We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
177 reviews
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Located on waters edge with beach
open plan living-dining room with beautiful views of the fjord and surrounding mountains
Great views from the cottage, rain, hail or shine.
Well equipped kitchen
Upstairs bedroom with king size 180cm bed
Ground floor bedroom with queen size 160cm double bed
Upstairs bedroom with two single 90cm beds
Bathroom, towels and clothes washing liquid supplied
Entrance hall
Kayaking on the fjord
Queen Mary 2 visiting Flåm
Boating on the fjord in summer
Ever-changing colours
Late autumn from the cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Flam, Aurland Municipality, Sogn og Fjordane, Western Norway

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 177 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lorotrala...
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here at cottage no.1 for 3 nights ( wished we had stayed longer) and we were amazed ! Nice clean cottages , well equiped , wood oven and a great view at the fijord . The owners are very friendly and welcoming . You just can stay here and enjoy the breathtaking view of the fijord , watch the cruise ships come and leave or even take a trip in the boat wich is free to use for every cottage . In the area around flam you can take a day trip to Stegastein view point ( higly recommended - if you aren' t affraid of hights ) or to Borgund Stave church or explore the fjiords around .
The house itself has everything you'll need , kitchen is better equiped than usually in vacation rentals . Bathroom is clean . Dishwasher , stove , woodoven , Weber kettle grill , small fishing equipment , fire wood provided , lifewests for boattrips and and and . Next stay in Norway will defently be here ! Thanks Sue,Anders and Torstein !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
All the very best,
Sue, Anders and Torstein
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FjordFan
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cabin with Amazing Views”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I stayed here two nights and loved it! The cabins are literally built on the water and have amazing views from all the windows in the living room & upstairs bedroom. Inside the decor is very rustic with lots of knotty pine and a wood-burning stove that we used both evenings. If you stay here, be sure to end each day just relaxing in the cabin-- simply get the stove burning, grab your favorite drink and take in the views. I'm so glad we stayed here rather than at one of the hotels in town.

The boat that comes with the rental was great as well. No need to splurge for one of the local kayaking excursions when you can go to all the same places with this boat. Plus you have more flexibility-- you can take the boat out as early or as late as you want, and stay out for as short or as long as you'd like.

Anders was extremely helpful and responsive the entire time, from when I first inquired about the property through check-out. I highly recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed you stay.We wish you all the very best and hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 May 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Sue and Anders
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lourdes C
Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage and wonderful view”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Anders met us on arrival and was very welcoming host. Amazing cottage with wonderful views, very relaxing. They literally hang right over the water of the fjord. You can enjoy breathtaking views right from the windows. Although, you can walk right over to everything in about 5 minutes if you want. There are only four cottages and they are privately located. The cottages are very well equipped and comfortable. They look like they are brand new - they are extremely well maintained. Beyond, within easy walking distance, are the many attractions of Flam, of which a half day kayaking,a day hiking in Flamsdalen and a Naeroyfjord cruise were our personal highlights.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
All the very best.
Sue and Anders
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect sanctuary in amongst the fjords”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The best few days of our trip in Norway, by far. The homes are wonderfully equipped and very relaxing. They are situated a perfect distance away from the port and tourists, so it felt like a proper escape. The nights are beautifully silent and we spent the days on the boat or exploring the area. Anders was very happy to help with any queries and personally showed us how to operate the boat. This is WELL worth it. An unforgettable three days in an idyllic part of the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish S
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stunning setting and a comfortable cottage. had a great time:)”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

the location is very good, the cottage is on the lake and sorrounded by mountains. every day we would wake up in the lap of nature. Flam railway station is few yards away and the restaurants and market is waling distance too. the cottage itself is extremely comfortable and all the needs are taken care off. Anders and Sue , the owners live close to the cottages and ready to help and drop by, if need be.
We had an amazing stay and would recommend this to other travelers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkriehl
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

These rental cottages are unbelievable! They literally hang right over the water of the fjord. This has got to be one of the iconic views of Norway! There are only four cottages and they are privately located away from all of the activity in busy, little Flam. Although, you can walk right over to everything in about 5 minutes if you want. And so much to do here! We had a hard time tearing ourselves away from the whole wall of glass looking out on the water. The cottages are very well equipped and comfortable. They look like they are brand new - they are extremely well maintained. You can tell there is lots of love behind this property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, delightful cottage!
Liked least: NOTHING to dislike!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing