We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“......great position though.”
Review of Hotel Cardinal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Cardinal
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Spa
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“......great position though.”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hotel Cardinal is located perfectly right in the middle of a lovely leafy square in this great old town. Overall, this is a perfectly adequate place to stay for one or two nights during race meetings at the Spa, Francorchamps circuit which is located 10kms down the road. It is a clean, efficient hotel but do not expect any frills - it is more like a UK Travelodge let's say. The staff were very pleasant, but they do not man the desk at all times. The check-in was easy, the front door routine and where the garages are, were explained perfectly. The rooms were fine; but really quite dated. Let's just say I had not seen a 14" tv on a wall bracket for a few years! Bathroom was small (kneeling in the bath to shower, as there was not shower-curtain) but all clean and working, but do not expect any kettle, mini bar or hair-drier. I suppose as we stayed over the 24 hour race, they can charge a premium for their rooms, which is fine. But over €350 for 1 double and 1 family room is not brilliant value in my opinion. Beware; they also require a one third deposit on booking and full payment 2 weeks before arrival during race weekends. Great position though!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
7
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The location is great, in the centre of Spa and close to all the attractions. But unless you like sleeping in a hostel style room with WiFi that doesn't work, a tiny portable TV and dated decor, then I suggest you look elsewhere.

Nevertheless, it offers value, convenience and a decent buffet for breakfast - albeit with surly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Hotel Cardinal I'm sure was once an aesthetically attractive, similar to the town of Spa.  Nonetheless, the hotel is greatly located in the centre - near the tourist info office,funicular to the thermes de spa, train station and casino.  

We booked the room via booking.com and paid 97 Euros (maybe higher during high season) per night which included breakfast comprised of cereal, croissants, ham, cheese, bread, coffee/tea and juice.  Our room was very clean, pretty comfortable with TV (not flat screen) and free wifi in the room. This town is a bit expensive and this was the most reasonable for the level of review rating we were looking for.

The lobby was not manned all the time but they are available when you need something.    We asked if they had a microwave we could use in their kitchen.  They came out with one to take to our room.  Good stay overall!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYZ_to_newhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

o Excellent location in the very centre of Spa, on a delightful leafy square.
o Close to high street shopping, casino, funicular to Thermes de Spa (hilltop spa facilities, good starting point for walks), Sunday flea market, lots of cafes and restaurants
o Charming art deco lobby
o Very friendly, helpful staff gave good advice on parking and other logistics
o Our single rooms, booked last minute, had generous small-double beds. All facilities very clean and neat. Standard functional fittings and decor, warm colours. Dark swirly-patterned carpet in corridors.
o Our singles were very good value at EUR 80 without breakfast. Lots of places to go out for this if you want to explore rather than opt for in-house breakfast room.
o Former residence of the first violinist who went down with the Titanic.

Room Tip: Room 219 has a nice balcony overlooking the square outside, though may be noisy at night if you open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evabxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwest USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

After a stay in Brugge and looking for an "off -the-beaten-path" countryside setting, we found a haven in Spa. Without reservations and hearing of a nearby F1 racetrack, we checked into the Hotel Cardinal in the center of Spa. The following amenities made for a delightful respite: located in the heart of downtown (casino, spa waterworks, restaurants, weekend flea market, shopping all within walking distance); a short drive to another intriguing village, Stavelot, where an ancient abbey hosts a spectacular F1 museum (interested in F1 racing and motorcycle history? You'll be in heaven!); more-than-reasonable room rates--friendly, helpful staff, morning breakfast , clean/modern amenities. On some occasions, local road-rally enthusiasts cue up across from the Cardinal... great car watching!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spa hotels
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Spa
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
1.3 mi away
Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Auberge
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Reine
Hotel La Reine
#8 of 14 in Spa
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin d'O
Hotel l'Ecrin d'O
#6 of 14 in Spa
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cardinal

Property: Hotel Cardinal
Address: Place Royale 21, Spa 4900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Spa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Spa
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing against the «Annette & Lubin» wooded hill, this newly renovated family hotel enjoys a unique position on the main square in the center of the Spa thermal town, a two-minute walk from the funicular giving access to the Thermal Cure Center. It is noteworthy that the most beautiful motor racing track in the world, Spa-Francorchamps is only 9 km away. Hotel Cardinal is the oldest hotel in Spa and will blow its 100 candles in a few years. In its Art Deco style, you will enjoy a warm family welcome, a very comfortable accommodation, free WiFi access in the whole building and a lift leading to the upper floors. Pets are not allowed on the premises. All non-smoking rooms are equipped with a 32’’ flat screen television, free WiFi, telephone, radio alarm clock, writing desk, refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom with bath or shower, toilet, hair dryer, make-up mirror, towels and cosmetics. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing