We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“D and M” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stag's Head Inn

The Stag's Head Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stag's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Filleigh B&B and Inns
Brixham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“D and M”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

My wife and I regularly visit The Stags Head at Filleigh .We have been visiting for the last eight or nine years. We are so impressed that we travel from our home in Torbay, a round trip of 156 miles, to enjoy a superb lunch in lovely surroundings. The available menu is one of the largest we have seen . The food is all home cooked, mostly from locally sourced ingredients and we doubt you could eat better anywhere. The owners John, Sue and Sally are the nicest people as are all the staff who give excellent service. The interior has a real cosy olde worlde charm but with a modern touch to the decor with always fresh cut flowers. There is a nice area with tables beside an enormous pond where if you wish, you can eat on nice days. We make regular day visits but I am sure a stay as a resident would be an excellent experience.,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieBarnstaple, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you so much to these lovely people for the generous comments about our pub, we value the comments tremendously. As we also have another site listed in South Molton, we would ask that maybe you could comment on there as most people do. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Molton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

This pub has a lovely atmosphere, great staff, an extensive menu and are very accommodating. My daughter had her birthday there with 10 friends and they had a wonderful evening as did I and my partner and Mum. The food was lovely and good value. The pub is is in a beautiful location only 10 mins from South Molton. We have booked our Christmas meal there for 25 and am looking forward to it. Well done Sue John Sally and all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieBarnstaple, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our pub, we really appreciate it. At the moment we have 2 sights on here for the pub, and we are trying to amalgamate the two, but wondered if you would visit our South Molton side and add there. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Went on Saturady night and of course the restauant was busy. Food was ok but not exceptional. Restaurant was being run by 4 girls who whilst ok didn't give the exceptional level of service which should now be the norm. We enjoyed our meal but came away a little flat and thinking the whole experience could have been better. A few small personal touches and a few less plastic flowers may have helped.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purchases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieBarnstaple, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for writing about out pub, we are sorry you found your evening a little flat, I am not sure how to respond to this, but we will try harder, I am not sure what personal touches we failed on, the girls are friendly, and the pub homely, we do not aim to be fine dining,just a pub with good food, and just one small point, we have no plastic flowers, fresh flowers are on the tables and windows, and some silk flowers in the fireplaces. I would be very interested in a private reply as to exactly what you felt was not right. With great respect. Obviously we aim to improve all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

What a find! Thatched pub in great countryside with an extensive menu of wholesome dishes.
After a long walk I was hungry and tired sauteed mushrooms followed by a fillet steak. Portions were HUGE and both dishes were cooked to perfection. Wine list was a bit limited but, hey, who cares when everything else was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hodscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieBarnstaple, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you so much for putting this on here, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and experience. Our wine list is a fairly small comprehensive list of popular, reasonably priced wines, which we have found to be fairly successful in this particular pub. We hope you will return again, and once more, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This inn is of the kind we nostalgically look for...typically Devon bred without any pretension to be otherwise. The small " local ", timbered, thatched and cosy, pumping excellent local ales and hosting, among others, country folk and their dogs. John Pryor, mine host, is an affable, welcoming landlord, who, with his family, provides a carefully assembled and beautifully cooked menu. I am a long-term expatriate and visit my sister who lives locally. She and her husband often treat themselves to a slap-up meal ! Generous portions and sensibly priced...so enjoyable in the cosy ambience. A real fire in the winter too !
The Stag is well worth going out of your way for .....as others have mentioned, do book tables !

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

When we arrived our first impression was quaint. When shown to our room to find a 1970's carpet on the floor and no ensuite facilities, ( perhaps the washbasin in the corner of the bedroom qualified as ensuite? - I don't think so!) and to be told the toilet was shared and 25yards down the corridor I was not best pleased. The pub and the restaurant may be good but the rooms were badly appointed, the bed was very uncomfortable with synthetic bedding. We were not at all impressed with the accommodation. The best part was the breakfast which was excellent. Would I stay there again - absolutely not.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NannaVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
I am sorry the guests did not enjoy their stay with us, and felt the comments unfair, they did not request an en suite room, we are a very old Inn and only have 4 rooms, one of which is en suite, the bathroom is 16 ft from the room, not 25 yards, the carpet may not be to their taste, but is clean and in good repair, and we are in the process of recarpeting the upstairs area, we have re done our thatch and redecorated and upgraded the downstairs area and bar. Every other guest has commented on the comfort of the bed and the bedding is new, of good quality, although not 100% cotton. Had these people made their feelings known we would have made a reduction in the bill, although with our rates as low as they are it would have been difficult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We went for lunch after coming across this pub / restaurant listed on Tripadvisor for romantic places to eat around Barnstaple, and it was so nice to be treated so well in a family run establishment, service was excellent and the whole place has a welcoming feel to it, especially liked the dessert menu title "afters". Food was locally sourced, home made and tasty - good classic pub grub and filled the slot. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Stag's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag's Head Inn

Property: The Stag's Head Inn
Address: Stags Head, Filleigh, South Molton EX32 0RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton > Filleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Filleigh
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stags Head Inn is a country pub and restaurant which also provides bed and breakfast at very reasonable rates. We have 4 comfy rooms, one of which can be en suite. We aim to provide warm hospitality, a good night's sleep and a delicious breakfast, using local products. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stag's Head Inn Filleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing