We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Hotel Ter Elst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ter Elst
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edegem
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times when travelling with work. It's clean and comfortable, the breakfast is good and the staff very pleasant. A word of warning to travellers who are prone to mosquito bites, go prepared!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ter_Elst, General Manager at Hotel Ter Elst, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for your valuable feedback

Best regards,

Tom Hendrickx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    84
    36
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
46
6
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

could not find fault.Should have checked it out myself instead of paying attention to review here. The rooms were big, Bathrooms big and updated. Air con. worked great. Close to market and a couple of restaurants. enjoyed our stay. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ter_Elst, General Manager at Hotel Ter Elst, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
We hope to see you again !

Best regards,

Tom Hendrickx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Don't be fooled by the photos online... Not all of the rooms are updated. Our room had mismatched and outdated furniture -- not like the furniture in the pictures. The bathroom light flickers when you turn it on and takes a while to be fully on. There isn't a mini-fridge, safe, magnified bathroom mirror, or other hotel room standards. The carpet is worn and doesn't match.

The worst part was that they couldn't get a key card to work for our room, so they gave us a manual key. Only one. This was frustrating because one of us is here on business and one on leisure, so we have different schedules. But wait, it gets worse. On our first full day (a Monday) in the hotel, there I was laying in bed when a woman just waltzes right into the room. No knock, nothing. She mumbled some words I didn't understand and closed the door. I thought it must have just been housekeeping. But a little while later, I get a knock on the door and woman saying "housekeeping!". Not sure what the first woman was there for. Then, a few hours later, a man just comes walking into my room! Again, no knock, no explanation. Not only is this scary and intruding, how do other people have working key cards for my room, but I don't?! I brought the situation up to reception that same day and the response I got was, "I'll talk to my colleagues about it". Great, thanks.

We also tried the restaurant that is awkwardly not connected to the hotel or in viewing distance from the main hotel. Service was one of the worst I've experienced. Very uncomfortable -- the waitress didn't seem to know what she was doing and was not welcoming. I also had to get up and ask the bartender for a drink, during which the waitress noticed and declared she'd bring it over to our table. Thanks, but I'm already up and kind of already gave you a chance. To make matters worse, she didn't even ask if my partner wanted a refill after this. Horrible service. Food was mediocre and the restaurant overlooks some of the indoor tennis courts, which is strange. You'd think maybe they'd put in a bright, fresh, hip restaurant to go with the athletic, young, sports theme -- but, no. Instead, it's a dark room with several really rich leather couches and director's-style chairs for table chairs. Odd environment.

Another one of the worst things about this hotel -- there is nothing in walking distance. Across the street is a market that sells gardening, pet, and oddly, baking supplies. If you go a little further, there's a police station, corporate buildings, and...a gynecologist.

Included in the price of the hotel is breakfast, which would be nice if the breakfast was good. The eggs are chunky, cold, bland, and smell weird. Not as much variety in the other food as other hotels I've experienced either. Bleh.

Ah, and no swimming pool.

Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcfj150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel was nice, with large clean rooms. It had a restaurant across the car park, which was also good. However, it was used for a lot of meetings and the people gathered in the lobby, etc, which was a bit of a nuisance, especially as the bat could not be used be hotel guests as it was used for one of these meetings. Breakfast was good with hot and cold food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here on 3 days of business after spending one day at Hotel Domus-- what a shocking change. First, my feelings, then a review of the facility.

The staff felt empty and emotionless. No smiles, no special care to help. And now to review the facility a bit.

The hotel itself is situated away from the road, in a complex that includes a couple lower but large buildings: The hotel, a meeting facility, a tennis center and exercise building, and the tennis center has a restaurant attached to it. They are all named Ter Elst, but if you ask the front desk to get you a reservation at the restaurant, they'll send you hoofing it across the parking lot rather than offering to make a call for you. Care? Not really.

The three nights that I stayed here the lobby was entirely full of people eating and mingling for business events. Wine, food and loud environment every night. The check in process was quite typical and sanitary. No smiles. No friendly welcome.

The building shows signs that it is a rehab. The halls are older looking, but the room is quite refurbished, except for the bathroom-- which was acceptable but gave me a frown every time I went from the room to the bathroom.

The room itself was quite modern, and HUGE! If you want to throw a party in your room, this is the place to do it. This is the largest room I've ever had in Europe as a single room. Lighting is well placed but cold. The room did have air conditioning. No news channels were available on the TV.

Electrical outlets were plentiful. The desk and working area is huge if you need to work from your room. There was an unplugged mini refrigerator that I made use of with just a plug in.

The room was very clean, as was the bathroom, but the sink drain and some corners/edges showed age in the bathroom. I have some pictures of that. I was in room 8.

If I visited in the summer and needed AC, I would choose AC over any other preferred hotel. If it was not AC season, I would choose most other hotels over this one. It was a heartless, cold sad feeling place. Totally mediocre. No big fails, but nothing made me smile either.

Daily breakfast was acceptable. The breads were nice and some baked goods, but the eggs were clearly artificial, and sometimes gritty. And the warm food wasn't served until 7:30.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the ground floor lobby level. The large groups are loud and can be heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I dont know what this place is supposed to be: is it a hotel ? I have to be in the area and made a mistake coming here. There is nothing in here. I guess good if you play tennis and need to eat mediocre food in the tennis " bistro" where the waiters failed Mc Donald's. That is the only choice. Its 19:40 and the hotel bar is closed. The bedroom is weirdly bare. Never again

Room Tip: I cant think of anything positive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is not close to anything
The staff is not friendly at all - short on friendliness
rooms are old and outdated
king bed is two uneven singles pushed side by side
breakfast is lacking of any real food
coffee in room is terrible
access to water is poor

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thead1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edegem
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
#12 of 72 in Antwerp
1,050 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kasteel Solhof
Hotel Kasteel Solhof
#1 of 1 in Aartselaar
143 reviews
8.8 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Domus
Hotel Domus
#1 of 1 in Boom
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Basiliek
De Basiliek
#2 of 2 in Edegem
13 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Elst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Elst

Property: Hotel Ter Elst
Address: Kattenbroek 1, Edegem 2650, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Edegem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edegem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Elst 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ter Elst is a hotel, congress centre and sports centre, ideally located at the ring of Antwerp, only 10 minutes away from the famous historic centre of Antwerp and from Mechelen, and 30 minutes from Brussels airport. The hotel disposes of 53 spacious bedrooms, 19 meeting rooms including an auditorium for 400 people, and several sports accommodations. Ter Elst offers you a free parking space for 500 cars. WIFI is free of charge for hotel and seminar guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ter Elst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Antwerp
Antwerp Best Western
Hotel Ter Elst Edegem, Belgium - Antwerp Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing