We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Prins Boudewijn
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Knokke-Heist
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed during the Canadian Liberation March 2013. We had room 212. No Wi-Fi signal as you are too far from the router. You have to go through some sort of glass corridor to reach your room after going to a tiny set of stairs. As soon as we opened the door, we could small damp moisture. 2 out of 3 light bulbs in the bathroom were burned off and although it was still connected to the wall, the desk lam didn't have any light bulb at all. Mattresses were not firm but the pillows were great. Breakfast was good. This hotel is not bad at all and still have some great potential; it only needs to be refurbished a bit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotter933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    33
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
30
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is an older hotel that has a long list of pros and cons. I will let you decide for yourself whether it merits a 2 or a 3. I have erred on the side of what I believe is generosity, I would more than likely rate as a 2.5 if possible.
Pros:
- It is well situated, being close to restaurants and the city centre
- The breakfast is good - buffet style with plenty of choices and a good quantity of items.
- Price - I paid a special rate as I was part of the unit that participated in the Knokke-Heis weekend, but the price was reasonable

Neutrals:
- Bed was soft and springy, but was adequately comfortable with many blankets available
- The staff was reasonably accommodating

Cons: (perhaps only representative of Room 206)
- The room was miniscule. I had to negotiate around the bed, trust me, difficult and I am a small sized adult. The bed more or less filled the room.
- This room is right next to the elevator and stairs and was very noisy. Although once everyone was in the hotel, I could not hear the street and it was dark.
- The wifi did not work in my room.
- The view was poor.
- There is no parking
- The bathroom.... not only was it tiny (when you sat on the toilet your knees hit the sink), but it was not clean (dirty toilet, hairs in sink and shower stall). The heater in the bathroom blows very hot air directly onto your legs if you are using the toilet. You do not have much room, you cannot even dry yourself in the bathroom, it is more like a closet.

This is an old hotel that has a few positive atrributes, such as location and price. Yet, I would not stay there again unless I could be positively guaranteed of a better room.

Room Tip: Ensure you do not get room 206, unless you are one person staying only for a short period of time wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubyrosebuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brielle, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Visiting a friend for a weekend we were advised to stay at the Prins Boudewijn. Going by car and knowing that parking in Knokke Heist is not easy neither cheap we arrived in a beach town all torn up due to road works. Meaning that the front desk did not/was not, able to tell us what to expect ,when I called to make the reservation. So parking at the hotel was not possible and I had to leave it a Km outwards and pay every day at the machine. The 2 person room was clean but did not pass the Comfy test. Rather chilly and sterile. Sleeping was alright though, since the matrasses and pillows are of good quality. The great contrast are the entrance and dining room. More inviting and cosy. Breakfast buffet is simple and honest and do not lack a tasty (and HOT),coffee or tea. The personnel is friendly. Great plus is the close vicinity to the towns centre with a good Bar right next door. So if your spirit is high you may find yourself getting back to your hotel room with ease.

Room Tip: Sideroad rooms are a little bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel Prins Boidewijn is in downtown Knokke - an old style hotel on the main street and was great. The rooms were clean and tidy and the staff very helpful with guidance to local cuisine and art installations around town. Good selection for breakfast and wifi and car parking so we were very pleased with our stay. A local restaurant called Brassiere Pierre was also very good.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sueO_RonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Well situated hotel, close to the Railway Station. Price very convenient taking into account that Knokke is quite an expensive resort.

Room Tip: Ask for an even number room. Odd number rooms are facing a noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brabant Wallon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

The hotel was ok but needs a little bit of renovation. The room was small but as we stayed only 1 night, it was ok. The room also was old and needs some re-decoration.
Breakfast was good, enough choice but bread wasn't so fresh.
We had a room with a street view but wasn't too noisy. You have to count at least 15 minutes walk to get to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibibw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We had six nights in this hotel which was on the Belgian coast about 9 miles from Bruges.
The service was excellent with friendly staff who all spoke English.

The beds were comfortable and the buffet breakfast plentiful. Although close to the main street of Knokke, street parking was possible and free during the week. At the weekend, it was possible to park for 3 Euros/day at the rail station 200 m away.

A bit noisy at night, even this died down after midnight.

There was also an excellent restaurant and coffee bar on the ground floor of the hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfootBournemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knokke-Heist hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Du Soleil
Hotel Du Soleil
#4 of 32 in Knokke-Heist
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel St. Pol.
Hotel St. Pol.
#3 of 32 in Knokke-Heist
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#6 of 32 in Knokke-Heist
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
HuysHoeve
HuysHoeve
#1 of 2 in Knokke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#1 of 3 in Zoute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nelson's Hotel
Nelson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Knokke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prins Boudewijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prins Boudewijn

Property: Hotel Prins Boudewijn
Address: Lippenslaan 35/37, Knokke-Heist 8300, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Knokke-Heist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Knokke-Heist
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prins Boudewijn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Prins Boudewijn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prins Boudewijn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing