We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in small town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hoher Freschen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rankweil
Davos, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value in small town”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Rankweil is a small town near Feldkirch. The hotel is clean and modern, but 4 stars is quite a stretch. None the less, it was a good value. The hotel offers wireless, but the signal was too weak and I needed to connect via cable - which worked fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnlife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
16
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This is a great hotel in Rankweil - a small town in beautiful Vorarlberg in West Austria, close to the medieval city of Feldkirch, and a 35 minute train ride toexcellent ski villages.Conveniently, the train station is directly opposite the hotel, but inside there was no noise to indicate this.
The staff were outstanding - couldn't be more helpful if they tried, and very friendly. The English spoken was excellent.
We had an absolutely fantastic meal in the restaurant - we were told the chef has a great reputation, and he certainly lived up to it on our night there.It was real variety too - typically good austrian soup, followed by delicious New Zealand lamb! The servings were more than generous -while this seems typical of meals in the area, the meals here were very hearty!
The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. It was well priced so value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank misusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Quiet, well positioned hotel a short walk from the centre with its lovely basilica. Helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We found the room comfortable and had all that was necessary. The food was plentiful and of good standard.
Feldkirk is a short distance away. This is a well preserved medeival town with Christmas Market. We found it an excellent overnight stop and well positioned for public transport as well as the motorways.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelrusEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We paid extra for a deluxe room and were disappointed by the luxury afforded in said rooms. The rooms were basic, wooden floored, with hard beds, a large wardrobe, no drawers and a safe. The room was split level with a table and chair on the raised section which also had an entrance to the bathroom off it. The table and chair served no purpose and the bathroom was the old type of self contained plastic units that were very popular in French ski apartments some years ago. A small television was wall mounted above a desk area and the room furniture had a self assembly look and feel to it.

The restaurant served good food that erred on the expensive side whilst the breakfast on offer was inadequate unless you like cold meat and lukewarm coffee. The station was directly opposite the hotel and didn't really generate any noise at night worth mentioning. The lounge, which consisted of a few seats round a large screen did not inspire you to want to stay in the hotel but there is very little to do at night in the surrounding area. The hotel car park is too small for the number of guests and you have to ask why the hotel gained 4 stars because it doesn't warrant them. This is a 3 star at best.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piccasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rankweil
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Mohren
Hotel Restaurant Mohren
#2 of 2 in Rankweil
39 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 6 in Feldkirch
137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#1 of 6 in Feldkirch
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kommod
Kommod
#1 of 2 in Ruggell
17 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gutwinski Hotel
Gutwinski Hotel
#2 of 6 in Feldkirch
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rossle
Hotel Rossle
#1 of 1 in Rothis
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hoher Freschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoher Freschen

Property: Hotel Hoher Freschen
Address: Kreuzlinger Strasse 2 | 6830 Rankweil, Rankweil 6830, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Hoher Freschen)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Rankweil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rankweil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hoher Freschen 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hoher Freschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing