We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ducey B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic experience”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a terrific place to stay. I stayed at the Blue House whilst on a motorcycling trip to Normandy in May 2014. Di and Nick are brilliant friendly hosts offering great hospitality and extensive knowledge of the local area. The location and house offer the 'great French rural village experience' as you would imagine it, but without any language difficulties. Di and Nick have embraced the French way of life but still offer access to UK TV if you want to keep up to date and WiFi facilities. The house is located next to the river with a good parking area opposite for several motorcycles. The accommodation comprises three large bedrooms (one double, one twin and a double with a single) on the first floor with views of the river or very large back garden, with a modern shared bathroom containing a large shower. The breakfast is terrific and Di and Nick are very flexible on timing. The new oak conservatory overlooking the garden is a great place to relax and chat with your hosts. The back garden is also a great spot if the weather is good. The location is about 1.15 from Caen ferry with easy motorway access, and about 20 mins from Mont St. Michael. Thoroughly recommended and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orgiva, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were a mature couple travelling with an adult daughter and our 7 year old Pomeranian dog. We chose Ducey because of its proximity to Cherbourg from where we were sailing the following day. Nick and Diane were most friendly and hospitable. It was a joy to share their beautiful home in a beautiful setting. We were warmly welcomed with refreshments on arrival and immediately felt at home. We enjoyed exploring the lovely town and we slept very well in our comfortable room. We really enjoyed the breakfast which was included in the very reasonable price. Thank you Nick and Diane. We hope to visit again!

Room Tip: We had a front room with a lovely view of the river and weir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padraigoruanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The town of Ducey is about 1:15 hours drive time from Caen ferryport.The house is on the edge of the town and the owners, Nick & Di, although British are intigrated into the French way of life. The house is lovely, clean and friendly. If you prefer English speaking and British TV then you can but you can also immerse yourself into the French way of life if you wish. It is situated on the edge of Ducey, alongside a beautiful river at its front and extra long gardens to the rear. There are three bedrooms and a shared bathroom, (with superb shower), which proved not to be a problem. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts who are good cooks, knowledgeable on the area and various sports, particularly cycling, on which they can give good advice. We had a great time over a few days in October 2013. Very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: For me it has to be a front room with the river view. There is a water fall on the river which some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at The Blue House overnight as a stop over on our way to the South of France. The hosts Di and Nick made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We even ate with them at the local pizzeria in Ducey. They were very knowledgeable about the local area. Our room was clean and situated at the front of the house overlooking a beautiful river -perfect!
Breakfast was delicious and served in the lovely oak conservatory overlooking the garden. We will definitely return and might even take up Nick's offer to go cycling. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: River view room beautifully rustic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulie-dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in the summer of 2013, the location is beautiful. The house is an excellent base for exploring local attractions and beaches. The house is extremely comfortable with beautiful gardens that go on forever. Situated on the doorstep of a picturesque village. The owners are very friendly and do everything to make you welcome will definitely return loved it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Fantastic place at the embankment of a beautiful river in a picturesque town with old stone bridge and houses. The owner Nick from England is very king and hospitable person who tried to do all to make us satisfied. And even gave chocolate sweets to our women when we were sitting at the terrace and drinking wine :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasileostrovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
411 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Di and Nick are the owners of this 130 years old house and they know how to a guest. They are british so english is spoken fluently ,which is a big advantage in France. The breakfast is served at a nice winter garden and is from high quality. The house is perfectly located just in front of the river and it's falls ,which can be seen from two of the guest rooms. The only concearn with staying at "The Blue House" is that you have to share the toilet and bath with other guest. For us it was not a problem ,as far as we were the only guests at the hotel. Warmly recommended!!

Room Tip: Two of the rooms face the river ,choose one of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanij60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ducey
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Moulin de Ducey
0.1 mi away
Auberge de La Selune
5.2 mi away
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
#2 of 5 in Avranches
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House

Property: The Blue House
Address: Le Pavement 25, 50220 Ducey, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Ducey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ducey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Ducey, The Blue House offers a garden, a furnished terrace and a communal TV lounge. Avranches is just a 15-minute drive away and Mont Saint-Michel is 19 km from the property.All rooms feature a view of the river or garden and a wardrobe. The bathroom and toilet facilities are shared.A continental breakfast is provided each morning at The Blue House. Guests can also enjoy European cuisine in an evening meal prepared by the host upon request.Hiking, biking and kayaking activities are possible 8 km away and La Sélune River is just 10 metres from the property. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout and free public parking is possible at a location nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing