We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flam Marina & Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Furukroa(Oslo)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vangsgaarden(Aurland Municipality)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurland Fjordhotel(Aurland Municipality)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stalheim Hotel(Stalheim)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
107
70
23
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
70
23
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat viewbest view in townthe kitchenbedroom apartmenttrain stationone nightmain townan affordable pricethe cafe downstairsa short minute walkbeautiful placeprivate balconylounge roomnice deckfjord countryrooms are basicfjord view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived in Flam about 45 minutes before we had to head to the beach for kayaking. We quickly walked from the train station to the apartments to check in. Check in was smooth (luckily since we only had a few minutes!) and we were able to make it back to our kayaking on time.

When we got back from kayaking we were exhausted (and starving) so we went back to the cafe at the bottom of the apartments and got a pizza to take back to our room (it was delicious). We ate dinner on the balcony and didn't leave that spot until it was time to go to bed. The view is INCREDIBLE. We then woke up the next morning and just sat on the balcony and enjoyed the view pretty much until check out time.

As others have said, the apartment is very basic. I expected that, but I did not expect to not even have any instant coffee or tea packets (I would have even paid for these from the cafe!). I was extremely disappointed that we had this awesome view and no coffee to drink on the balcony in the morning! When I asked the employees at the cafe the prior evening where I could get coffee in the morning they weren't really sure what to say. I ended up walking over to the Fretheim Hotel's lobby bar (since they actually open before 10am for breakfast) to get some coffee and brought it back to my room to drink on our balcony the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A self catering accomodation, a bit strange because it is surely on the best location in Flam and could be managed with some additional effort as an hotel. Just to say that the extraordinary coffee shop on a terrace directly on the water offers lunch and dinner service but not breakfast till 10:00. There are few rooms, mostly small apartments in a wooden white structure on the fjord.
Only for scenario and atmosphere this place worths the visit. Rooms are simple and very clean, but each of them has a balcony directly on the fjord. An heaven at an affordable price, surely not in the norvegian mood.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The apartments are basic and not serviced, but clean and modern. As others have noted, no hair dryer or tissues, but what the heck. Unlike most accommodation in Flåm, you are unaffected by the crowds coming off the cruise ships, train, ferries and buses. In particular, although some very large cruise ships stop in Flåm, you barely notice them from these apartments.

We rented a boat from the marina (NOK 550 for an hour) to tour the fjord. We found the staff in the restaurant (who look after the apartment tenants) a bit slow, as they fit you in around others' meal & drink orders - that included checking in. We didn't eat here, but only because of the usual steep prices - the food looked good enough. The kitchen is well enough equipped to enjoy your own cooking.

The apartments look like they are wood construction, but in fact it's just cladding over concrete slabs. This is a good thing as the soundproofing is excellent when all doors and windows have been shut.

The view down the fjord is picture-postcard, and we saw seals near the marina every day.

All in all, Flåm and these apartments are thoroughly recommended as a place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed with our two kids for 4 nights, we had planned to move on but this so perfect for us we decided to extend our stay. The apartments are small and decor is basic but it had everything we needed and a the view form the balcony is amazing. Note that Flam is visited several days a week by giant cruise ships that rather block the view and bring hundreds of tourists into town by day, but by evening they were gone and seals and porpoises were visible from the balcony. The food at the cafe on the ground floor is OK but for a drink in the evening or a coffee its great and the staff were tremendously friendly and helpful. If you want self-catering in the heart of the fjords this is a great option and with a car there's plenty to see and do. Would wholeheartedly recommend it and we will return. Check out the local micro-brewery if you like beer!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusteeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Flam Marina and Apartments for one night in late May (2013) during our "Norway in a Nutshell" itinerary. While both Fretheim Hotel and Flåmsbrygga Hotel did not have any availability during our stay, the Norway In a Nutshell site only gave us the option of Heimly Pensjonat. After reading all of the reviews on TA, we decided to book Flam Marina and Apartment separately via Booking.com.

The hotel is a short walk from the train station (450ft, quarter mile). It has a perfect view of the Fjord. Every room faces the water front, so I don't think you can get a bad room. Simply by location, I am convinced that the view we got from this hotel is far better than any rooms in Fretheim Hotel and Flåmsbrygga Hotel.

We stayed at apartment #8, first floor, center unit. Our unit had two bedrooms - one with double bed, and another with a bunk bed. The rooms are basic. The unit was equipped with a full kitchen - a refrigerator with freezer, a microwave, and 4-electric burners with an oven. Free wifi and worked well. A good sized flat panel TV with CNN.

We purchased groceries from the nearby super market (Coop) behind the train station and enjoyed all of our meals at home with the gorgeous view. It was a perfectly relaxing. Very lovely.

The unit did not provide shampoo and conditioner, and the provided soap was also tiny. No facial tissue (Kleenex) and no hair dryer. So make sure you bring your own! Also, the sheets for the bedding were provided but not made; we had to put it on ourselves which wasn't a big issue.

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Flam Marina and Apartments!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews