We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vergeiner's Hotel Traube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vergeiner's Hotel Traube
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lienz
Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great location in centre of town. Nice large room, (206) great view. Nothing fancy just typical for the surrounding area. Staff friendly. Even though our room was not quite ready they insisted that we go and leave our stuff there so that we could relax after a long raining motorbike ride from Corvara Italy. Breakfast was fine for us. Would recommend as it is a great location and plenty of pedestrian areas to walk around, window shop and have coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianinriyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    43
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
40
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I spent 2 weeks at Traube Hotel and I can say it's a great place to stay if you're tourist or business traveler.

The room i got was comfortable and really big (compared to other european style hotels), bed it's ok but the pillow can be a nightmare....they are too soft, even if you use 2 you will not feel comfortable, bathroom was also big and clean.

Clean 100% everyday, smoking is not allowed in the rooms but you can smoke in the bar just next to the lobby, free wifi and there's also a minibar with some drinks, but better you can walk 5 minutes and there are 2 shops were you can buy all the stuff you need (cheaper of course).

Hotel building is quite old but it's really in an excellent shape, looks like new.
Hotel is quiet, it closes at 11pm so be aware of that when booking or going out, you can ask for a special key to enter.

Service is good, all the ladies (except one, dont' remember the name) are really friendly, always smiling and sayin "hello" to all the guests, believe, this is very important for travelers.

Location is pretty good, you have at least 4 restaurants/bars in front of the hotel, some bakery shops, an small mall, some clothing shop and if you walk more you can find the shopping street with some quite nice stores.
Depending on the season you travel, you can practice some winter or summer activities, also have a walk within the city, take pictures, and so on.

If you come the Lienz i think this is a great place to be.
There's a restaurant just in the -1 floor that has a great pizza and pasta, you can have the bill charged to your room or pay at the moment.

There's a sauna and swimming pool (never went there), but my friend told me it has 360º view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces to the main square or in the 5th floor near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredoH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel will really make you feel the character of Lienz. The rooms are spacious, with plenty of amenities to satisfy. They are up to date, yet are replete with furniture and decor that will make you feel as though it's a different time. A very nice mix of yesterday and today. Flat panel TV's with furniture from a time you wish you could go back and visit. The bathroom had everything you could want, and of course was up to date and as clean as could be.

The WIFI signal was great (noticed a router strategically placed throughout the hotel).

The breakfast was wonderful with many choices and great service.

When I arrived (solo) they didn't have any single rooms remaining so the girl at the front desk gave me a huge double room for the price of a single.

This hotel is not cheap, but if you're staying in the area and don't mind spending an extra few euros to take in this picturesque city -- spend it!

Try to ask for a room that faces the front where you get a SPECTACULAR view of the city's central square with the mountains in the background! Absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuUsa-RobDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

A good hotel located within the centre of the city, very convenience to go around, the Sauna and pool is really relaxing and free of charge . The room that i stay is consider to be very good even thought i don't get to have a room facing the main city street. Breakfast is nothing special but the staff there are all friendly and helpful, most counter staff are very friendly and helpful, only a couple are not as friendly as they should be probably because of me being asian. But overall the hotel is acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the City centre you will get to see more happening there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacson_Kueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel is a bit old fashioned yet the rooms are spacious and well equipped with large beds. There is a restaurant in the basement open to the public and hotel guests alike. Good value and cheerful service. Breakfast was a bit sparse and overall a disappointment. The coffee was undrinkable. That alone lets this hotel down as in all other respects it is great with attentive and helpful service from all the staff especially in Reception. It is sited in the middle of Lienz making it a perfect spot from which to explore the countryside or to stroll the immaculately clean streets and inspect the shops and cafes which are plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank querenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unteraegeri
Level Contributor
234 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Traube is a historic hotel with a great old-time ambience, very clean, very nicely furnished, and with beautiful home decoration. The balcony on the 2nd floor overlooks the Hauptplatz. We where there when an Autrian Brass Band was performing and had the King's seat, overlooking the scenery. The family running the hotel is very keen to read every wish from the eyes of the guests. Great breakfast, and surprisingly nice taverna with good food in the basement. We have decided to come again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterp_knobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed for one night in early December (off season = excellent rate!). We had a room on the 4th floor (efficient lift) with stunning views of the mountains. The bedroom was large, and both the bathroom and bedroom spotlessly clean.

The reception staff were friendly, spoke good English, and efficiently directed us to the free parking. Though the bar area was not manned, the receptionist happily served us drinks.

The central location was great - walking straight out into the small Christmas market, and shopping area.

We had the swimming pool to ourselves (early evening), and enjoyed spectacular views while we swam - a perfect way to wind down after a busy day. (There is a sign that says everyone must wear a swimming cap - the receptionist assured us this was not necessary.)

Breakfast had a wide selection of cheese, ham, cereals, fruit juices, breads etc., and we were quickly shown to a table and coffee brought.

The free internet connection in the bedroom is a "plug" to go into a laptop computer, so does not work on an Ipad.

We ate out in the evening, at an excellent Chinese restaurant 5 minutes walk away - Zhonghua, Egger Lienz-Platz 4. They have a section for non-smokers.

Room Tip: Higher floors will decrease risk of noise from the square or traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximilianAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lienz hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Lienz
Grand Hotel Lienz
#1 of 9 in Lienz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne Lienz
Hotel Sonne Lienz
#6 of 9 in Lienz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parkhotel Tristachersee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Goldener Fisch
Goldener Fisch
#5 of 9 in Lienz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Holunderhof
Hotel Holunderhof
#3 of 9 in Lienz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Haidenhof
Hotel Haidenhof
#7 of 9 in Lienz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vergeiner's Hotel Traube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vergeiner's Hotel Traube

Property: Vergeiner's Hotel Traube
Address: Hauptplatz 14, Lienz 9900, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Lienz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lienz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vergeiner's Hotel Traube 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is in Lienz main square, opposite the Liebburg. One of the characteristics of our hotel is the historic flair of the precious furnishings from earlier times. Have a nice breakfast on the front balcony during summer times! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Vergeiner's Hotel Traube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantikhotel Traube Lienz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing