We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, excellent breakfast”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Todwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Last weekend we did an overnight stay at The Red Lion. I have read some of the adverse comments and although I understand where some are coming from, I don’t share their views. I can only say that our overall experience was good. So, good points first: the staff is friendly and helpful, both at the hotel and at the restaurant. The room (no. 22) was basic but of good size and very clean, with a very big, comfy bed and very clean white bed linen. The evening meal was lovely, good value for money, typical pub food, really good atmosphere. Breakfast was definitely a plus point, a varied menu, well presented, lots of food. I am not a breakfast person and I ended up having their ciabatta with ham, cheese and egg (delicious), pastries, and toast, and there was plenty more to chose from!. It got to 8pm and I was still not hungry...Now, to the not so good points: they seem to have a problem with their roof, so the rooms are suffering and showing unsightly damp stains. It must be demoralising for the cleaning staff, as I said the room was very clean but the first impression was not very pleasant because of the damp stains. And the bathroom is in urgent need of modernisation, again, it was clean but the grout looks grabby due to age and the accessories are tired. Still, this is a £32.50 per person B&B, so I don’t think the bad points are bad enough to complain about. So this is a message for the Old English Inns management: you have good managers and staff working for you here, if you spend a little bit of money on the property you will definitely see the returns.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for around the 6th or 7th time, always before we have throughly enjoyed the pub and restaurant. Unfortunately this time we felt that standards had been allowed to slide. Our room, 15, was ok, althought the bathroom could do with an update, or at least try and get rid of the moldy grouting. There was no plug for the sink, and after a bit of a hunt, we did find a plug for the bath, although removing it at the end of the bath did prove a chore (nothing to grip on - nearly had to leave the water in). Nice basket of condiments, we thought, but alas no coffee, just sugar, didn't find out till we went to bed so no-one to ask. No remote for the tv. The curtaines, nice as they were, were held on by just 3 hooks per curtain, so let the light in on the morning.
We had booked a table in the restaurant, this is usually waiter service, but because 'lots of staff have called in sick' we had to serve ourselves, no-one would even bring us another drink while we were eating. Lots of moaning amongst the staff. not very professional in a crowded restaurant. The food was good as usual, but the atmosphere was not. At breakfast, rather than seat us, the waitress walked past us and rudely and deliberatly ignored us whilst setting other tables; apparently they were very busy and didn't know how many people were coming for breakfast. A nice cheerful young man serving on at breakfast was the redeeming light, maybe he should be put in charge!
Not a good return trip; if this had been our first visit we would not have gone back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback , we will review your comments and take the necessary steps to make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

l just dont think the management have a clue what they are doing and when comlpainin in a nice manner was snapped at by the owners and told the couldnt do anything about it , too all stay away ud get better food and service in macdonalds

Room Tip: dont bother to waste your time and money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Robo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback which we will review and then take the appropriate action to fix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here over the Easter break and have to say the Red Lion offers great value for money. The rooms are of a good standard and the staff do their utmost to ensure your stay is enjoyable (special thanks to one of the young ladies on reception... a mishap on our part was resolved quickly and with the minimum of fuss, despite the young lady in question having to "endure" some strange behviour from another guest.... we can say no more but MANY MANY THANKS!!!).
The pub has a good atmosphere and the food served was great. The menu offered a decent amount of choice and it was all well cooked...the fact that the place is so popular with locals confirms it must have a good reputation.
We first stayed here only because it was a convenient location that broke up a long journey... We've been back three times already and will be back again, it's now our preferred resting place, we can relax and enjoy a beer, a bite to eat and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I have just spent Easter at the Red Lion under a special offer. The room was excellent and the service good. We were surprised to find that the breakfast choice included Eggs Benedict and scrambled egg with smoked salmon at no extra charge. The restaurant was pretty good too and was a popular venue for locals with lots of shows on other nights.
It is very well situated to visit Yorkshire, the Peak District and across into Cheshire.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnotherEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just held at the Red Lion Inn, Todwick, Nr Sheffield a joint birthday party for three people, whose combined ages were 120 yrs, leave it to you to do the maths! from the word go planning and organising of rooms was quite painless at that stage nothing was too much trouble. The party came and everyone had a fabulous time the food was good the bar staff (Chris was on his own and did brilliantly as members of staff called in sick he looked after us and nothing was too much trouble.)
Other staff including Brenda and Gillian were great too, needed more chips and hey presto they were there! The in house disco was wonderful and he catered for every need. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast superb so all in all everyone had a great experience, thanks to all at the Red Lion.
Mary Clarke and Friends

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 were great for families, room 1 had a double and bunks, but childrens breakfasts are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

A wonderful short stay at the Red Lion at Todwick. The food was superb but you must book your table in advance because the restaurant is so busy. The service was great, all the staff friendly and helpful. Fantastic value and would certainly stay again when visiting the Peak District.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todwick
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
5.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Sheffield Road, Todwick, Rotherham S26 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham > Todwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Todwick
Price Range: £57 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Todwick
Red Lion Sheffield
Sheffield Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Todwick, South Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing