We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard European hotel”
Review of La Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Reserve
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Knokke-Heist
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A standard European hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in early June. First night we stayed in a room overlooking the main entrance. The problem is that in the lobby and at the main entrance the music plays and very loudly and until very late. The night was terrible. But next day, after we explained the issue to the receptionist, she found a nice and quiet room for us. Breakfast was good. Pool area is also very nice. A little lake at the back of the hotel was a highlight. Overall, no big disappointments during this stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main entrance as the music in the lobby is very loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellista7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    105
    40
    20
    17
See reviews for
47
144
3
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice and modern hotel with spacious rooms for European standards. We had connecting room with the kids and it was exactly what we expected.

We have done several hotels in Knokke and this is the best offer in the city which approaches at least 5 star level but also with higher price compared to other hotels.

beds are comfortable and nice shower.

The construction of one wing is still going on so view wise nothing to offer if you are in the front.
In the summer not allowed to work so this will not create further hassle. Outside season it might

Parking space is very convenient with valley parking if desired.

While they offer on paper a shuttle service it does not exist in reality. The car is there but almost never a driver available as it is not a designated driver but one of the boys at the door and the excuse is always that they are to busy at that time. If you cannot fulfil the service level than don't offer it. taxi trip within Knokke will be around 6 To 10 euro per trip.

The terrace on the back of the hotel viewing the lake offers a very relaxing surrounding. It gets you away of the busy boardwalk to offer a real pause

Bar is nice but they could work on selection of drinks like gin tonics, whiskeys which are all fairly standard and do not offer much extra.

Breakfast is as expected at this level.

All personnel encounters was nice and helpful.

Internet speed could be better

We did not use restaurant or spa

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeH2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights. The entry to the hotel and the lobby are impressive.
My room had a view overlooking a construction site which wasn't really nice.

Also, whilst the room was cleaned, there were some strange stains on my couch and sheets.

The room itself was really nice and spacious. The same accounts for the bathroom which i was impressed with.

The minibar offered free water which is really nice as well.

There is free wifi, although the speed and quality reminds me of those old modems you had 15 years ago. For a business traveller this is unacceptable.

The staff was wonderful. Friendly and doing everything in their power to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

All in all, my stay wasn't disappointing, but i had expected more for the price and name of the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Deniax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Knokke-Heist is meant to be the place for the" beautiful people " in Belgium & the hotel fits that requirement.It is a very modern design with elegant interior furnishings. Our room was upgraded to a suite which was spacious with a well thought out bathroom. Parking is available for EUR 25 per day either outside or in the under ground parking.An easy walk to the beach or if you prefer the Casino. We had dinner in at the Bistro restaurant which was very good with a fairly priced wine card & excellent service. Breakfast has a wide selection & costs EUR 25 per person.We did not use the Spa or Wellness facilities but there is a wide selection for those that wish to be pampered. A very nice experience,but one that comes at a price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The lobby was chic and modern and the room followed suit. It was surprisingly large for a European hotel room with a large sitting area. There was a nice comfortable king size bed with 4 fluffy pillows and large soft towels in the bathroom. About 2 blocks from the beach and 1 block from the casino so in a great location as well.

Room Tip: Room 414 is next to the elevator and so gets an extra sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn_in_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely new hotel with friendly efficient reception staff. Good position opposite knokke casino and near beach. Watch out for parking charges and breakfast charges at hotel though. Only criticism was no coffee and tea making facilities in room, had a fridge in the room with balcony overlooking the lake. Hotel was lovely and quiet and the rooms on the 4th floor were large with a fantastic bathroom and very comfortable beds, and a large flat screen tv. The spa is also very good m on the top floor with a lovely, pool, sauna etc.
Knokke heist is an upmarket resort with lovely shops, beaches and wonderful service wherever you go. You will need a fairly deep wallet if visiting, but worth every penny. You can hire bicycles to ride along the lovely promenade all the way to the nature reserve or ride the tram which travels along the Belgium coast to various towns. Would recommend.l

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor with a lake view which was good and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juwit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at La Reserve for one night after a gorgeous stay in Bruges. The hotel cannot accommodate children in rooms so we had to get our 9 year old son his own adjoining room for an extra €260 euros! Decided to blow budget for one night as thought must be the height of luxury. Rooms were nice, but not amazing. We faced the casino, and sea beyond ... but between us was a horrible stagnant green lake (at one point with a window floating in it) fenced off with some portacabins, so quite ugly considering we were paying for a "view". The reception and porterage was very efficient and friendly, but I'm afraid it just wasn't worth the cost. Knokke was nice and we had a lovely dinner at Rubens (great play area outside for kids) but I would recommend you just do a day trip from Bruges (15 mins by train) as the beautiful hotel we were staying in there cost less for 2 nights and was vastly superior.

Room Tip: Suggest back lake-facing? As front (casino/sea-facing) room view somewhat ruined by large ugly stagn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knokke-Heist hotels
0.5 mi away
Manoir du Dragon
Manoir du Dragon
#7 of 27 in Knokke-Heist
75 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel St. Pol.
Hotel St. Pol.
#4 of 27 in Knokke-Heist
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#1 of 2 in Zoute
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Du Soleil
Hotel Du Soleil
#3 of 27 in Knokke-Heist
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lugano
Lugano
#5 of 27 in Knokke-Heist
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nelson's Hotel
Nelson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Knokke
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve

Property: La Reserve
Address: Elizabetlaan 160, Knokke-Heist 8300, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Knokke-Heist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Knokke-Heist
#4 Luxury Hotel in Knokke-Heist
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in the new hotel La Réserve in Knokke-Heist! Following one of the greatest hotel reconstructions in Knokke's history, La Réserve once again takes its place in the most glamorous city at the Flemish coastal side. The new five-star hotel La Réserve is the largest in Knokke-Heist with 110 rooms including 2 suites, 2 restaurants, a bar, 5 meeting rooms, 1 ballroom, a spa with indoor pool, wellness and beauty facilities. Situated at the borders of the Victory Lake and only a few steps away from the North Sea, high-class shopping and dining, La Réserve is looking forward to welcoming you back in the utmost exclusive part of Belgium! La Réserve - An icon since 1949. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Hotel Knokke-Heist

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing