We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in the mountains near Delphi !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Skamnos
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Arachova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had the great pleasure to stay at Hotel Skamnos for four nights in May, 2014 The owner and her family went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Kaloussa provided a very complete list of places for us to visit in the area ranging from coastal towns, museums, and a monastery We even visited a bauxite mine that is about 30 Km from the hotel.

As others have said, the breakfasts are really very special, with all manner of home baked items and preserves prepared by Kaloussa's mother.

Kaloussa also provided us with valuable information about other nice hotels in different areas in Greece.

If you are looking for a restful location away from the urban hotels, then we would highly recommend staying at Hotel Skamnos

Frank + Heleen Boston, Massachusetts USA

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank schematic495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very nice and comfortable rooms with clean bathroom.
Delicious breakfast. We felt like millionairs!
The lady of the house really pampered us.
Thank you, Kaloussa for your advice, your kindness and 'wisdom'.
We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at Skamnos in June 2014 for three nights. This family-owned hotel is higher into the gorgeous mountain, a little further down the road from Arachova. Breathtaking views of the mountain and the town along the way! The area seems to be a popular ski destination, so the whole area was very quiet when I visited, but what a way to get away from crowd and enjoy the heavenly beauty of the area!!

The hotel was beautifully kept. Each room was decorated with different themes and the bar/breakfast lounge area was cute and bright with sunshine. This is not a 5-star luxury hotel you can feel the unique personality in the hotel.

Perhaps, what really will impress anybody is how warm and personal the stay at Skamnos can be. I met the whole family during my stay. Around the hotel, the family had chickens, horses, dogs and cats, and you get the fresh eggs from their own chickens for your breakfast. You can see a shepherd's house behind the hotel where the owner of the hotel gets super-delicious cheese from. And the mother of the family cooks your breakfast and you can feel the love in the food. I saw two cousins starting to keep bees this summer, so by next year, they probably will serve homemade honey with yogurt. I felt like the whole setting is almost too good to be true.

One last thing that I wanted to add is the location. My husband and I drove around the area and visited Delphi archaeological sites, cute towns that I do not remember names of any more (one of those was Galaxidi), Monastery of Osios Loukas and some excellent restaurants, bars, and a beach. Everything was located conveniently around the place - the hotel itself is not in the middle of a town and the wavy, mountainous roads hide other areas from the hotel so you really feel like you are away from other places. But, actually it is rather convenient to visit any areas around Arachova.

I will definitely come back to enjoy the hotel and the area. I did not get to hike the mountain this time, and that is something I would love to come back for. Thank you, Kaloussa for the wonderful time at Arachova!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hyunjoo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

One of the best hotels to book if you are focused on a skiing weekend. The hotel is very close to the ski resort and you can get on the road before the coaches start to cause a traffic jam. The heated pool didn't feel very heated and was difficult to enjoy but the rooms are beautiful, very private and the breakfast very rich. The price was a bit high but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trifonas z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We liked the place a lot, it is a very friendly family running it, and the room standard is high. That said, it is a 15min drive from the town Arachova, so if you are looking to stroll around in the evening, it is not the most convenient. But on the other hand it offers great views, and it is a very good place to hang out and relax. Breakfast was awesome with big selection, incl homemade jam. Only weird thing was that sauna price was 20eur, at least on the price list in the room, but we didnt really check on it. Overall, great place and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great Boutique Hotel, with very unique rooms and one of the best breakfast areas - lounges,
This is the best part of this hotel. The rooms are comfortable, but need more closets and better bathrooms - they are not excellent but average.
Very hot at night, problematic A/C, works continuously, so it gets hot - if you turn it off, it gets cold, so.... problematic.
Breakfast great - absolute gorgeous lounge and breakfast area - one of the best I have been.
The pool - cold! The kids could not stay in more than 10 minutes and came out freezing, The adults did not even dive in the pool.
Close to the ski center - big advantage.
No problem with the parking. Problems with the WiFi - not good connection - continuous interuptions of service.
No one to help carry the suitcases, especially bad for the top floors.
Overpriced. If this place had a reasonable price it would be getting better rating.
However, when they ask for such high prices, you expect things to be much better.
Not the value for money, however, a nice mini hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SummertimeinGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were at Skamnos in February 2014 for a few days of Skiing on the Parnassos, which worked out very well in spite of the unusually mild season. The very friendly owners helped us discover the area and make the most of our time. This is the most pleasant hotel we have had in Greece. We had a great family suit with wonderful view. The children used the swimming pool every day (for a small hotel like this, the pool is really large!) The mattresses are harder than the international cocooning standards some people favour, but they offer a healthy rest. Breakfast with a peaceful view on the valley was a pleasure. The commons areas are very nice, with lots of sofa corners to feel secluded... the owners are born decorators and just seem to keep investing on a daily basis in this hotel!

One thing that really stands out: SKAMNOS is a bit outside the all too touristy Arachova, and it offers the ABSOLUTE CLOSEST LOCATION FOR SKIING ON THE PARNASSOS.

Room Tip: We had an attic family suit. Perfect for 4. Great views! Some rooms may be quieter than others in h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andy_frankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaloussa, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Boutique Hotel Skamnos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you very much Andy and family for your nice review. We were very amazed to get to know you all. I hope Greece is going to be one of your next vacations again! Have a nice time in Germany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arachova
5.2 mi away
Domotel Anemolia
Domotel Anemolia
#2 of 11 in Arachova
344 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elatos Resort & Health Club
5.3 mi away
Aegli Arachova
Aegli Arachova
#3 of 11 in Arachova
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hani Zemenou
Hani Zemenou
#5 of 11 in Arachova
22 reviews
5.8 mi away
Santa Marina Arachova
Santa Marina Arachova
#8 of 11 in Arachova
76 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tagli Resort & Spa
Tagli Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Arachova
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Skamnos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Skamnos

Address: 0, Arachova 32004, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Greece > Boeotia Region > Arachova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Arachova
Price Range: £74 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Skamnos 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel SKAMNOS, is at 1,220 meters, at the north-west edge of the small village Arachova, ideally placed for reaching the region's most important tourist spots. We offer studios with fireplace for 2-4 people, connected double rooms, standard double rooms, deluxe rooms and three amazing lofts with electronic-fireplace. All rooms are facing either the ski resort of Parnassos mountain or the valley side of Livadi and Paliovouna mountain. All rooms have central heating, satellite TV-channels, minibar, telephone, FREE Wi-Fi, and excellent views with balcony. It's an inviting place, with 19 cosy bedrooms. Inside, it is not overly decorated, but with wooden floors, walls painted in soft colors and nice country style furniture everything looks warm and appealing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Hotel Skamnos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing