We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A thumbs up restaurant”

Restaurant Purlepaus
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Kufstein
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$33
Cuisines: Austrian, Central European, French, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A thumbs up restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Purlepaus is certainly one of the best ranked and known restaurants in Kufstein. Located centrally in Kufstein's town square, the restaurant is a mandatory passage point for tourists. I recently had lunch with two friends at the Purlepaus. We sat inside in one of the typically decorated rooms with a very nice atmosphere and ordered two delicious specials of the day: The Rahmgulasch (Creamy veal goulash) and the Hirtennudeln (Shepard’s pasta) and, for dessert, ice cream and Apfelstrudel. The main courses and the desserts were delicious, well presented and served in generous portions. The daily specials are very reasonably priced (from €6,50 to €9,00) considering the average restaurant prices in Kufstein. The food is typically Austrian and very good. Service is also efficient and friendly. We arrived quite early (the restaurant opens at 11.00 am) and after a short while the restaurant was full, inside and outside. We consider the Purlepaus an absolute must in Kufstein. A thumbs up, no doubt!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    68
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great flavoured food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is located just below the Festung. There is a good selection of food and our choices were excellent with lovely flavours. My desert (which was big enough to share) was a 'torte' of pears, nuts and cranberries - it was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
487 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had lunch here on a very cold Sunday in February and this was a welcoming place to eat. Its in the pedestrianised area and is very close to the fortress.

The goulash my wife had was superb and I had a very tasty pasta dish with veal. Like many Austrian places the food and drink were superb value.

The Stiegl Weiss beer was also very tasty. Unfortunately we didn't have time for a desert but will return

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scots in Europe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value for Kufstein”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

A nice restaurant at the bottom of the footpath from the Festung, on the pedestrianised street. Friendly, helpful staff. Good variety and quality of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location and Good Food to Boot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

After touring Kufstein Castle we were hungry and thirsty and decided to stop in because it was right at the base of the castle entrance, Usually places situated similarly are tourist traps. This is not, although it clearly caters to tourists. The menu had something everybody could find something to their liking. I had vegetarian dumpling salad that was delicious. Service was very good too. If you're in the area...stop in and I don't think you'll be disapponted.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryel998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Purlepaus also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Purlepaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing