We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fretheim Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

This was a return visit after an absence of 35 years. The hotel has grown, as has Flåm itself, but it is still the perfect location for railway, ferries, and views of the fjord and mountains. My room was pleasant, comfortable, and clean. The combined bath and shower felt rather unsafe, with high sides, no grab rails, and no anti-slip mat. Only soap was provided. Free WiFi worked well. The dining room served only buffet meals, the cold items were very good but of the hot dishes I enjoyed only the potato gratin. Service was polite but inevitably rather impersonal. Do not miss the amazing Flåm railway and the ferry to Gudvangen or Bergen.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanuk6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the railway station. the rooms are decent but not luxurious. The drawback its very expensive. And you a are forced to dine in as restaurants close by shut early. If you are staying just for one night I guess its ok. But for a longer stay you will find more value for money options a bit further away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybeex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Pros: very convenient location, helpful and friendly staff, nice building (inside and outside), comfortable room, useful maps available for hiking routes in different languages, balcony with great view, good breakfast (great selection of bread), lobby/restaurant with great view, nice garden, large number of rooms

Cons: a little pricey

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annjie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a wonderful old hotel in a stunning setting. We only stayed one night but could have stayed a week just for the breakfast buffet! Our room had a small balcony that looked out over the fjord. The room and bathroom were both clean and the reception staff welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Try and get room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Hotel spoiled by masses of tourists. "We try harder" is not about them. It is a pity such places are not used to their potential. Skip the night in Flam unless you have to. Try to make it in a day as there's nothing to do there overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel thought in a busy tourist area was a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the Flam area. Service was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We found the food very good and a good variety. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The Flam area offers much to enjoy the beauty of Norway and a nice stop off while doing the Norway in a Nutshell tour.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here during a 2 night stay in Flåm. The hotel is cozy with a beautiful, spacious lobby perfect for group meetings. There is a small shopping area adjacent to the hotel, including a Coop and visitor center. The fjord ferry terminal is across the street. The train also is nearby completing the “Norway in a Nutshell”. The grounds can be quite crowded during the day when the cruise ships are in port.

Check in was smooth. Staff was very helpful with stellar English. We stayed in room 221 which included a patio area and access to a walking trail. I did not hear either neighbor, the rooms were so quite. Our room was spacious with extra pillows and a coffee maker. Bathroom was well supplied. I was amazed at how fast hot water was made available, almost instantly. The bedding was very comfortable as well. Wi-Fi was great as well. We ate at the hotel’s restaurant for dinner one evening and found delicious choices including cider. The wait staff was awesome. The breakfast buffet was adequate with fruit, bacon, cereals, fresh breads, and “powdered” scrambled eggs.

Other than the eggs the only other downside is the temperature. I assume there is no AC. The room was hot. It was okay with the door open in daytime hours however at night being on the ground floor our only ventilation option was to open the patio door. Regardless, I would stay here again due to location, service, but would get a higher floor with balcony or wait until it is cooler.

Room Tip: Get a room above the bottom floor if during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkennedy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
4 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
205 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
237 reviews
14.6 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
375 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#7 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Hotel

Address: on Flam Waterfront, Mailbox 63, Flam 5743, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Price Range: £132 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fretheim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fretheim Hotel boasts mountain and fjord views and is somewhere you can look, taste, listen and absorb magnificent nature. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the Nærøyfjord UNESCO World Heritage site. This fjord has been chosen as one of the world’s most beautiful destinations several times running! The hotel was built in Swiss chalet style at the end of the 19th century, and over the years has grown and developed in pace with the increase in tourists and travellers using the Bergensbana railway and, later, the famous Flåmsbana railway. The oldest part of the hotel has been carefully restored to reveal beautiful details, with open fires and antique furniture in the lounges, library, conference room and, not least, in all the historical guest rooms. Take yourself on a journey of discovery and enjoy the atmosphere of glory days past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Fretheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fretheim Hotel Flåm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing