We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel, former Best Western hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
First Hotel Kinsarvik
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kinsarvik
Sandnes, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Clean Hotel, former Best Western hotel.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Arrived at Kinsarvik on 10/5 around 8PM.

The sign said receptionist was away for the moment and would be right back.
Waited a short minute and a nice English spoken person helped me to place the reservation. Price was slightly lower than anticipated: NOK 1050. Asked for a quiet room and got room 328.

After checking in, and watching a good movie, I went downstairs to have a look around. Time was around 11:30PM. A gentleman was about to start vacuuming the common areas, when I asked him if it was usual to vacuum this late at which he replied that it was requested by management for him to clean after 11PM. I also found out that the staff started cleaning rooms as soon as people checked out. So yes, some early door slamming would occur even on Sunday mornings.

Please ask for rooms other than X05-X14 and X26-X29 as the 24 hour noise from the active receptionist/night-staff and kitchen easily is being carried up the stairways and through the structure in rooms above the kitchen area. It might give you a few wake-up calls during the night unless you had a few beers at a local bar...

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms other than X05-X14 and X26-X29. Kitchen and staff noise might wake you up durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

I rather like the way this hotel has retained its late 60s early 70s styling - it remained me of my youth (and my first visit to Norway). Great stopping off spot if you want to walk up to the waterfalls. Don't expect very plush, or ultra fine dining - but expect to be warmly welcomed.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank StansPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopervik, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel is not pretending to be something it is not. It offers basic accomodation and does not promise anything more. It served our purpose since it is just a few minuttes walk away from Mikkelparken family park, and we just needed a place to crash.

We booked a family room with 4 beds. The room was ok-ish (small for 4 persons/beds), but everything was clean and the beds were very good. Internet connection was fast enough and free.

The included breakfast buffé was average in quality and rather limited in choices.

The staff was welcoming and friendly.

If you need anything more than a place to crash, consider Hotel Ullensvang about 10 km. away - but expect to pay the double compared to the basic Kinsarvik Fjord Hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We ended up here as a result of an extremely unplanned road trip. Room was fairly big, beds were fantastic, service ok, bathroom could do with a good clean up, breakfast around average. Heading for a wedding I had breakfast in a national dress - lots of funny looks from other guests. But definitely more comfortable than the camping site next door, and well worth a stay if you're ever in Kinsarvik at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tulutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here in between stavanger and aurlands. This is a great stopover.
Clean and nice room, good service, lots of parking.

This is a good launching point to trekking or drives to places like voringfossen an areas of hardangerfjord.

Wifi is good in restaurant area but sketchy from rooms - suspect the antenna for wifi sends out horizontally more than vertical - therefore signal is faint from rooms.

Kinsarvik cafe nearby is a great spot ad the local shopping and petrol station have plenty to keep you equipt.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMakesPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We have arrived to Kinsarvik Fjord Hotel while traveling Hardangerfjord this summer.
The room had (very) bad smell - cigarrete smoke mixed with some cleaning materials. Opening the balcony window didn't help to dispose of the smell.
The rooms were tidy and mostly clean.
The internet connection was very slow and the TV had only 4 channels.
Rooms furniture is old (probably dates the 70's). The elevator reminds a coal shaft elevator, haven't seen one of these since my childhood.
The room didn't have a cattle (obviously) so we have asked the reception for some hot water, we have recieved the water, but with a bonus - a little bit of good spicy rust.

Buttom line - not a good value for money.

Room Tip: Before checking in - ask to check the room first and see if it has funny smells. If you ask for hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kinsarvik hotels

Gävle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Very friendly staff.
Nice and clean room.
Wonderful view from balcony.
Poor and slow internet-connection.
Comfortable but a bit hard beds.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsarvik
0.0 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ullensvang Gjesteheim
Ullensvang Gjesteheim
#1 of 8 in Ullensvang
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Kinsarvik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Kinsarvik

Property: First Hotel Kinsarvik
Address: Kinsarvik 5782, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Kinsarvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kinsarvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your First Hotel Kinsarvik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kinsarvik
Kinsarvik Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing