We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Location”
Review of Fretheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fretheim Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A clean, friendly, attractive, service-oriented hotel located adjacent to the train station and dock, so getting your luggage to and from the hotel is not an issue. They have no problem with checking your luggage while waiting for your room, or after you have checked out of your room. An extensive breakfast buffet is included. We arrived hours early, but our room was ready and we got right in. Ask for an upper room with a view of the harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IN_Travelers47906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel is architecturally a bit of an eclectic mix due to various extensions built and renovations carried out over the years but it's nicely situated close to the rail station and the wharf.
'Fjord views' from the rooms are a bit 'hit and miss' ..... there are a number of trees which, when in leaf, disrupt the view.
The rooms are very comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. The dinner offering is self-serve buffet or a no choice or very restricted choice set menu. The buffet is pretty unimaginative. If you're there for more than 1 or 2 nights the fayre becomes quite boring.
Expectations are probably raised by an appealing website and the pricing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 130R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

When autumn is in the air, the cruise ships have departed and daylight lasts until 9 pm, Flam Norway is quite peaceful. Guests at the hotel can enjoy cozy rooms furnished with antiques or enjoy a glass of locally created hard cider by the fire. For those on the route from Oslo to Bergen, it was a great way to prolong the fjord experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for one of the renovated original rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrSusan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We just returned from a one night stay at Fretheim this weekend – after cycling «Rallarvegen» from Finse. After 5,5 miles on the road we were very much looking forward to our stay at this hotel, as we have visited several of the places in the «Historical hotels of Norway»chain before.
I am very sad to say we were very disappointed… We had booked historical rooms, which were wonderful – all eight of them individually decorated – all with a bathtub, which was lovely after at day on the road. Lovely view of the port and garden, which is also very nice. Rooms are nice and clean. No tv .
Common rooms are also nice, airy and bright with views of the port and mountains, and so we were so much looking forward to our buffet dinner booked at 8 pm.
The buffet was a disaster! Not much of a variety, only meat on the Saturday night buffet was roast pork, and then two types of fish – oven baked trout and Pollock. No desserts seemed to be home made, their coffee from the coffee machine was of the worst we have tasted in a hotel, and they started removing the food from the buffet at 9.50 pm… None of us tried the menu – so I cannot say if this was better, but I must say – I doubt it.
Breakfast the day after continued on the same level as the night before – no fried eggs, scrambled eggs made from powder mix, bad coffee and watered juices. No pure juice…. And to top it off – some of the same things like herring were on the table both for dinner and breakfast, and the butter was just piled up on a plate for everyone to share…. I hate that! It looks disgusting and seems very unhygienic.
So – to sum up our one night stay – Fretheim seems to suffer from being a hotel only for tourists dropping by on the visit in Flåm – and the food is not on the top of their focus areas. I would not spend that much money on a stay with such poor food. To me – one of the top priorities when staying at a hotel is food.

Room Tip: Historical rooms are large and very nicely decorated! If you have time to spend AT the room - go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank monaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We arrived Flam via the Flam Heritage Railway. The Train ride from Myrdal to Flam was amazing with the live event at the waterfall. It really takes your breath away to be greeted with the overflowing waterfall , loud music and a mysterious lady dancing on the hill top!
When we reached Flam and walked out of the station, we started searching for a cab to drive to our hotel, that is when my husband turned around and Lo! Behold! there stood our Fretheim Hotel just a few meters away from us....hahaha!!!
We had a hearty laugh at ourselves!
Wish we had spent more time in Flam. The scenic beauty on every side is terrific. There are also small eating joints around the station area which add to the food options but sadly close after 6 p.m.
Norway is generally too expensive, we found not many food joints to offer food later than 6 p.m. hence, we had to rely on the only COOP Marked for food supplies after 9 p.m.

Room Tip: The Historic Rooms are lovely , but sadly don't have a Television as compared to the facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We paid £385 for 2 nights bed & breakfast in a twin bed room with balcony overlooking fjord.
Actually most of the time the balcony overlooks tourist shopping area & docked cruise ship !
Beds we're clean & comfortable & the room was quiet but there the praise stops. Our bathroom door was warped and wouldn't close,despite a notice saying that it must be closed when showering to avoid activating the fire alarm .The bathroom was very small with toilet & sink jammed close together & had a wetroom type shower but the partition didn't contain the shower water.Toiletries were very meagre & not replenished for second night - luckily we had our own supplies.
There were hooks on the hall wall for outdoor clothing but little or no provision for normal clothes storage.Kettle in room but very limited supplies,no milk or creamer and no teaspoon just a horrid wooden stick!
Breakfast was cafeteria style buffet with limited seating space - we were lucky & found room immediately ,others weren't so fortunate.Breakfast food was adequate but " hot " food had obviously been standing a while and was only lukewarm.
Lastly check- out is 11 am but check- in is not until 4 pm, way too late. Arriving early we were able to put our luggage in a storage room, but no attempt was made to contact cleaners to ask if room could be made available more promptly - just keep checking back was reception response , room finally ready at 3:50.
Some individual staff were very pleasant but obviously employed on a seasonal basis & lacking in training & experience.
Little in the way of quiet sitting rooms ,just a seating area in reception with bar.
All in all we felt exploited by this hotel which seems to be intent on maximising profit at the expense of customer care and consideration .We won't be back!

Room Tip: Take the cheapest possible - it's not worth paying more than you have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is quite historic. We enjoyed taking the informational tour of the hotel. Learned how it has changed over the years, and about the "ghost". The front of the hotel faces the fjord. We had a spectacular view from our hotel balcony. There are also great views from the upstairs bar area and the lobby/breakfast area. Really enjoyed sitting in the bar area looking at the fjord. It is frustrating when there are large ships blocking the fjord view, but many of them left in the evenings so we got the view back. Enjoyed walking along the shore of the fjord in the evenings. Our rooms were clean and up to date. We had plenty of outlets to charge phones/cameras. The bathroom was nice and had a shower. We stayed in the "American" wing of the hotel. There are several different wings that have been built over the years. Some of the wings are not as "up to date" as the American wing. If you want a historic room without all the modern conveniences, you can ask for that type of room. Breakfast was nice and had a lot of choices - fruit, yogurt, meats, cheese, pastries, pancakes, jam, fruit juices, etc. The hardest thing was the amount of people trying to eat breakfast at the same time. All of the tour buses left at about the same time, so there were a TON of people sort of shoving each other for food. Can't blame the hotel for the crowd, but it was stressful. The staff was very nice and helpful. Beer and wine were very expensive (as it was everywhere in Norway). There was a tea pot in our room, so we had some hot tea. Loved the hotel and Flam. The city and the hotel are beautiful. Would love to go back some day.

Room Tip: Ask for Fjord view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARB1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
4 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
205 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
237 reviews
14.6 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
375 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#7 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Hotel

Address: on Flam Waterfront, Mailbox 63, Flam 5743, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Price Range: £132 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fretheim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fretheim Hotel boasts mountain and fjord views and is somewhere you can look, taste, listen and absorb magnificent nature. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the Nærøyfjord UNESCO World Heritage site. This fjord has been chosen as one of the world’s most beautiful destinations several times running! The hotel was built in Swiss chalet style at the end of the 19th century, and over the years has grown and developed in pace with the increase in tourists and travellers using the Bergensbana railway and, later, the famous Flåmsbana railway. The oldest part of the hotel has been carefully restored to reveal beautiful details, with open fires and antique furniture in the lounges, library, conference room and, not least, in all the historical guest rooms. Take yourself on a journey of discovery and enjoy the atmosphere of glory days past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Fretheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fretheim Hotel Flåm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing