We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property, but no value for money”
Review of Fretheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fretheim Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great property, but no value for money”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Fretheim Hotel for 2 nights in July 2014. We booked the historic room overlooking the Flam railway station. The railway station is very pretty and goes quiet at around 9 pm. Historic room was quite pricey at $350 a night incl. breakfast. Rooms were small with pretty much no amenities. It was a hot afternoon and room had no fans or air conditioning. Further the rooms had no TV or mini bar or any coffee/tea maker. The bathroom was beautiful but only if you just take a photo! Having a shower in the bath tub without plenty of water getting into the dry area needs special practice! Hotel was quite stingy on toiletries. Rooms did not even have any moisturizer. We are vegetarians and struggled with the food as well, but, that is the same across Norway! Overall, I would not recommend staying at Flam. It's best to do day trips from Bergen or Myrdal.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on high floors overlooking the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafariLover94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    279
    108
    39
    21
See reviews for
160
341
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ronde, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Fretheim has a long history, back to the times when the only way you could get to Flåm was to sail. Today, you can get there by any means of transport, and busses, the train and the cruiseships load off thousands of passengers. So the hotel, extended several times in the course of its history, has changed as well. Still, I had hope for a stint of the glory that should come with such a historic hotel in such a beautiful setting.

There was no glory. Instead, there was a range of small deficiencies - the sloppy and temporary wiring of the flatscreen in the room, the smell in the lobby toilets, the first dinner course coming after wine, no service in the bar unless you alert at reception, always a piece of cutlery missing with every course we had. The staff is friendly and well intended, but is clearly on temporary positons and without formal training for the tasks they are supposed to perform..

I realize the constraints of modern day mass tourism. But in such a beautiful and historic place, I left with a depressing feeling of lost glory.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We arrived after a very long day's travelling and had a room on the ground floor of the new part. We had french doors and a little patio with chairs and a table in the garden , looking over to the fjord. It would have been perfect were it not for the huge cruise ship that was blocking our views. The evening buffet was fine but with a more limited choice than we had been used to. The location of this historic hotel was lovely, and we had a brief evening walk around the "town". Our modern room was fine and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.

I had been to Flam 30+ years earlier and there was virtually nothing (but the unextended hotel) there. I camped by the fjord and it was idyllic.I was a bit disappointed that it was now more commercial and it suffers ,like so many other places, from the curse of the cruise ships.

Room Tip: get a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussex_wanderers051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Il
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a ground floor room with a small patio in front. Patio had a small table and chairs that would have been nice to sit and enjoy the view. Unfortunately it was rainy. Beautiful location, however and great breakfast buffet. We also had the dinner buffet and there was a large selection.

Room Tip: It's a quiet area but rooms in the back would be quieter. Our room was in the front and we left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggerfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Single most expensive hotel I stayed in Norway. Nice rooms. However, I just really feel like it is over priced. I get it that it is right in Flam -- but in hind site -- I would have stayed somewhere else. Also -- I got a little annoyed when I found an extra charge on my credit card when I got home. Apparently they put a hold on my credit card when I checked in for abotu $80 US. I have yet to get them to remove it although they stated it should be removed. So -- I filed a dispute with the credit card company.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
383 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This well run hotel first catered to English Lords who came for the Salmon fishing. We had a lovely historic room with large claw foot tub. Unfortunately when you take a shower, the single shower curtain doesn’t wrap about the inside, thus water runs over the back side and then under the tub like a river. There is a square drain where the water is supposed to flow. It does and it also flows over much of the floor. TIP---ask for extra towels for floor mopping or perhaps to build your own dam to direct the water to that drain. There are no screens on the windows and that means if you open them for fresh air, you end up swatting flies. There is no clock in the room. The hotel is lovely to walk-about and make sure that you sign-up for their 6pm guided tour which included the old library. We signed up for the more expensive chef prepared to order “Evening Menu” instead of the buffet. This several course meal was a delight with the exception of the entrée. The thick Monkfish fillet was almost cold in its center as was the potato puree. We sent it back. The waitress reported that the chef had no more of the fillet and he reported to her that he has cooked it correctly…..cold fish center? She said he would prepare another entrée and he did. While waiting, we chatted and enjoyed the view overlooking the fjord. Next time, we will skip the chef’s menu which costs $90 per person, and go for the buffet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarJan6861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

One minute walk to the dock and train station, and older hotel which has been well maintained. Reasonable sized rooms for Europe, and tea/coffee making in room, hooray! Helpful friendly reception staff.
The dinner and breakfast buffet were only average. Kitchen unable to help with diet requests or to provide a substitute such as rice. Ground floor windows do not open and the room was amazingly hot and stuffy.
Otherwise very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floor with windows that open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
9.2 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#6 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
14.6 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Hotel

Property: Fretheim Hotel
Address: on Flam Waterfront, Mailbox 63, Flam 5743, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fretheim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fretheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fretheim Hotel Flåm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing