We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge de La Selune
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ducey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The original Auberge dates back many years and is featured in early pictures of the town. A new wing has been added in more recent times and the two buildings are linked by the reception area. We had a very comfortable room in the old part and felt it was worth the extra for the view over the garden and river. A bed was very comfortable, the bath/shower room was spotless with a range of toiletries provided. The wifi connection was free, easy to log into and with a strong connection.
The restaurant food was superb, with the option of two or three courses for a reasonable price. It is also open on Sunday evenings, unlike many, The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere warm and welcoming. We cannot understand why it has not been given a higher rating with Logis de France.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs do not book a room in the old part of the hotel. The staircase is...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizanneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Auberge de La Selune
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a small family run hotel,and the owners, Patrice and Sandra are wonderful. The rooms are small, but very clean and well kept. We were in France to make a short movie about my father who crossed the Selune River at Pontabault August 1, 1944. As he was crossing the bridge, he saw a salmon hanging on the side of a cafe, and has dreamed of returning to fish the river since. It became a reality on this trip! We stayed here for 4 nights, and this was the best place we stayed while in France. The dinners here are amazing! The dinners here were the best we had on our trip.

If you are into the Tour de France, the race goes literally right past the front door of the hotel.

I give this small hotel my highest rating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A pleasant hotel in a quiet location with an attractive garden overlooking the river. It is convenient for exploring the coast around Mont St Michel and close to a junction on the A13 if you are in transit. The family who run it are very friendly and helpful. I very much appreciated the consideration of Mme Girres in moving us to a room which would be more convenient for my elderly father. The room we had was clean and well maintained and, although we overlooked the road rather than the garden, it was very quiet.
The restaurant was full including a number of locals, which is usually a good sign. We had an enjoyable meal and a good bottle of wine at a reasonable price. My only criticism is that I felt that the chef was trying a bit too hard to introduce unusual flavours into his dishes. To my taste there were often too many combinations of flavours, which didn't quite work. The famous pie de crabe could have done with a bit more seasoning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank André l'Anglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

After booking a hotel in Avranches a month too early, I discovered a gem in the beautiful small town of Ducey at the time we were supposed to be in this part of France. Only a stones throw from Le Mont Saint Michel, Auberge de La Selune, is a wonderful little hotel and restaurant, hosted by Patrice Gilles. Set on the Selune River, the hotel features superb hospitality and gourmet dinners for very reasonable prices. The wait staff is elegant but friendly. Easy to be here if your French is limited as the owners both speak very good English. The rooms are modest in size but very clean and comfortable. The view from the Dining Room, which is also where breakfast is taken, looks out over a flowered garden towards the Selune River. A small private car park is available on premises if you have a car. Do yourself a big favor and book a few nights here.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their "refreshed" rooms when making your reservation. Very comfortable new...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJB060342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I first stayed here in 1979, just after the then owner, the third generation of the Girres family, devised the delicious Pie au Crabbe, thankfully still on the menu, which amongst other things got to me to stay again many times since and recommend it to all my friends. His son has now taken on the reins and the hotel remains in very safe hands from my perspective as a customer, bit by bit modernising the bedrooms while maintaining high standards of service and serving delicious food. It's the sort of place that holds onto its friendly and efficient staff for years and this also helps hold on to customers like me and my friends -- we all make a point of coming back, even if it means a detour in our trip to France!

We didn't have the rooms with the best views this time round and some bits of our room needed refreshing, mainly bits of the bathroom, but it didn't matter in terms of our continued enjoyment of this family hotel. The garden is lovely and the weather was good enough to have dinner on the terrace, which was a bonus. The breakfast is good -- it's interesting to see how much more choice and variety has to be provided in French hotels compared to 30 years ago and this hotel always holds it own relative to other hotels!

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brit_Abroad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Very ggod position, around 20 minutes by car to Mont-Saint Michel. Nice, warm and personalized service. The family that manages this hotel is really kind, polite and ready to help you. Excellent breakfast in the dining room with view to the garden, which is really beautiful and closed to the river "Selune". The hotel has surely a big potential to get even better: I think it could mantain this "old fashion style" but improving and renewing a bit the rooms (tapestry, wall covering and decoration).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefimv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Have just spent 2 days at this Auberge and would recommend it highly if you enjoy good food(especially fish) presented with style. It is a lovely, setting and staff very friendly. The charming restaurant overlooks the garden and makes for a lovely romantic occasion . Rooms are not huge but very comfortable. We had one overlooking the gardens and river which I think is the best location. Breakfast is good and generous. Whole place has a nice relaxed ambience.Would go back again.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking garden.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ducey
0.0 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
2.1 mi away
Le Gue du Holme
Le Gue du Holme
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
217 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
475 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
4.7 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avranches
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de La Selune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Selune

Address: 2 rue Saint Germain, 50220 Ducey, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Ducey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ducey
Price Range: £70 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de La Selune 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20mn from Mont-Saint-Michel, the Auberge de la Sélune is a gourmet hotel-restaurant which serves a home-made cooking with fresh products. In summer, come and taste the lamb AOP Prés Salés of the Mont Saint-Michel. The hotel has a flowery garden and is along the Selune river, on the border of the charming Ducey village. Strongly recommended reservation. Book directly for better prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge de La Selune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing