We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western La Gentilhommiere
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Satillieu
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We organized a christening party for our daughter there. Well situated place, by a river in the countryside. Breathtaking views. Amazing, charming place! Food was extremaly good. Our guests stayed in the hotel. Rooms are cosy, well equiped and modern. Nice swimming pool, not cold so our little one could go there as well. Owners extremaly nice and helpful. We would really recommend this place, either for a night stay, holidays or organizing any venue, especially if you travel with children.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    47
    30
    27
    24
See reviews for
69
57
1
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed there 4 nights this summer in a Duplex apartement, basically wood bungalow, they are seperated from the historical buildings of the place. They are are OK comfortable and spacious for 4 but you can hear very well the neighbours. Consequently the first night until 11:30 pm we could not sleep at all. Other than that very quiet place.
The hotel needs renovation, the pool has screws getting out of the wood floor, quite dangereous, the water was kind of blur, the tennis courts are not useable, the sauna was not working and neither the hamam, the bridges to cross the small river are either not useable or dangerously cracked. the gim is kind of ridiculous and outdated. I do not think all of this is acceptable and do not understand how the hotel can let this happen.
There is an OK place for the kids with toys. Apreciated.
The food was great and also the food place itself. Ok the way the meat was cooked once was too much, I think they forgot to ask how I wanted it. the food place is very cosy, quiet, nicelly setted-up. The leader of the restaurant is nice and helpfull. One particular waiter, also working first hours in the morning is really really great. Very polite, always hard working, so nice. We told the woner and the leader of the restaurant. Other waitresses are a bit lost...The owner and his wife are nice and helpfull. The breakfast is really good.
Around the hotel are not too many things to do beside the goat milking at 5:30 pm.ut take the car and less than 1 hour around are great things to do: The palais ideal du facteur Cheval the great zoo, the velo rail,etc....

Room Tip: Maybe ask for the historical buildings? But some are close to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yannteste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyonnax, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We've been in this hotel at 7 including 2 children. It is situated in the deep countryside. If you want to be in a calm place...this is the place to be. The hotel is composed of several buildings and rooms are mostly well decorated and modern except few rooms still. But old and modern style are well mixed. The garden is quite big but not well gardened when we've been there. There are 2 swimming pools including 1 inside, fitness room and games. So this was great to take a rest a occupy children. I recommend the restaurant and the bar which is super well decorated. Check the comments for the restaurant also. Breakfast was also nice and quite complete.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russianteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

OK this hotel won't appeal to everyone. But we found the owners really welcoming lovely people.
We had the cheapest of the rooms and it was absolutely fine, very clean, modern bathroom (toilet is separate though) and a large balcony. One major plus for me was the swimming pool which I was desperate to use due to back/neck issues. Swimming pool was clean. Free parking also available.
The hotel is set in a large garden, with a small wooded area and stream. Would be ideal for a wedding etc. They cater for local seminars etc.
We had breakfast but it wasn't anything special and I would say not good value at 10 euros.

We ate in the restaurant and had a very nice meal, however it was a set meal with no choices. As I said this won't appeal to everyone...!

Room Tip: You can pay more for a room with balcony over looking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellroy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We had the superior rooms and it was just disgusting! And they charged us £110/night without breakfast. Extremely poor hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Satillieu hotels

Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

This is a pretty awful place. We booked it at the last minute, as a stop off hotel on the way to Provence. Thank god it was for just one night..

The place is a mixture of newer and old buildings but it is in a major and serious need of an upgrade and refit. Nothing is in a reasonable condition it is worn tired and as I said to my wife, it is a glorified Youth Hostel, not a hotel. We booked a basic room granted, but it still cost about 120 euro !!. The room was out of the 60s, really dirty carpets, flies everywhere and not particularly nice odour. Everything was the lowest of the low.

Funnily enough, the food was not too bad, but still everywhere has to be good at something.

Do not, whatever you do book into this place – disgusting. 5/100

  • Liked — that we were only there for one night !!
  • Disliked — dirty, very old and tatty
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t16tomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Satillieu
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chaleat-Sapet
9.8 mi away
Domaine de Saint-Clair
Domaine de Saint-Clair
#1 of 1 in Saint-Clair
183 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#1 of 1 in Davezieux
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#1 of 1 in Annonay
94 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel les Amandiers
Hotel les Amandiers
#2 of 3 in Tournon-sur-Rhone
133 reviews
9.0 mi away
Le Fort du Pre
Le Fort du Pre
#1 of 3 in Saint-Bonnet-le-Froid
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western La Gentilhommiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western La Gentilhommiere

Property: Best Western La Gentilhommiere
Address: route de Lalouvesc, 07290 Satillieu, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ardeche > Satillieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Satillieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western La Gentilhommiere 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western FR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western La Gentilhommiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satillieu Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing