We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful team!”
Review of Hotel Sonne Lienz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonne Lienz
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lienz
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed one week to fish in October. I received a very good wellcome and helpfull to practice fishing on their parts of rivers. Good breakfast and dinner. Confortable room, hotel clean and good facility.
The chef makes an original and good food.
This part of Austria is very beautifull. Wild, mountains, rivers and typical Austrian challets and churchs.
I recommend it. Thanks to the great team.
Gilles

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Gilles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights.A nice place to stay, easy to access with train. Friendly and helpful staff.The breakfast was good. We also had dinner at the restaurant one nigt, and we can really recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arild N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I visited Lienz for 8 days, as part of a hiking holiday .
East tyrol is excellent for hikers, but I was especially pleased by friendly & helpful welcome
I received in Hotel Sonne.
Room was in good position, quiet ( only noise at night was from the river) with superb view
of the Isel valley.
Breakfast typical of Austria , with also excellent muesli.
Underground garage useful & kept my car cool in hot weather.
Hotel is centrally-located, but countryside is only 5 minutes' walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I visited this hotel with my father in the end of June 2013. The initial reason why we had chosen this hotel was that they give you possibility to fish on their own parts of the rivers. We were satisfied - the hotel was nice and clean, the food was good and all the staff was very nice and helpful. Also fishing was great so I am sure that it was not for the last time we visited this place.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Arrived for a one night stay after a drive up through the Dolomites, temperature in the 30's, no air conditioning in room or hotel for that matter, opened window to the town square to try and get some air, room fills with builders dust! Desk gives me a room at the back of hotel, can now open window, however no lift to that floor, not a problem for me but something other travellers might not be happy with. Wi fi NOT in all areas.
Breakfasted a little late, 8:45am, were the only people in breakfast room that was being cleared as we entered. Made to feel a bit of a nuisance all round disturbing the staffs routine.
Not made to feel anything other than a passing commodity in the staff's otherwise busy day.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel better and quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicodan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The hotel,is in a great location in the centre of the town. Very easy to walk to local attractions such as the castle or cable car.

Basic but clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff.

Meas were also very good.

Underground garage, which was ideal for parking our motorcycles.

Recommended.

Visited September 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

A great long weekend at the end of October in hotel Sonne in Lienz. Very comfy rooms with a lot of "extra" space not to mention the staff which was there for us all the way. We spent most of the time out fishing in the variety of rivers and streams in the area. There are over 70 km of water which are exclusive to the hotel so you are looking at prime flyfishing that you can actually enjoy undisturbed by crowds of other fishermen. That all at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lienz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Fisch
Hotel Goldener Fisch
#4 of 9 in Lienz
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vergeiner's Hotel Traube
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Lienz
Grand Hotel Lienz
#1 of 9 in Lienz
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Holunderhof
Hotel Holunderhof
#3 of 9 in Lienz
123 reviews
2 mi away
Parkhotel Tristachersee
0.8 mi away
Hotel Haidenhof
Hotel Haidenhof
#6 of 9 in Lienz
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne Lienz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne Lienz

Address: Suedtiroler Platz 8, Lienz 9900, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Sonne)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Lienz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lienz
Price Range: £88 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonne Lienz 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonne Lienz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonne
Lienz Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing