We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Beach Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Blankenberge
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stopped there for three days.It's right on the beach.Long flat promenade for walking and plenty of seats.Hotel clean and breakfast was to die for..champagne and smoked salmon just for starters.We found the prices in the evening a bit high in the hotel but there were plenty of bars and restaurants within five minutes walk.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back overlooking he harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kawasakiman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

Although the furniture and decoration were a bit outdated, the room was clean and the beds good. The seaview is stunning. In the restaurant you are welcomed by "Lieven" the very friendly and forthcoming maître. The food is also very good, especially the fish varieties, fresh from the sea. Good winelist.
Minus point: A bit expensive!

Room Tip: The best are on the higher floors, seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barkoo686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in mid-august 2012. The hotel was chosen by a travel agency with good reputation. What they certainly were missing is a feedback from their customers to this hotel.

It is definitely not a 4 star hotel. It is old and needs a complete work over.

We have been on 6th floor in the Espace room which basically is a 2 piece room with a common bathroom and a separate WC.

Here are the good points :
- good situation right on the beach
- you get enough towels to shower 3 times a day
- great view to the ocean
- the breakfast is ok with good choice
- for free Wifi (working fast enough)

What was not so good :
- the private garage is situated at the back of the hotel and even though it has a card reader for the room key, you must ring to get in and leave your car in the middle of a well driven road. Be careful with big cars or SUVs; also you must not be to big either... tiny space and you won't get out of your car. Sometimes the doors don't open wide enough.
- to get out of the parking you have to phone the reception. The door wouldn't open automatically and not even manually. Again you find a card ready that would not accept your key. To be clear : not even a security exit !!
- the lifts are old and you have to wait long times
- the room is old fashioned. The only newer thing in it is a flat screen TV (but in the second room : small and old crappy TV). The carpet is really old, used and dirty.
- There is a safe in your room but it won't open until you payed a rental fee at the reception (never seen before in a 4 star hotel!?)
- Hairdryer : cold and not strong + lamp broken.
- Shower : very old head + the temperature lock not working properly. No hand shower (not so cool when you have to bath a 1 and 3 year old).
- The beds are super uncomfortable... very hard mattress and slim pillows.
- NOISY : you could hear every word from your neighbours. Imagine them taking a shower at midnight, watching TV and having sex... very funny in a movie, not so funny when you try to sleep in a bad bed.

The hotel also has a swimming pool and wellness. The pool is 8x4m and 1,4m deep. Basically this is a good thing, but the following facts make the experience bad :
- the pool was hotter than the whirlpool
- the whirlpool was not clean
- the pool was ok. if the ladder to get in and out was had been screwed well, it would have been perfect.
- you get a shower every time you get in and out of the pool area. If you want to take a book, towels or whatever with you... it will get wet.
- the lockers were all broken
- there was always a complete inundation in the locker room
- the cleaning of the pool area was very basic (we had used pampers lying around in the locker room for days and in the pool area there was a plaster on the floor... also for days)

The bar is also very old fashioned. They seem to trust a lot. You order, say a room number without a name and they don't even want a signature...

Can't say something about the restaurant. We did not stay in to eat. There are a lot of good restaurants in the corner. We did not once eat bad.

So all in all the hotel is ok. You won't check out but you won't be pleased either. The price is weigh too heigh for what you get.

If they were renovating to the today's standards, this could be the place to be!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed two nights in a long weekend of May (2 adults & 2 children). We got a "Espace room", basically two connected rooms at the end of the corridor: one in the back (for children) and the other with a nice view to the sea (9th floor). One WC/bathroom in the parents room. Rooms were big, clean and quiet. Furniture and decoration was a bit used/outdated but no major problems. The same with bathroom. Breakfast was buffet style and good. Although the hotel was fully booked no problems of massification. Staff correct except cleaning service: at 14:30 room was not yet done, ok, we can accept. We put "not disturb" in the door for a nap and one hour later they knock the door until we open to check if we want the room done! this is not acceptable. Other negative details: it has a parking but you have to book in advance, no warning was done. You have to rent the safe in your room. You have to pay 8 euros for room service. So I would have said the hotel was very good but not for the price paid: more than 300 euros per night. The Hotel clearly needs to be renovated if it wants to keep its price and 4 stars. If not, better make it a cheaper 3 stars hotel.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are worthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marquis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here in October. It is in a fantastic position directly facing the beach, which had lots of outdoor bar/lounge bars etc. Good for drinking at while the kids could play on the beach safely. The resort was also well suited for families. The hotel itself has a nice, but small bar area, although drinks are also served outside in their bar on the promenade. Our room was spacious but smelt of cigarette smoke, so a refurbishment was overdue. Breakfast offered a good selection. We had dinner in the restaurant too. The food was tasty, perhaps the choice a bit limited. Service in the restaurant and bar area was really good. They do have an indoor swimming pool, but it's tiny - more for relaxing in than swimming. If you have kids it's worth visiting the square behind the hotel where you'll find crazy golf, snooker golf, and other outdoor amusements.

Room Tip: The view from the sea facing rooms is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The hotel is located near the beach, 5 min from the citycentre. The location of the hotel is amazing. The hotel is not a 4 star hotel, more a 3 stars! The rooms are big and clean but a little bit old and not cosy, they needed an update. The breakfast was good. The swimmingpool is nice. I think this hotel could be an amazing place, 5 stars maybe after a serious renovation. The price is too high for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed in the suite with 2 bedrooms. The bedrooms where small and there was no airco. Be carefull when you pay the bill!! They charged us 59,50€ Taverne and when I saw the mistake 3 days later and called the hotel they said they couldn't refund me because they had thrown away all the tickets.
When I asked to speek to one of the managers the answer was no!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucienne1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blankenberge hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helios
Hotel Helios
#8 of 33 in Blankenberge
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Sauveur
Hotel Saint Sauveur
#9 of 33 in Blankenberge
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aazaert
Hotel Aazaert
#1 of 33 in Blankenberge
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petit Rouge Vakantiecentrum
Petit Rouge Vakantiecentrum
#15 of 33 in Blankenberge
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Blankenberge
Aparthotel Blankenberge
#23 of 33 in Blankenberge
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Blankenberge Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Palace Hotel

Address: Zeedijk 77 - 79, Blankenberge 8370, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Blankenberge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Blankenberge
Price Range: £114 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing