We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brekkefossen waterfall”
Review of Brekkefossen

Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brekkefossen waterfall”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Walked to this waterfall following the guide from the Tourist office. Easy to find the path but would recommend as a minimum that you wear trainers or walking boots and are reasonably fit as it is a steep pull to the hillside where you can view the waterfall which was spectacular and loud!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 18Anna10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    51
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
795 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Stunning, stunning, stunning – and a great walk too”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A fantastic walk from Flam. You can get all the details of the route from the tourist information centre.
Bear in mind the terrain is a bit steep and you would need to be fairly physically fir to reach till the top of the waterfall, but once you reach there, you are transported to another world – stunning views from the top and the waterfall itself is magnificent.
Advisable to take a lot of drinking water with you and footwear that is comfortable as well as ones that are able to grip the steep terrain well.
We went for the walk at around 8:00 am and there was no one around and it was very peaceful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
“Nice 2-3 hours leisure stroll from Flam and back”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We took this short hike as a replacement to the ridiculously high priced train ride. It was great. We got lucky weather wise and the waterfall was impressive.
You will find a map at the tourists information (though you won't need it because the waterfall is visible from the Flam marina).
Definitely recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy4916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful view from Brekkefossen”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

When we arrived in Flam aboard our cruise ship, the waterfall was quite visible. Since we planned to ride the Flam Railway on a later date as part of Norway in a Nutshell tour, we decided to walk to Brekkefossen. It is a nice walk along the road to the entry swing gate that began the hike to the falls. The hike would probably be categorized as moderate. The view from the base of the falls is wonderful, and there are places to sit and just admire the view. I would definitely wear proper footwear, light-medium hiking shoes would work. It’s basically a hike straight up, no switchbacks, and there are plenty of loose rocks, hence the hiking shoes. I would not do this hike in wet weather since a steep hike up means a steep descent down while stepping on wet rocks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank activeguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Flamsdalen Valley”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our friend who had visited Flam in the past advised against the Flam Railway train ride, so our other option was to walk the town of Flam and the nearby Flamsdalen Valley. We started from the Fretheim Hotel, followed the road parallel to the railway line and the river, saw the Brekkefossen waterfall in the not-too-far distance, continued along the same road to Flam Church. Total distance of this walk was about 5 km. Some fellow cruise ship passengers went to the Brekkefossen waterfall and loved it. Going to the waterfall involved climbs on steep terrain. The Tourist Info by pier has good walking maps. Depending on each individual's interest and physical strength, one can choose the perfect route to enjoy the beautiful landscape of this Norwegian fjord valley.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brekkefossen also viewed

Flam, Aurland Municipality
Flam, Aurland Municipality
 
Flam, Aurland Municipality
Flam, Aurland Municipality
 

Been to Brekkefossen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing