We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting but too small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glasmuseet Ebeltoft

Glasmuseet Ebeltoft
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Ebeltoft
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glasmuseet Ebeltoft is a modern, active museum for contemporary glass. Changing exhibitions throughout the year, international collection, digital learning space, shop, café and garden. Activities in the glass workshop during school holidays.
Alleroed Municipality, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting but too small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

From the webside and brochure it looks like a big museum for contemporary glass but we get a bit disapointed. But good value as no fees for kids up to 17 y.o.. We learnt a lot about the world of glass in everydaylife. Funny playing with the kaleidoscope and creating our own glass object using the digital glassblower and having it on the webside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaroleFRDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasmuseetEbeltoftDK, Guest Relations Manager at Glasmuseet Ebeltoft, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the active elements in "the World of Glass" and hope you liked the two exhibitions, too. We would love to expand the museum and show more of our permanent collection - unfortunately this is not possible at the moment :-) But who knows, maybe we will get the chance some time in the future. In the meantime we are happy to show changing exhibitions and different stagings with works from the collection.
We hope to see you here again another time.

With best regards,
Pia Bittner, Glasmuseet Ebeltoft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    14
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful glass artwork - amazing exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The old town and port of Ebeltoft is an absolute gem, full of old Danish charm and character. Adjacent to the harbour stands the Glass Museum. I have been several times to Ebeltoft and must have walked past this museum many times without any inclination to enter - big mistake!
I am so glad that my recent visit included entry to this home of beautiful glass artwork and amazing exhibits (BodyTalk exhibition which is on until September). I was absolutely knocked out by the sheer variety of colourful glass on show. Until now I simply did not appreciate how this difficult medium could be so wonderfully transformed by artists into what is actually a three dimensional combination of form that is further enhanced by its translucency to light - something that two dimensional work i.e.paintings cannot achieve.
The current exhibition (Body Talk) is an interpretation of the human form by 52 invited international artists and their concepts really make you think! In the shop there are also more practical artifacts for the home etc. One interesting part is a virtually personal demonstration of the art of the glass blower and, on a more modern theme, there is a hands on digital glass design console which enables you to design and form your own piece of glass art - truly amazing! No museum would be complete without a historical aspect on it's chosen subject matter and this glass museum is no exception. Whilst the artwork is food for the mind, there is also an excellent cafe serving food for the body. I can thoroughly recommend this attraction for all the family.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank halfviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasmuseetEbeltoftDK, Public Relations Manager at Glasmuseet Ebeltoft, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you visited the museum this time and that you had a good time enjoying the exhibitions, the studio and the café. You are welcome again any time - glass is a truly amazing material! Enjoy the Summer. Kind regards from us at Glasmuseet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
348 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Amazing, colourful, hands on, and different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

As it was the only rainy day, we sought refuge here. With our four year old granddaughter we were prepared for a brief visit. Four hours later we emerged, full of memories and sights.
The works here are different, interesting, colourful, and very creative. Our granddaughter really enjoyed many aspects, as you can touch many exhibits, and some are interactive. A special exhibit of works related to the human body was on, and this was fascinating.
All finished off with superb food in the cafe, and an opportunity to watch glass making in the garden workshop. Brilliant place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasmuseetEbeltoftDK, Public Relations Manager at Glasmuseet Ebeltoft, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review of the museum. We are very happy to hear that you had a good experience here - and that your grand child enjoyed the stay! Please feel welcome any time!
Kind regards,
Pia Bittner, Glasmuseet Ebeltoft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice exhibition and very interesting pieces on show. You can also watch a glassmaker creating objects. The shop has a wide range of handmade glassobjects.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFemaleDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasmuseetEbeltoftDK, Public Relations Manager at Glasmuseet Ebeltoft, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks a lot for taking the time to review your visit at Glasmuseet Ebeltoft. We are glad that you had a good experience here and find that the museum is worth visiting. Have a nice Summer and feel free to visit us again any time.
With kind regards,
Pia Bittner, Glasmuseet Ebeltoft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No 1 in Ebeltoft”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

This was a fantastic experience. Much more than expected. This little local museum shows the whole history of glass-art. It includes works of artists from the whole world.
At the end a visit to the museum shop is a must. There are many small treasures.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SveinMilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glasmuseet Ebeltoft also viewed

Ebeltoft, Southdjurs Municipality
Ebeltoft, Southdjurs Municipality
 
Ebeltoft, Southdjurs Municipality
 

Been to Glasmuseet Ebeltoft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing