We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Hotel Gammel Havn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gammel Havn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fredericia
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were travelling through Denmark on our way to the Bergen ferry so were only here for one night. I had not noticed the bit about contacting the hotel if you were arriving after 6pm until reviewing the directions on the train 6:15. Fortunately a phone call solved all, clearly it is run with minimal staff, but they were able to recommend a local restaurant.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MopsyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gammel Havn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

A good location close to the haven; Nice friedly staff; Very clean and tidy room at competative price; Good breakfast served in the early morning; I recommend this hotel for a stay easy to get around the city and other places. I was going to the Danish army camp and staff gave me exact details and directions;

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaikwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

There are a lot of good report on Tripadvisor about this hotel and it is no surprise. The location is first class and the staff are friendly and rooms clean and tidy. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone who wanted a no frills hotel - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrbr126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed for one night - friendly staff, clean pleasant rooms and a lovely breakfast made for a great stay.
Free internet access provided.
Free coffee provided int he downstairs area.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soundtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night spontaneously. We arrived late in the evening and arranged for the stay via phone. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and very friendly, our room was clean and quite large. Restaurants and stores are in walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maracujaschorle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed for four nights for business in August 2013.

Location is great - right Down to the small Yacht harbour and right in the middle of the centre of Fredericia (which is much more charming than I thought). Plenty of restaurants and shopping possibilities few minutes of walk away.

Rooms are 80's style, but comfortable and reasonable of size.

The Hotel will serve a basic breakfast, and there's no evening restaurant.

Staff are very helpful. Note - the reception have limited opening hours, which means that you must enter a pin code to get in if you arrive after 18.00.

The problems I encountered was that my Eiderdown smelt of sweat/smoke (although it's a completely non-smoking place), it contained a lot of allergens, and that the sink in the bathroom is equiped with an annoying hands-on/hands-off water falset.

The Hotel is an old seamens home which means they have a Christian interior theme.

Alcohol is banned on the premises, but it doesn't seem to be enforced at all as long as you mind your own business.

Altogether I would go here again - it's good value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are reasonable of size, and are all different. There are no "bad" rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomitronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My wife and stayed at this hotel in July 2013. The room was quite large , very clean and more than adequate for a couple with a large bed and twin duvets. As previous posters say the breakfast was good with fresh produce.
The receptionist was very helpful even before we booked in as on the previous day to our stay I called in to ask if I could park in the hotel car park early in the morning (10.30 am) of our arrival because the town would be busy because of the Landsoldaten parade. No problem. She also recommended the adjacent Farmor Kokkencafe/restaurant for an authentic meal. The meal was excellent.

Room Tip: I think there is only one room with a balcony. We got it because we booked early
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyall w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fredericia
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Fredericia
9.0 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 9 in Kolding
1,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Postgaarden
Hotel Postgaarden
#5 of 7 in Fredericia
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Kryb I Ly
3.1 mi away
Trinity Hotel Og Konferenc
Trinity Hotel Og Konferenc
#2 of 7 in Fredericia
217 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fuglsangcentret
Fuglsangcentret
#6 of 7 in Fredericia
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gammel Havn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gammel Havn

Address: Gothersgade 40, Fredericia 7000, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Gammel Havn / Fredericia Somandshjem)
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Fredericia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fredericia
Price Range: £91 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gammel Havn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gammel Havn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing