We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy hotel by wood and water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Strandtangen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Strandtangen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skive
Certificate of Excellence
Hjoerring, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel by wood and water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Scandinavian style with tile and wooden floors, clean and minimalist interior and free wifi, comfy bed and outdoor patio area. For me, it was not a great thing that it was so light outside with lamps on during the night because of the thin curtains. Staff was friendly and I liked the place over all - certainly would say it is a good quality place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    19
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Strangtangen is comfortably situated between the Skive Fyord and Krabbesholm Skov.
There were a table and chairs outside our room, on the verandah. In the late afternoon, we
sat drinking hot chocolate, looking over the marina, … across the fiord, … towards green and gentle country with farmhouses, windmills and a whitewashed church, all of it reflected beautifully on a vast stretch of water so peaceful and still. All with hints of the colours in Skagen paintings. In the morning, we watched the no less beautiful sunrise.
Morning and evening we walked slowly through the woodlands.
Our room in Strandtangen was large, modern and very comfortable. Breakfast was generous and delicious.
Without exception, we were treated with warmth and friendliness by everyone, in Reception and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOldiesBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schagen
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Beautiful, clean, scandinavian style. Easily sleeps a family of four and just magical to look out over the little harbour. One thing that we did not like is that the doors facing the water cannot be locked from inside, whilst not being a real security concern it does make you have to keep a close eye on young children as they could open it themselves.

You can park your car next to the accommodation so unloading is easy.

We really loved it and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stay at this complex every year and the views and location are outstanding.
The staff are extremely helpful and the rooms and chalets are well fitted and very comfortable.
The restaurant os of a very high standard if a little expensive. There is a beef house on the hill adjacent, one of the best steaks in Denmark, but again expensive.
If your self catering it is a little out of town so a car is a must.
Back to the view and location, the hotel sits on the marina on the edge of the fjord, it has magnificent views and you cannot help but relax.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

A gem of a hotel with fantastic views. Nice and simple breakfast but a bit too early for my taste. Fast free internet and free parking..what more can you ask?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fafvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Strandtangen is one of the best hotels I have even stayed at. My wife an I stayed in a suit for over 6 nights and everything was perfect. The breakfast, the furniture, hotel staff and everything.
The view of the hotel to the water side with boats at dock was great at night and in the morning. The billiards was also entertaining keeping us up until 1am.
I absolutely recommend anyone going to Skive to rent an apartment in this hotel if they're going to stay more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monib19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We extended our stay here because we liked it so much. The room was ultra modern Danish style, large and airy, light and with views directly over the marina. The beds were soft and comfortable, and the floors tiled. The decor was white, black, grey with a touch of lime. We fell in love with it. The hotel is run by a father and son team , and everything is friendly and personal. In the huge reception area are cooling fridges with wine and a range of drinks which you can use at any time, and pay later. There are art works and glass decorations from the local glass -blowing workshop.
The hotel also has apartments and boat houses to rent- all delightfully positioned. If you are choosing a room , be sure to ask for the best views. The town of Skive is a hidden gem- all the water sports, and quiet beautiful counryside- with islands to explore, like FUR which was voted most beautiful island in Denmark ! It is a great place to rent a boat. We will be going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skive
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Skivehus
13.8 mi away
Hotel Pinenhus
Hotel Pinenhus
#1 of 2 in Roslev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tambohus Kro
Tambohus Kro
#1 of 1 in Tambohuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Himmerland Golf & Spa Resort
18.4 mi away
Struer Grand Hotel
Struer Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Struer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
16.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golf Hotel Viborg & Golf Salonen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strandtangen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strandtangen

Property: Hotel Strandtangen
Address: Strandvejen 28, Skive 7800, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > West Jutland > Skive
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Strandtangen 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Strandtangen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing