We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flam Marina & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flam Marina & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We came only for the showers and wifi and were greeted by a charming Swedish lady who kindly admitted us to the showers and even gave us a bit of soap. We were probably really dirty and shabby after a night in the mountains, but we welcomed in a kind and cordial way. The wifi worked great, but it was a bit sad that the beer selection did not include Ægir...But that's too much to ask! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marija C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    64
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I took my visiting friends from UK to see "Norway in a nutshell" and we stayed overnight in this self-catering apartment to have a rest from the long winding scenic, fantastic views along the way. The apartment is clean, very quiet with a porch at the back of the apartment built in the water itself. Kitchen is well equipped although sadly the microwave was not working and the staff at the reception is gone for the day. We informed that we will check out at 0900 hrs next day and we were told to just leave the apartment keys on the table inside the apartment when there is no one in the reception. The area is safe, very peaceful and there's a restaurant and hotels around to eat if need be. I will go back to this apartment again but for longer days to enjoy the view at the back balcony!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here in a very cold week in March, and even though it was the off-season, had a lovely stay. The view is to die for and I guess the perk to an end of winter stay is the fact that you basically have the whole place to yourselves!!! As mentioned in some other reviews, there was no restaurant, however, the supermarket is only about a 10 minute walk away and has everything you need to have a home cooked meal and a cosy night in. The apartment is really clean and comfortable and again, is all about the magnificent view x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzie-errol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The view from our apartment was absolutely amazing I understand why this is the selling point of this property. The apartment was clean and the beds were comfortable. As we came in winter the restaurant wasn't open which was fine, they did offer us frozen pizza to cook in the room however I am glad we declined as when we went to the small supermarket in town they were selling the same pizzas for 1/2 of the cost. The one down side was the bedroom didn't have any electrical outlets and also didn't have a radiator, they provided a portable heater but without anywhere to plug it in we had to have it in the lounge area and point it down the corridor towards the room which wasn't ideal. Overall this was an average apartment with an AMAZING view.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky001245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

It looks like all the apartments in this property face the beautiful fjord, a calm body of blue water. I have attached here a photo of this magnificent view of water flanked by mountains on both sides. This photo was taken from our apartment's balcony. As it was winter (we were there for one night, Dec 12), everything seemed to be in blue, white and grey. The whole scene was very calming for all of us. We certainly enjoyed the freezing cold and the snow. We don't have them back home in Singapore.

We came to this beautiful place, as part of the "Norway in a Nutshell" package. We had an apartment with 2 separate bedrooms for 4 adults/2 couples. Very cozy place indeed. The whole apartment was very clean. Beds/pillows were clean and comfortable (I guess when you are very tired after a long walk in the snow, any bed will be comfortable). Everywhere outside, except for the roads, was covered with ankle-deep snow. It was very cold (-5 deg C or lower) for us but we were well prepared for it. However, within the apartment, it was warm and cozy, and the bathroom's floor was heated - really wonderful when one is taking a shower.

It had a well-equipped kitchen, where we could cook our meals, and a small dining area for us to enjoy our meals, drinks, chat and at the same to feast our eyes on the beautiful views outside.

There is one slight flaw in this otherwise very beautiful place and that is you have to walk for about 500 m from the train station to this lovely apartment. Walking in the freezing cold with luggage and backpacks on a little uphill road with sides mostly covered with thick snow and some other areas covered with hardened ice which can cause bodily injuries if you are not careful. After enjoying the cozy apartment and enjoying the stunning from your balcony or dining area for x day(s), you have to again walk that same 500 m with all your bags back to the train station or to the nearby pier if you are taking a boat out, like we did on our way to Bergen. Anyway, walking is a very good exercise. We totally enjoyed the walk.

By the way, our apartment had free Wifi and a TV. The reception is located in the restaurant. The staff manning the reception was a very sweet young lady. We didn't try the foods there though. We prepared all our meals in the apartment. Here is a tip. When you arrive at the station and before going up to the apartment, suggest you visit the nearby supermarket and shops first. You probably need some stuff for your meals or drinks or for some personal needs.

Overall, I find Flam Marina & Apartments a truly wonderful place to relax and to enjoy mother nature. Cozy and warm within apartment with stunning views outside. Despite the very cold condition, it was a very nice feeling walking outside. It was so peaceful, so quiet and any place we saw or looked was really a postcard view - absolutely stunning!

Room Tip: None. Every room seems to face the same direction - the beautiful pool of water called Fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hongchep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Love this place!!

My husband and I booked the 'Norway in a Nutshell Tour'. Most people do this self guided tour in a day, but we opted to do it over three days. So for our first night, we booked this place. The tour got into Flam at about 1pm. We walked with our bags to the hotel with no worries (we're on a 7 month holiday, so they're not small bags!). The station is on the port, as is the apartments, it was a flat 6 minute walk along the deck running along the water to the apartment. The deck was slightly slippery, so take care, but nothing to be worried about, it was fine and today was quite wet. It's a beautiful walk!!

The reception is in the restaurant and the lady who gave us our keys and information, was lovely. The restaurant looked fantastic too with reasonable prices (surprising for Norway!).

The apartment itself has the most stunning view. The balcony looks over to town, down the fjord and snow capped mountains. (Im pretty sure all of the apartments have a view and balcony). It's so peaceful!

The apartment is simple, but still very comfortable, cozy and quite charming. It's very clean with heated floating floorboards, a small lounge area, timber dining table with four chairs which overlooks the balcony and beautiful views, nice soft lighting with a kitchenette, two basic bedrooms and a basic bathroom.

I had read the reviews of this place before we arrived and expected something below average, (it was in a great location and a great price, so we booked it regardless of the reviews. When we arrived, it made me so sad that people were so negative about this place. What has society become when we are so picky over the smallest thing like having to put a sheet on your bed, finding a used stocking in the bin or having to walk 5 minutes to get to this place? - possibly the most scenic and beautiful 5 minutes of your life. I can only shake my head.

This place is so lovely!!

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms have a balcony and view. There are two floors, so if you are worried ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayski_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

It was raining when we reached Flam. Therefore, although the apartment is not far from the train station, it felt very far for us especially when we need to make two trips to get all our luggage to the apartment.

There are two lanes from the carpark (between the train station and the museum) to the apartment. One is the asphalt road which will lead you to the upper floor of the apartment (i.e. uphill but easier to drag the luggage) and the other is formed with wooden plank which is a very nice walk except for the gravel road of about 30-40m nearer to the apartment makes it real difficult to move your luggage. The wooden plank way leads you to the lower floor of the apartment.

Check in is at the counter in the restaurant on the lower floor (facing the apartment's car park) and we were given rooms on the upper floor. No shelter between check-in counter and the rooms...

There are two small bedrooms in the apartment. The bathroom floor is heated. And they had a shower cubicle in the bathroom so that helps to prevent the water from wetting the bathroom floor. The previous tenant may have accidentally knocked the cubicle's door off and the staff may not be aware and didn't put it back. Luckily, it is not that difficult. The kitchen has everything you need to cook a simple meal. The apartment apparently only has one hairdryer for all its guest so if you manage to secure it, congratulations.

It is a self-service apartment, i.e. you need to clean up the room yourself (except for the towels and the bed sheets). Staff may not have diligently checked if the room has been clean and all trashes are taken out as we saw a used stocking under the table.

For cleaning of utensils and dishes, we have to thank one of the previous tenants who left the detergent in the sink. Otherwise, we would need to pay NOK200 for dish washing services (according to the very badly translated notice on the wall next to the sink)...

There is not enough powerpoint in the room. The living room's powerpoints have been used for the standing lamp and the heater so we had to charge our handphones with the powerpoint at the entrance.

When we left at 9 am for a booked excursion the next day, the counter was not opened for checked out. Our excursion ended around 10+11 and dropped us at the train station, and we had to go back to the apartment to check out, then quickly get back to the train station for the 11:30 train. Didn't get the chance to visit the museum...

But the view is fantastic and there is no need for a lift to move the luggage up and down the floors.
That seals the deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simply1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.3 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#6 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flam Marina & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flam Marina & Apartments

Property: Flam Marina & Apartments
Address: | PB 48, Flam 5742, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Flam Marina & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flam Marina And Apartments
Flam Marina & Apartments Hotel Flam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing