We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fretheim Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Furukroa(Oslo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vangsgaarden(Aurland Municipality)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurland Fjordhotel(Aurland Municipality)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stalheim Hotel(Stalheim)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oppheim Hotel & Resort(Voss Municipality)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
347
342
127
45
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
342
127
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelflam railwaybuffet dinnerlovely hotelnutshell tourthe ground floorjunior suitetour groupbuffet stylelovely viewan overnight stayhiking trailssouvenir shopsmany optionsstayed two nightssmall townenjoy the view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Nice overnight stay here at one of the most beautiful natural sites anywhere. Good and clean family room in the new section, double and bunkbeds. The lobby area is lovely. Very friendly staff; indeed, just before leaving and a while after settling the bill, I went for a 7 km run along the fjord, only flattish terrain around, and wow what a view. With earbuds blasting music, and after a couple of 100 meters, I got tapped on the shoulder by the somewhat out-of-breath receptionist, who told me they had found my wallet - she got well-deserved applause from onlookers. Thanks again.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Dinky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

With Flam being a tiny place full of tourists, we had low expectations of the hotel. Surprise! It was lovely! The staff were friendly, the place was large with huge windows to enjoy the breathtaking scenery. There are two sides to the hotel; the older, refurbished rooms and the newer rooms. We stayed in one of the older ones, and it was charming. It had all of the old world ambiance even in the bathroom with its up-to-date plumbing and heated floor. Except for a nice brunch with variety and good quality, we did not eat other meals at the hotel as it looked expensive and seemed unlikely to be worth it. One little gripe we found at another hotel, too: When they use these old-fashioned plastic room keys with the configuration of holes that open your door, they will only give one key, even when two or more people occupy it. They say it costs too much to replace the ones that get lost. Am I the only person to think of taking a hefty, refundable deposit for a second key so they can easily cover the cost of making a new one if necessary?? Ok, it’s just a little thing and otherwise, we had a wonderful stay there. They even allowed us to use the shower/bathroom in the sauna room for free after we checked out so we could freshen up after kayaking and hiking before traveling.

Room Tip: If you like charm, stay in the older section.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LFK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is wonderful looking out over the fjord. The staff was always helpful, and the ability to use the washer and dryer couldn't have been better timed. However, for the price the shower should not fluctuate between warm and cool water, and the beds should not sag. The breakfast was good but had better in Norway.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Fretheim Hotel for 2 nights in July 2014. We booked the historic room overlooking the Flam railway station. The railway station is very pretty and goes quiet at around 9 pm. Historic room was quite pricey at $350 a night incl. breakfast. Rooms were small with pretty much no amenities. It was a hot afternoon and room had no fans or air conditioning. Further the rooms had no TV or mini bar or any coffee/tea maker. The bathroom was beautiful but only if you just take a photo! Having a shower in the bath tub without plenty of water getting into the dry area needs special practice! Hotel was quite stingy on toiletries. Rooms did not even have any moisturizer. We are vegetarians and struggled with the food as well, but, that is the same across Norway! Overall, I would not recommend staying at Flam. It's best to do day trips from Bergen or Myrdal.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on high floors overlooking the station.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafariLover94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Fretheim has a long history, back to the times when the only way you could get to Flåm was to sail. Today, you can get there by any means of transport, and busses, the train and the cruiseships load off thousands of passengers. So the hotel, extended several times in the course of its history, has changed as well. Still, I had hope for a stint of the glory that should come with such a historic hotel in such a beautiful setting.

There was no glory. Instead, there was a range of small deficiencies - the sloppy and temporary wiring of the flatscreen in the room, the smell in the lobby toilets, the first dinner course coming after wine, no service in the bar unless you alert at reception, always a piece of cutlery missing with every course we had. The staff is friendly and well intended, but is clearly on temporary positons and without formal training for the tasks they are supposed to perform..

I realize the constraints of modern day mass tourism. But in such a beautiful and historic place, I left with a depressing feeling of lost glory.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews