We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flam Marina & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“It's all about the view”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A few years back we stayed at "The View" Monument Valley, Arizona, USA. I remember thinking "we will never again find a hotel room with such a superb view", well he have, and this is it.
OK, don't think of it as a hotel, think of it as an apartment. There are two bedrooms, both doubles although one is quite small and a large lounge with kitchen area with four ring cooker, microwave and fridge/freezer, plenty of pots and pans. The lounge leads to your balcony with its view out along the fjord. There is a reasonably well-stocked grocery shop in the village which stayed open to 8pm. Plenty of car parking available alongside the apartments. A good wi-fi connection is included in the price of the room.
So what are the downsides? Well if you are expecting a full-service hotel you will be disappointed. The room was clean and spotless, but for example you have to put the duvet cover on the duvet and make the bed yourself. There is no dishwasher so you have to wash up by hand. If you are staying more than one night no one comes in to service the room. For us these did not present a problem, but you need to be aware before booking.

On arrival go to the adjoining cafe which serves as a reception where (hopefully) like us you will receive a warm welcome. It is open from 11am and you can eat dinner there if you don't want to cook for yourself.

Flam itself is a tiny village with its famous railway and a great pub, but be aware it is a destination for cruise ships and when they arrive the village can get very busy for a while.
We spent a total of three nights in the apartments and we were well pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: We preferred the upper deck to the lower deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    65
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a 2-bedroom self catering apartment for one night simply because there was nothing much else available in Flam for the one night we were staying. These apartments were a find ! They are about a 4 minute walk from the main area of Flam, which is a distinct advantage. The view is second to none, with each apartment having a balcony right on the fjord front. The apartment was clean, well equipped, and we had no complaints whatsoever. The staff were exceptionally friendly and we had a really good meal in the restaurant that night, too. Thoroughly recommend this place if you are staying overnight in Flam and want to be by the fjord. Just remember that a large cruise ship is likely to be moored in the fjord through the day but this place gives you a view without the ship right bang in front of you !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Beware! Flam feels like a very touristy town! The scenic railway comes down several times a day, and it's typical for large cruise ships to be docked at the harbor, overpowering the small wharf. In fact, the actual town is up the road a few kilometers, so the wharf surroundings are purely tourism-based.

That being said, Flam is also beautiful! There are a good number of hikes that originate here, plus kayaking opportunities. And if you choose to stay here, Flam Marina is a great option. Along with Heimly Pensjonat, it is probably the best view in town, looking right down the fjord! It is a short walk away from the immediate center, so you will avoid some of the cruise crowd and the tourists making their beeline from the train to the boat. Also, it allows for self-catering (and there's a supermarket in town). Rooms are spacious, and have a great deck!

If you are wanting a quiet experience, take the public bus 10 km away to Aurland, but if you want to break up a long day of travel, or do a kayaking trip or local hike, Flam Marina is a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wheninr0am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed there one night visiting Flam. We loved the view from the balcony. Apartment is situated just by the fiord with all the rooms overlooking the Sognefiord..Well equipped kitchen and in general guite spacious. We were a group of 4 friends, so the second bedroom was a little too tiny- more for kids than for an adult couple and I had to take an upper bed. It was not a big deal as the place is very nice and a short walking distance to the Marina. Good value for money. There is a pizzeria in the same building so you do not need to cook but I do not know whether they serve breakfasts. There is no meal option with an apartment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarzyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley City, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I got a great winter rate here and had my best experience of Norway here. Full sized fridge, nice little kitchenette, modern bathroom, awesome little balcony, two bedrooms enough space for six people easily. The master bedroom is small but you are just sleeping there, right? The proprietor is very nice and there is a laundry room, but foreigners might want to ask for a tutorial on the machines, they are a little confusing for non-native speakers. Beautiful place to make your own breakfast and sit on the balcony. There is a great grocery store in Flaam, a ten minute walk from this apartment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkhangelsk, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for just one day, but that was one of my best experiences ever!! Beautiful location, friendly staff, comfortable apartments and marvellous atmosphere, I absolutely loved the place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Olly1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The apartments are well equipped (apart from a tin opener !) Underfloor heating, large balcony,
good shower. There is a small cafe/restaurant if you do not want to cook. Comfortable & clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Quiet location if you want to relax. Plenty of walks during the day . We went in January which was low season, I understand that it gets very crowded during the Summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binthardonnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.1 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
230 reviews
9.5 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
67 reviews
14.9 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
361 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Finse 1222
Hotel Finse 1222
#1 of 1 in Finse
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flam Marina & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flam Marina & Apartments

Property: Flam Marina & Apartments
Address: | PB 48, Flam 5742, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Flam Marina & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flam Marina & Apartments Hotel Flam
Flam Marina And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing