We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't leave the balcony - Amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flam Marina & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived in Flam about 45 minutes before we had to head to the beach for kayaking. We quickly walked from the train station to the apartments to check in. Check in was smooth (luckily since we only had a few minutes!) and we were able to make it back to our kayaking on time.

When we got back from kayaking we were exhausted (and starving) so we went back to the cafe at the bottom of the apartments and got a pizza to take back to our room (it was delicious). We ate dinner on the balcony and didn't leave that spot until it was time to go to bed. The view is INCREDIBLE. We then woke up the next morning and just sat on the balcony and enjoyed the view pretty much until check out time.

As others have said, the apartment is very basic. I expected that, but I did not expect to not even have any instant coffee or tea packets (I would have even paid for these from the cafe!). I was extremely disappointed that we had this awesome view and no coffee to drink on the balcony in the morning! When I asked the employees at the cafe the prior evening where I could get coffee in the morning they weren't really sure what to say. I ended up walking over to the Fretheim Hotel's lobby bar (since they actually open before 10am for breakfast) to get some coffee and brought it back to my room to drink on our balcony the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

A self catering accomodation, a bit strange because it is surely on the best location in Flam and could be managed with some additional effort as an hotel. Just to say that the extraordinary coffee shop on a terrace directly on the water offers lunch and dinner service but not breakfast till 10:00. There are few rooms, mostly small apartments in a wooden white structure on the fjord.
Only for scenario and atmosphere this place worths the visit. Rooms are simple and very clean, but each of them has a balcony directly on the fjord. An heaven at an affordable price, surely not in the norvegian mood.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The apartments are basic and not serviced, but clean and modern. As others have noted, no hair dryer or tissues, but what the heck. Unlike most accommodation in Flåm, you are unaffected by the crowds coming off the cruise ships, train, ferries and buses. In particular, although some very large cruise ships stop in Flåm, you barely notice them from these apartments.

We rented a boat from the marina (NOK 550 for an hour) to tour the fjord. We found the staff in the restaurant (who look after the apartment tenants) a bit slow, as they fit you in around others' meal & drink orders - that included checking in. We didn't eat here, but only because of the usual steep prices - the food looked good enough. The kitchen is well enough equipped to enjoy your own cooking.

The apartments look like they are wood construction, but in fact it's just cladding over concrete slabs. This is a good thing as the soundproofing is excellent when all doors and windows have been shut.

The view down the fjord is picture-postcard, and we saw seals near the marina every day.

All in all, Flåm and these apartments are thoroughly recommended as a place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed with our two kids for 4 nights, we had planned to move on but this so perfect for us we decided to extend our stay. The apartments are small and decor is basic but it had everything we needed and a the view form the balcony is amazing. Note that Flam is visited several days a week by giant cruise ships that rather block the view and bring hundreds of tourists into town by day, but by evening they were gone and seals and porpoises were visible from the balcony. The food at the cafe on the ground floor is OK but for a drink in the evening or a coffee its great and the staff were tremendously friendly and helpful. If you want self-catering in the heart of the fjords this is a great option and with a car there's plenty to see and do. Would wholeheartedly recommend it and we will return. Check out the local micro-brewery if you like beer!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusteeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Flam Marina and Apartments for one night in late May (2013) during our "Norway in a Nutshell" itinerary. While both Fretheim Hotel and Flåmsbrygga Hotel did not have any availability during our stay, the Norway In a Nutshell site only gave us the option of Heimly Pensjonat. After reading all of the reviews on TA, we decided to book Flam Marina and Apartment separately via Booking.com.

The hotel is a short walk from the train station (450ft, quarter mile). It has a perfect view of the Fjord. Every room faces the water front, so I don't think you can get a bad room. Simply by location, I am convinced that the view we got from this hotel is far better than any rooms in Fretheim Hotel and Flåmsbrygga Hotel.

We stayed at apartment #8, first floor, center unit. Our unit had two bedrooms - one with double bed, and another with a bunk bed. The rooms are basic. The unit was equipped with a full kitchen - a refrigerator with freezer, a microwave, and 4-electric burners with an oven. Free wifi and worked well. A good sized flat panel TV with CNN.

We purchased groceries from the nearby super market (Coop) behind the train station and enjoyed all of our meals at home with the gorgeous view. It was a perfectly relaxing. Very lovely.

The unit did not provide shampoo and conditioner, and the provided soap was also tiny. No facial tissue (Kleenex) and no hair dryer. So make sure you bring your own! Also, the sheets for the bedding were provided but not made; we had to put it on ourselves which wasn't a big issue.

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Flam Marina and Apartments!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We came only for the showers and wifi and were greeted by a charming Swedish lady who kindly admitted us to the showers and even gave us a bit of soap. We were probably really dirty and shabby after a night in the mountains, but we welcomed in a kind and cordial way. The wifi worked great, but it was a bit sad that the beer selection did not include Ægir...But that's too much to ask! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marija C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I took my visiting friends from UK to see "Norway in a nutshell" and we stayed overnight in this self-catering apartment to have a rest from the long winding scenic, fantastic views along the way. The apartment is clean, very quiet with a porch at the back of the apartment built in the water itself. Kitchen is well equipped although sadly the microwave was not working and the staff at the reception is gone for the day. We informed that we will check out at 0900 hrs next day and we were told to just leave the apartment keys on the table inside the apartment when there is no one in the reception. The area is safe, very peaceful and there's a restaurant and hotels around to eat if need be. I will go back to this apartment again but for longer days to enjoy the view at the back balcony!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyrnaP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.1 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
246 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
205 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#7 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flam Marina & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flam Marina & Apartments

Address: | Pb 48, Flam 5742, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Flam
Price Range: £118 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Flam Marina & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flam Marina And Apartments
Flam Marina & Apartments Hotel Flam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing