We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flam Camping and Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommend.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent one night in the hostel. We booked room with bathroom. Everything was very clean and seemed to be renowated or maybe built in a recent time. Big common kitchen, equiped with everything you need. Friendly people. Wonderful landscapes and nature around :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ergopl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    130
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
80
135
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We had a cabin here for 2 nights which was really nice. Only disappointment was they were bunks (we were a couple). My fault though for not checking properly.
Hinders romancing a little!
A few minutes walk from the harbour. Very friendly and helpful people who run it.
Immaculately kept gardens and very clean everywhere including the toilets and shower blocks. I thought the 5min shower thing is a good idea and saves people wasting energy but my girlfriend disagreed but I get their idea for it.
Lovely sitting outside the cabin with kebab and vino. Some advice would be....take your shopping with you for self catering. The restaurants aren't that great and they charge a fortune (even by Norway's standards) and the supermarket charges crazy prices!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank graham07930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I organised one night here as part of a Norway in a Nutshell trip instead of the hotels offered through the trip, and I was really glad I did.
It's nice and near the station, though to be honest everything in Flam is near the station. I had accidentally booked myself into an individual room but they were happy to change me to a cheaper bunk room when I arrived. Sheets were included, which was great, and although my room was in a different building to the bathroom and shower facilities these were great. I didn't check out the kitchen but everyone else said it was great.

The room was clean and airy. A bit drafty when I stayed over Easter, so maybe a bit cold in winter! The only drawback was no wifi in the room, so I had to sit outside near the office to check my emails (who am I kidding? I was updating my facebook status.)

The staff were friendly and helpful, and though there were no safety deposit boxes I was able to leave my laptop with them while I went out walking.

Room Tip: There are lots of little bunk houses with rooms in. I was in one of the larger little wooden houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time hostal stay for us - what a pleasant surprise ! We stayed 2 nights, modern room with 2 bunk beds, our own, clean bathroom with shower. Extremely clean. Sheets included. Towels for rent - NOK 20. Several different types of accommodation in the camp. Large well equipped kitchen for all to use. Fantastic location, few minutes walk from port/bus. Market close by. Settled below waterfalls, incredible surroundings. Every night owners make BBQ to offer for buy and drinks. Very friendly service. Play area for children. Will come back !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Freindly welcome at reception. Stayed in what I assume was an annex to the hostel building. Spacious dorm with comfy bunks and bed linen provided. Well equiped kitchen/diner (big fridge!). Very clean and modern. Only downside was no common room / lounge. Showers (NOK 10) and toilets in seperate block - about 25m away. Beautiful location and very well looked after site (also does camping, caravans, huts etc etc). Dorms advertised as coed, but I stayed for 7 nights and it was all male. Well recomended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place is only about less than 10mins from the station/jetty. Receptionist is friendly and willingly to tell you where to hike if you are geared.

Actually, the centre so small that everything is within walking distant.

We chose a cabin for ourselves as we wanted privacy but not on the expensive side. Little cabins face the entire Flam with mountains and trees in a scenic view.

We cooked in our little cabin too though the washing area is in another "house" which makes it inconvenient as it was raining and cold. Otherwise, experience is fantastic.

You will wake up to a nice view of the entire Flam. Step out of your cabin and sit in the front yard with a hot cup of kaffe or tea and breakfast. Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We camped here early April and when we arrived the lady at reception was more than welcoming! Such a pleasant reception after a day of travelling and sightseeing!! The lady was extremely helpful and told us all the things we could do around Flåm, as well as giving us maps and directions of where to go so, much so that we stayed here 2 nights.
The atmosphere is so relaxed and a beautiful view of the mountains - it was also nice to have the owners in a less formal manner, in that if we needed anything we could have just knocked on her house door.

We had the campsite to ourselves, with newly refurbished, spotless toilets and showers which were a joy in the cold, early mornings! The owners have done the campsite beautifully and I even spied the owner working with some lambs beside the campsite.

Very close to the tiny village of Flåm which has a Coop and a train station, as well as boat tours along the fjord and a beautiful big waterfall if you want the hike. Also suggested was the lookout point you can drive to.

A good unexpected visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJ183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.3 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.1 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
747 reviews
9.1 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
213 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#6 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
141 reviews
4.0 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flam Camping and Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flam Camping and Youth Hostel

Property: Flam Camping and Youth Hostel
Address: Nedre Brekkevegen 12, Flam 5743, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget accommodation in the heart of Flam. Enjoy an informal and family friendly atmosphere in a green environment. 250 m from the train station, Ferry harbor and bus stop. Choose between hostel rooms, dorm beds, cabins and a high standard holiday home. Stay with your tent, camper or caravan on the spacious and well designed campsite. You are Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Flam Camping and Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing