We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Myrdal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is wonderful. It may not be the most modern, but for a beautiful location, a really warm welcome, comfort and great food, you couldn't find better.

Stayed for two nights in March, to do the Flam Railway trip, in a twin en suite room looking out towards the railway siding, with nothing else in sight but mountains. It snowed quite heavily while we were there which just added to the beauty.

The welcome you receive at this hotel, from Jannet and the rest of the staff, is really warm and you feel instantly at home. The room we were in had all the essentials and was very clean. The single beds were blissfully comfortable, and the windows could be opened to enjoy the fresh air. The hotel is quite secluded so is very quiet. There are two communal lounge areas with the one on the upper floor having lovely views across the valley and lake. Coffee and tea are available in these areas at all times.

Breakfast and dinner are both included in the tariff, making this hotel excellent value. They are served in a separate dining room which also has good views and is nicely set out. The food is varied and plentiful, with dinner on both nights we stayed offering three courses, and as you help yourself even the heartiest eaters should be satisfied - and what food! The quality and preparation was outstanding with a lot of local produce used (the smoked ham from the Flam valley and the cloudberry icecream were particularly delicious), and traditional Norwegian dishes are included. There are also plenty of vegetable dishes and fresh fruit. Breakfast was similarly generous.

In summer it is possible to walk from Myrdal Station, where the Oslo-Bergen train stops, to the hotel (not sure how easy this would be with luggage) but in winter you need to take a 3 minute trip on the Flam train, which stops straight in front of the hotel so is very convenient to catch for the full trip down to Flam itself. In summer there are walking tracks from the hotel.

All in all, this hotel was such a nice stay that it provided a second highlight to go with the Flam Railway. I have no hesitation in giving it the highest recommendation and would stay again any time.

Room Tip: Any room would be pleasant in these surroundings, so the only decision is whether you prefer to have...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

As last year I attended a seminar at Vatnahalsen in November. We arrived the place with Flåmsbanen (Flåm Railway) after a scenic trip up in the mountains. It was snowing a little bit at Vatnahalsen this Saturday afternoon, and the temperature was around minus 6 degrees Celsius. Exactly what I hoped for; a feeling of the upcoming winter, nice.

As before we received a warm welcome form the people running the hotel, and coffee and waffles was standing there ready for us in the living room.

I got a room in the ground floor, or actually it is in the basement, in the end of the hallway. This was a larger and nicer room than last year, even though still very basic. Two single beds, a desk with a chair, an armchair with a small round table and a wardrobe.

The bathroom contained a wc (off course), a sink and a bath with a shower. In this room the floor in the bathroom had heating.

The room and the bathroom was both very clean. I must also say that I slept very well, so the bed was good.

After various activities during the afternoon it was about time to start the Christmas party at 7 pm. First reception with coctails (actually a local cider; very good). After that on to the fantastic buffet in the restaurant. Wow, exactly as last year; so many things to choose from and everything perfectly prepared. And the waiters are so friendly and effective that you really don’t want to leave the table, but just sit there and eat for many hours.

Anyway, it is not possible to try everything so you have to take some difficult choices. I started with some local cured meat, went on with some seafood and finished with some traditional Norwegian Christmas food; Pinnekjøtt (google it if you want to find out more) which is basically smoked meat of sheep. But I did not try the smoked sheep head this year.

I finished with some dessert but did not manage a lot of it, hence just a small portion of caramel pudding.

I had many different drinks along with the food, started with a Ægir beer, type Rallar, than had some really good white wine, then some good red wine and finished with more Rallar beer and a couple of glasses of aquavit; type Bergen Aquavit.

The party went on for many hours and my favourite beer is now officially the Ægir Rallar beer, period.

After a good night of sleep it was time for breakfast at 9 am. Breakfast is good as well and you have this wonderful view from the table which makes it a nicer experience than the one you normally have in hotels while having breakfast.

We went back to Bergen by train in the afternoon.

Conclusion; The food, the beer! And the service at Vatnahalsen is second to none. I have stayed in about 25 different hotels in 2013 and I would choose a breakaway at Vatnahalsen prior to all the other hotels even though many of them have given me nice experiences as well.

In addition to the fantastic food and services you are, as a bonus, given the most amazing nature surrounding the hotel. Take some time for a little hike on the Rallarveien or elsewhere and enjoy the fresh air and the nice views. It is like nature’s own medicine.

Would I like to recommend this place? YES!
Will I come back and stay here again? MOST DEFINITELY!

Room Tip: Take a hike in the mountains
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The room was smallish with 2 single beds and no option of moving them together. But it was scrupulously clean and the food (dinner, breakfast and packed lunch) was wonderful. So were the common rooms. And the surroundings are exceptional. We'll visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferdir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

After traveling on the Flam-to-Myrdal Train, we ate lunch at this wonderful hotel. They served traditional Norwegian food, which was very tasty. The staff were friendly and spoke English. Be sure to walk down the street to look at the ancient wooden church. Very picturesque!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MusicCityHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our experience at the Vatnahalsen Hotel was similar to staying with family. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The meals were home cooked and delicious. We were there 3 nights and would only suggest more variety in the desserts offered. The rooms were very basic but comfortable and clean. The hiking and biking in the area was spectacular. The hotel arranged for our bike rental and we rode the most beautiful 20 km down into Flam and returned by train - a ride we will never forget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms was nice (but the bed was a bit too soft for my liking), the weather was fantastic, and I had a great time hiking in the mountains and by the lakes. The dinner was alright, but considering that they were cooking for 5 people only, I was happy. A light sandwich and beer for lunch was nice, sitting outside on the patio. Tea, coffee and cakes at the lounge were a nice touch, and the common areas were comfortable and cosy. Overall, wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I like it very much. People are very friendly and dinner buffet is very reasonable priced, although the price for us is 295 instead of 220. Very quiet and beautiful place and very nice hiking rout. The rooms are simple but very cozy.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jiajia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrdal
8.3 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
8.2 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
837 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Finse 1222
Hotel Finse 1222
#1 of 1 in Finse
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#7 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
158 reviews
13.6 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
241 reviews
23.0 mi away
Myrkdalen Hotel
Myrkdalen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vossestrand
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell

Address: Vatnahalsen, Myrdal 5718, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Myrdal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Myrdal
Price Range: £130 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you on the lookout for a recreational place in the mountains? Then you are welcome to visit us here at Vatnahalsen Høyfjellshotell, 820 metres above sea level. We are doing our outmost to ensure you will have only the best experiences during your stay here with us. Vatnahalsen is a family owned and run hotel; the Aksnes family have more than 25 years experinece in running the hotel at the top of the Flam Railway. We have created a relaxing and pleasant atmosphere. Everyone is welcome as they are, no matter if you come in your biking shorts or your best suit, you’re still welcome. Here you can feel as if you’re at home, and we very much hope you do so. You will always be greeted with a smile from the hosts and staff, and they may tell a story or two…Welcome to Vatnahalsen – your mountain retreat – all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell Hotel Myrdal
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell Norway/Myrdal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing