We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room in historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gasthof Goldener Loewe
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kufstein
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice room in historic hotel”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I had to remind myself that we were staying in a very old building and that it was nicely updated despite its age. The room is pretty modern considering how long this has been an establishment, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and also modern, but my biggest complaint about our stay was that there was no hot water. My husband and I both got maybe a minute of lukewarm water and then had to turn the shower off because the water turned to ice. It was incredibly frustrating. The front desk was sympathetic in the morning when we checked out and made amends, but I wouldn't stay here again due to that experience. Also, the common areas of the hotel are nice, but the whole place smells of old cigarette smoke. The room wasn't bad, luckily.

There weren't a lot of options for breakfast; it was standard European fare with breads, jams, and meats.

The hotel description of free parking is a little misleading. The spots right next to the hotel are metered, so if you want to park for free you have to drive down the street a ways.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lov_2_travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    38
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
20
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

and we enjoyed the accomodations. Like a lot of hotels in the area there is no air conditioning and we were visiting in late July during a heat wave. We had to leave our window open and we had a lot of street noise which was unfortunate. The hotel staff did give us a fan which helped some. Luckily there doesn't seem to be a flying insect problem in the area or that could have been a problem. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom in our room was the best! The breakfast was adequate, the coffee was good, which is important to me. The location is convenient to anything that one might want to do locally. WiFi is available but only in the lobby and it is closed in early evening. But all in all, if I were to find myself in Kufstein again, although if I can help it, it would never be in summer, I would stay at the Goldener Loewe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a week due to work. I was with a group and not all rooms have been refurshished. The single room I had was old and needed an upgrade for the bathroom. The location is great right below the Kufstein fortress but because they don't have AC, you get to hear a lot of noise coming from the street at night and early morning. The other thing that kind of was disapointing is they close the reception and the restaurant by 9:00pm so if you need to eat or drink something after that time, you need to go outside the hotel. They should also upgrade their WiFi network as we need to punch in the login info every single time we access the one in the lobby area. The staff was very helpful. The BK was excellent. If I come back to Kufstein again, I would look to stay at another hotel perhaps one that would have upgraded their hotel and rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alabelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We were forced to stay at Kufstein (very professional and plesent hospital by the way). We spent the first night at the Altstadthotel Auracher Loechl which is ranked No. 1 at Tripadvisor and the second night at the Gasthof Goldener Lowe which is ranked No. 3. The Goldener is much nicer, clean, has renovated showers, bigger rooms and very all together very plesent. Though the Auracher is indeed in a more romantic alley (only 5 min walk from the Goldener) it has much less comfortable rooms. So, in our view, the ranking should be the other way around.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Meir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Big, clean room, not too big breakfast, good service, safe parking in the parking house ( a bit to walk) if you don't get a parking in the street. We ended up in some kind of festival and stayed in Kufstein much longer than we had planned. It is easy to walk to the castle, restaurants and shops. We liked the hotel so much that we also used this on our retour. The hotel will be a natural choice if we need a hotel in the area later.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Femhundre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We had a very nice room on the top floor with a very comfortable bed and a nice sitting area. The reading lights by the bed were very good and interestingly designed. Even though the hotel is by a street, we did not notice any noise in either room that we stayed in. The back of the hotel is by a park area and a business that closes at 5pm. Breakfast was amazingly good. A really great start for 4 days. The hotel has its own parking lot behind the hotel which was very convenient. We could walk to all of the historic center and went to several restaurants, Plaka- a Greek one and Dotzler that has modern European cuisine. We left to go on a trip to the Czech Republic and came back in 3 days and stayed here again for 1 night in a different room. It was also just as comfortable and well appointed. When we left, the manager gave us a jar of their homemade red currant jam that we had enjoyed every morning with our soft boiled eggs, ham, and rolls. A great going away present to remind of us of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alatraveler519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Rooms comfortable, hotel is close to all town attractions and ski bus to Soll. Particularly good coffee at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5six73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kufstein hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stadt Kufstein
Hotel Stadt Kufstein
#2 of 13 in Kufstein
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kufsteinerhof
Hotel Kufsteinerhof
#6 of 13 in Kufstein
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Traumerei #8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
arte Hotel Kufstein
arte Hotel Kufstein
#4 of 13 in Kufstein
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel-Restaurant-Seminar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Andreas Hofer
Hotel Andreas Hofer
#11 of 13 in Kufstein
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Goldener Loewe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Goldener Loewe

Property: Hotel Gasthof Goldener Loewe
Address: Oberer Stadtplatz 14, Kufstein 6330, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kufstein
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kufstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gasthof Goldener Loewe 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Goldener Loewe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing