We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty site but details let this hotel down”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Flamsbrygga Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamsbrygga Hotell
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Pretty site but details let this hotel down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed late May, top floor room at back - stunning views over Fjord - mostly lost next morning as a 3k passenger Cruise ship had berthed overnight. Saw some fellow guests two days later in Bergen and they said another 3k cruise ship had docked alongside the one already there when we left, and another had also anchored out in the Fjord - and Flam was so packed you got jostled along in the direction the crowd were going. Be warned and go early in the season!
This is a wooden chalet hotel, so absolutely no soundproofing and we were unlucky enough to have a selfish and thoughtless Indian family group using some of the rooms next to and along from us. At least they shut up from 10.30pm until 6am.............
Tea tray in room, just soap in the bathroom. Just coat hooks and one baggage shelf for storage. Breakfast in building just outside; when we were there nothing was being topped up or refreshed. We went down late (tired!) and had much less choice and had to ask for cutlery. At check out I mentioned that housekeeping must have clearly seen the (blood?) stain on my mattress protector which I had had to turn around - not spotting it until I went to bed. Check out is 12 midday, but when we advised housekeeping that we would be using our room until then, to say they were annoyed with us would be an understatement. Reception however were fine with this.
Had wonderful evening meal at the adjoining Viking pub/brewery. They had a group in doing the tasting option from the menu - and it was deafening because of all the hard wood surfaces. But it is a fantastically designed building and worth seeing. Even though I use crutches it seemed food was only to be served upstairs - with no lift. On arrival upstairs our waitress could not have been less welcoming - indeed the chaps that came up behind us left after she seated them - it was such an unpleasant 'welcome' However, once we'd ordered, she became very friendly. Weird! Large tables are set for groups - so pairs have to share, without asking you. The venison burger and 'Seven daughters of Aegis' fruit dessert were worth putting up with this strange arrangement. The local beer we had was wonderful.
On balance I would check out the other hotel at the rear of the village - it is in a much pleasanter site and worth seeing if it has better soundproofing and services?
The local store has a good selection for its size, but does not do sandwiches or lunches of any sort. There are a couple of small cafes as well as the pub, and the hotel breakfast area becomes a restaurant for lunch and dinner. There are a couple of gift shops (check carefully - you will see most of the 'local' clothing does not actually state where it is made - and we found prices were cheaper in Bergen and even Oslo). The railway museum is free but not very well set up - minimal information, but has a gift shop selling a nice range of souvenirs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were being kept up from noice next door and inconsiderate other guests at the hotell. To this my only comment is that you should have called our front desk and they would have asked the people making noice to quiet down.

Regarding the cruise ships - it is not much we can do about this - it is outside of our controll. Some people love these ships and find them facinating - other people like yourself are not so very happy about them being parked next to the hotell. I am sure you understand that as a hotel owner there is not much I can do about the ships. Sorry!

However, you did not mention in your review that you got the option to change rooms facing the other direction from the cruise ship and that you took this option to move.
Again there are things we can influence and there are things we cannot. Housekeeping not being happy about your late check out - we can do something about - blood stain on the top mattrass protector - we can do something about, inpolite servers - we can do something about, breakfast not being topped off and refreshed right before closing time - we can do something about - so thank you for letting us know and for making us better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    240
    65
    10
    5
See reviews for
129
318
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coleman, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were there in mid May. My brother had booked the room. They stayed next door. Clean and very nice. It is close to the fjord cruise which we did in the morning and did the train trip in the late afternoon. By then most of the cruise folks had gone back on board. The cruise ships are enormous and show up early in the morning.

Room Tip: We had rooms facing away from the cruise ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanniCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotell! It is wonderful to hear that you had a great time - tha tis what Flam is all about - to be this one unique place that gives our guest a great time.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We just completed a wonderful tour of Norway, staying in 3 hotels, The Thief in Oslo, Clarion Collection 13 in Bergen and the Flamsbrygga in Flam. We were traveling with our 21 year old daughter who has a medical condition so when we booked our hotels we made sure to confirm that we could have connecting/adjoining rooms NOT just rooms next to one another. The Flamsbrygga confirmed that our rooms would connect, however we arrived to find out they do not actually have any connecting rooms. Strike 1. Then we kept having trouble with our key and since there is no information sheet in the hotel rooms to let you know how to reach anyone on the property every time we could not get in the room required a physical trip down to the front desk. As if that was not bad enough we had to deal with rude staffers who implied that it was our fault. The rooms were very sparse with no amenities and the only soap in the room came from a wall dispenser. Add to this the fact that the hotel is just steps away from the dock where the cruise ships dock so if your room faces the fjord it also faces the ship and all its noises. The only positive was the brewery next door that had some very tasty and inventive cuisine. The vension burger was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keytoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to start to say how sorry I am to hear about your experience at our hotel! We are a small hotell that is family run/owned and very much dependent upon our guests having a wonderful experience at our facilities. Your description about your experiences makes me think that it is surely NOT our hotell that has been desribed here nor or how we treat our guests, so I have a hard time understanding what went wrong.

I have talked to our booking and found that your booking of the room was done through a tour operator and I believe the mistake about the adjoining room has its roots from some misunderstanding between the operator and our booking. The fact is we have NEVER had any ajoining rooms at our facilities, so it is strange that our booking would say yes to your request for adjoining room. It might be some language or intrepetation misunderstanding - well, I don't know. - Lost in translation....
However, if the staff at the front desk was not very helpful with your other requests, it is not acceptable and we will take responsibility for that - and once again we are sorry you had such perception. We love our guests, we love meeting our guests, we love helping our guests - our guests are number one!
Thank you for making us better!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of our tour group. The rooms are rustic and charming. We faced the water and enjoyed the view of the ships coming and going. Breakfast was very good and the beer at the brewery was Excellent! I highly recommend the hotel and the beer!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hotzhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you, thank you - you made my day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My first trip to Norway began in Bergen where I stayed with family. The Bergen family traveled with us to Flam and stayed with us at the Flamsbrygga hotel. They and I found it to be a delightful place. The Bergen family said this place made them feel truly proud to be Norwegians!!! We all enjoyed the great Viking dinner and beer at the brewery. The view from the rooms is fantastik!!
I will be back again and will bring more friends! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna32034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

You made my day! In our business- happiness is having happy guests! You and your friends are welcome back any time!
Thank you for your positive words:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leesburg, fl
Level Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a small yet immaculate and charming hotel at the shores of the fjords and valley of mountains. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and modern. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was good. Our room came with a dinner and I wasn't so impressed with that, it was a set menu and the food was very "fancy" and saucy, not the local kind of food I was expecting...There is a pub next door that is amazing and cozy, I enjoyed a beer flight.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the mountains because if there is a cruise ship on the other side that is all you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach_mom_leesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your review and tips to other guests about what rooms to book if you don't want to risk having a view of a cruise ship part of the day. The ships are not here every day, but quite frequently in the summer.
We are happy to hear you liked the food at our brewpub and that you enjoyed our beer. We are quite proud of our award winning beer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We got in from Oslo by Norway in nut shell trip. The fjord facing room was excellent. The view is very good. The rooms are very nice with balcony that invites you to sit out to sip a cup of tea and read a book. Flam is place where pure vegetarian may find things difficult but the chef at restaurant rustled up and gave us good food which was not in the menu! Do not forget to have beer at local pub which brews the beer in the place.

Room Tip: Do not opt for front facing room the view gets blocked by the giant cruise ships that dock right in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakul_shroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you enjoyed our property and had a good time. Thank you for your advise to the other guests regarding the ships. It is very important that our guests get the information before they come here to stay. Obviously you are a traveller that do proper research!
Thank you - you made my day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#6 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
8.3 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamsbrygga Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamsbrygga Hotell

Property: Flamsbrygga Hotell
Address: Pb. 44, Flam 5742, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamsbrygga Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Flamsbrygga Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamsbrygga Hotell Hotel Aurland Municipality
Flamsbrygga Hotell Flåm
Flamsbrygga Hotell Hotel Flåm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing