with the most comfy bed we've ever slept in. Suite had 2 bedrooms which was perfect as we had a teenager with us and was a very reasonable price. Lovely grounds with views from our own patio. Breakfast was delicious and Richard was great fun and very helpful. Bonus was beautiful weather with some lovely beaches a short drive away. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
215
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We recently stayed at Penbontbren and had a fantastic time. The accommodation and welcome is first class. Richard, Huw and Carol could not have been more accommodating. Us, the kids and the grandparents had a wonderful time. The accommodation is beautifully decorated, the breakfast is yummy and the garden is idyllic. It was perfect and we will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I arrived at Penbontbren on Friday morning to join my partner who regularly stays with Richard and Huw when visiting Wales on business, so this place had a lot to live up too.

From entering the drive to leaving everything is 1st class and more than 5*. We had room four, a suite that looked out over (Kew gardens) a great view and such lovely manicured gardens. The suite is fantastic,great bed,very comfortable, great bathroom and an excellent shower.

Our lounge/living room area was fantastic, very very comfortable sofa and chair, a well stocked fridge and yes the well discussed Welsh cakes. Plenty of tea and coffee and a great coffee making machine.

Our fridge was better stocked than an off licence, a wide choice of drinks and light snacks, plates and glasses along with knives and forks are all supplied for your needs if you desire to eat in your suite.

We visited a local attraction everyday we stayed. These had been recommended to us by Richard and Huw. Fantastic days out and great places. There is so much to do in this part of Wales.

We dined out everyday, lunched at local pubs, and had evening meals in local restaurants. If Richard and Huw recommend the place you must go as they have vetted all their their recommendations.

I cannot fault Penbontbren. Richard and Huw are great, so welcoming and just great people. Nothing is a problem for then. I must say thanks to Carol who served us breakfast and serviced our suite. Great lady and again a wealth of local knowledge.

I do not want to go home.

Thanks to you both guys.

Penbontbren lived up to everything I expected and more. As you know I will be back and when you cross the border you must contact us . You know you would always be welcome.

Simon and Carol

Room Tip: Any room as Richard and Huws stardards are the same throughout. 5*. I would go as far to say that ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Straight away we were made to feel very welcome along with our dog who settled in immediately! The room was beautifully well appointed with a luxurious big bed and crisp white sheets. Everything was spotless and the fridge was well stocked. A special treat came in the form of welsh cakes restocked everyday and a fresh bottle of milk in the fridge instead of the UHT cartons. It was great to have cutlery and crockery to eat food from the local farm shop with and there was even a private balcony overlooking the fantastic gardens on which to enjoy it. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty and always served with a smile. Richard and Huw were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much of a problem. I can't find a single negative to say about this place and am so glad we found it. Just don't tell anyone else!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intergalactica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I recently stayed in the beautifully decorated garden suite which was my very own cottage detached from any of the other buildings. It looks over the well maintained gardens and has its very own garden area where you can sit outside and enjoy a drink / meal.

I was travelling by myself and had picked up food along the way so I was pleased to see that there were plates and cutlery plus a variety of soft and alcoholic drinks to select from along with a fridge to keep other items I had bought with me chilled.

I would most definitely stay here again by myself or with husband and would encourage others to do so also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raynor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having stayed on many occasions with Richard & Huw at their previous (and similarly excellent) establishment near Cardiff we were very keen to pay a joint-birthday visit to Penbontbren to say hello and sample the delights of their rural retreat, and the reviews already posted here do not exaggerate in their fulsome praise. Penbontbren is, simply, perfect. The suites are spacious, luxurious and extremely well appointed - no expense has been spared and every possible need is catered for. There can't be many B&B's with suites that contain a well-stocked fridge, White Company toiletries and Cath Kidston crockery! I never watch TV on holiday but there were two to choose from and I was so happy to have a teapot (that doesn't drip), proper cups and saucers and real milk in the fridge, not to mention the scrummy welshcakes. The bed was huge and ever so comfortable, and the bright, spacious bathroom was a pleasure to luxuriate in. The private terrace overlooking Huw's well-tended grounds was just the icing on the cake - especially as we had glorious weather to enjoy being outdoors. Breakfast each morning across the courtyard in the light, airy breakfast room was another delight - as expected. Local produce, expertly prepared. Carol, the manageress, is an absolute darling and Richard was always on hand with his effortless wit and enthusiasm, and if you hang around long enough you'll catch Huw after his morning walk with William & Edward. The boys are such fun and there's no doubt that they make the place what it is. Nothing is too much trouble for them - the first thing we found in the suite when we arrived were two birthday cards and two bars of the local artisan chocolate. We were only booked in for two nights originally but we simply couldn't bear to leave. The suites were all fully booked for the next two nights (hardly a surprise) so Richard very kindly gave us the cottage for two nights (with breakfast), which made us feel thoroughly spoiled. I could happily have spent a week (or two) in the suite, but I could easily move into the cottage and live there! It offers the same high level of comfort and amenity as the suites, just with more space for larger groups - it's actually the old farmhouse and there's plenty of room for up to six or seven people so we were very lucky just to have it to the two of us. There's plenty to do in the area - gorgeous beach at nearby Penbryn, excellent food in the picturesque harbour town of Aberaeron, history at Plas Llanerchaeron, not to mention the local landscape and coastal scenery. I have never been so sorry to leave somewhere but the boys gave us a lovely send off. There's no question of 'if' we'll be going back, simply a question of 'when' - as soon as possible!!!

Room Tip: Ground-floor suites have their own private terraces, or there's the Garden Room if you want tota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blorenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary on 8th May 2014 and we wanted somewhere to stay that would match our special occasion so we booked a 2 night stay at Penbontbren and what a beautiful place it is. From the moment we turned in to the idillic court yard we knew we had made the right choice.

We were greeted with the warmest of welcomes from Richard and Huw before being offered one of two rooms. We opted for an upstairs room which had a lovely views over the stunning gardens that Huw has created. The room with it's exposed beams and luxury touches throughout was the perfect setting.

The separate living space was so comfortable and relaxing we had the windows open looking over the grounds with the birds singing it was heavenly and a million miles away from our daily hustle and bustle within the big city.

Then you have the mini bar area that is very well stocked with all that you'll need from champagne to chocolate and with the prices very reasonable you won't help but indulge (we did).

Then you enter your large bedroom with en-suite bathroom accompanied by luxury toiletries. The luxury touches don't stop there, I know they say there's no better bed than your own but after this stay I have disagree this has to be the best nights sleep we've ever had, the mattress and pillows were perfect and the bed linen was so soft.

If this wasn't enough the breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented with all food locally produced and supplied.

And then there is Richard and Huw what fantastic hosts their knowledge of the local area is 2nd to none and the way they look after your every need is something you just don't get anywhere else.

Together Richard and Huw really have made the most PERFECT PLACE TO STAY. Words can't really do Penbontbren justice so you will just have to come and see for yourself, you don't get 5 star ratings for nothing.

Thanks both can't wait to come back. See you both very soon.

Gareth & Christina Hutchings

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have lovely exposed beams and comes complete with your outside seating are to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glynarthen
9.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
782 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
440 reviews
5.3 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
368 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ffynonwen Country Guesthouse & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: Penbontbren | Nr. Cardigan, Glynarthen SA44 6PE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Glynarthen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glynarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penbontbren has been described as the definitive luxury bed and breakfast. Penbontbren's suites are all newly refurbished with King or Super king beds, private terraced gardens and are suites with seperate sitting rooms. Direct dial telephone, i pod docking station, flat screen tv, filter coffee machine, iron and board are just some of the ameneties provided. Winner of the Good Hotel Guide's prestigious Cesar award, Penbontbren has been awarded 5 star and the Gold award from Visit Wales, and has also been entered into the respected Johansen's guide and Alastaire Sawday's special places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penbontbren Luxury Bed And Breakfast Glynarthen, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing