We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tacuba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal de Mama & Papa
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Nice place to chill out and as other travellers said : waterfall tour is a must do if you came all the way over there! The room is nice and big and they have some pet turtles in the garden, lovely. Worth the bus ride up there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grigouillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
21
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We only spent one night at Mama y Papa's but I wish that we had more time to hang out with mama. She was a wonderfully warm and welcoming host who even provided us with free water and fruit for our long bus ride since she wasn't sure if we were going to have time to stop at the store before we left town.

We organized a tour through Manolo and it was most definitely worth it. It seems as though there is some confusion about the different tours, so let me clarify what the waterfall tour entails: pick-up at the hostel around 8am; one hour drive to El Imposible; approximately one hour of non-strenuous hiking (with a guide) before you reach the first waterfall; after jumping off the ledge into the pool below (about 10ft) you swim/wade downstream a bit and head back onto the trail for about another ten minutes of hiking; this continues for 7 waterfalls (with jumps ranging from 10 to 40 feet--or 3 to 11 meters); there's a resting place at the bottom of the final waterfall where you have lunch, bask in the sun and do some more swimming (if you'd like); one+ hour hike up a different route (a bit more strenuous than the route down); hour long drive back to the hostel; arriving around 3pm. Amazing day, well worth the money. William was a terrific guide. NOTE: we were a little concerned about how much water there would be since it was the middle of the dry season but there is more than enough for the waterfalls to be flowing and the jumps to be perfectly safe.

All in all, a great place to stay and I definitely recommend it (especially since it's basically the only option in town).

Be sure to ask Mama about the pupuseria down the road. We had a delicious meal with drinks (non-alcoholic, since the restaurant only serves juice and soda) for under $3 combined.

Pros: value; Mama; tours; comfortable bed; private bathroom

Cons: hot water basically non-existent

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The nights at Mama & Papa's was easily one of my favorite traveling/hostel experiences. Tacuba is a small, quiet town at the end of the highway, and this hostel and the nearby Parque El Imposible is the only reason tourists come to Tacuba.

We had incredible hospitality from Mama, Papa, Manolo and their staff. Only Manolo speaks English, but Mama and Papa were friendly to chat with if you know some Spanish. Really nice setup, with an open-air hallway with lounge chairs and hammocks, the kitchen, and downstairs rooms, then a garden area, above which are more rooms and a rooftop lounge. Rooms were comfortable, clean and a great value -- we paid $10/person/night for a double room with private bath (I think it was Manolo's room normally).

Meals are not included, but the kitchen had service throughout the day, and was tasty and cheap. You could also use the kitchen to prepare your own food. They sold beer for $1, you help yourself and make a tally in their book, and pay for everything at the end (same system for food). The hostel was quiet and peaceful, but also fun. Both nights we hung out chatting and drinking beers with most of the other guests and Manolo, who is a memorable character... very funny, personable, and full of stories.

We did two tours during our stay. The first day we arrived around noon, which was too late for one of the full day tours, so we went to tour a local finca (coffee farm), which was about a 30 minute walk from the hostel. Good guide and interesting to see the process of growing coffee. The second day we did the waterfall tour, which was one of the coolest one-day adventures I have had. The hike was moderately difficult, but so much fun. At least 5 or 6 different waterfall jumps, ranging from maybe 10 to 30 feet. Highly recommended. The other tours sounded great too (biking through the park and down to the coast, camping a night and then driving back) but we had to move on after two days. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiscDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February. We stayed here because we wanted to do the forest hike. The room itself was quite dark but it was clean and had quite a lot of space. There is no kitchen unfortunately but the menu and food offered is nice. We did the tour with a guide named William, who was fantastic. The hike was excellent, and a big highlight of our trip. It's pretty hard going at times but we enjoyed it.
The only downside was the noise - there was constant loud music coming from the neighbour's house next door, which started up at 4.30am and carried on most of the day. Also, there are lots of roosters which come onto the property at night and they crow all night long. It's fine if you are only staying a short time, but bring some ear plugs! The mama and papa are very friendly and nice to chat to.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room up in the garden, at the top. The rooms downstairs seemed a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SettledinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We tried to call Manolo to discuss the various tours, as we were uncertain about doing a heavy long hike. Manolo brushed this off and told us we could choose from a whole range of tours when we got there.

We agreed to do the bridge tour, as it promised good views and a relatively easy hike.

At the last minute we were told that we were doung the waterfall hike.

There were some great views in the beginning, but most of it is in the middle of forest with no views or proper trail, which would be fine if it was flat.
After 4 hours of trekking up and down steep inclines we reached the waterfall. It was pretty much dry not very clean or scenic with nowhere to sit.

We then went back exactly the way we came. The lunch provided was bread with pureed beans spread on it.

The other couple who did the tour had to stop over and over again.

We struggled ( being 30 and reasonably fit) I feel sorry for the other couple who were in their fifties.

The room was ok, but the ceiling flaked down on the bed ( we were in one of the front rooms), and the room was incredibly noisy.

The family who run the hostel seem nice and genuine particularly mama and papa, however Manolo doesn't leave you with a good feeling. We felt pretty ripped off having paid $25 each for the tour. We recently did the seven waterfalls tourin Juayua which was $5 cheaper, with a better lunch and way way more enjoyable.

The only positive was the terrific dinner that Mama prepared.



  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoncouple30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

We staged our trip with guide Manola out of this hostel. Everything was lovely, my only suggestion to travellers are that the private rooms are private only in that others can't see you. You can hear every move the person in the next room makes. That being said, mama and papa took care of everything, our laundry was done for us while we were on our adventure, the rooms were very clean. Manolo even dropped us off at the pupusuria for dinner when we were hungry. All in all a wonderful place if your adventures bring you to Tacuba.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I just did a day trip to Tacuba so I didn't actually stay at the hostal, but we dropped in to ask about Parque el Imposible (the hostal is easy to find with signs on the road directing you to it, but if you miss the turn-off, just ask a local). The hostess was so nice and welcoming, full of good information and honestly just delightful to chat with (even though my spanish is a bit lacking). The property looked like a great spot to hang out, there is a sitting area with a great view, nice rooms, and lots of family pets running around. Plus the hostal arranges all the trips to the national park, I believe they start at about $30 for a day trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hostal de Mama & Papa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de Mama & Papa

Property: Hostal de Mama & Papa
Address: Avenida Cuscatan, casa # 1 | Barrio el Calvario, Tacuba 2117, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > Ahuachapan Department > Tacuba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tacuba
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing