We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home - but with a much better view!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fretheim Fjordhytter
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I recently visited Norway as a 25th wedding anniversary celebration so I was hoping for something a bit special at the places we stayed and that's exactly what we got with our stay at Fretheim Fjordhytter.

As others have already said, the owners, Sue and Anders, are incredibly nice, kind and helpful people. Anders showed us around our cabin and also how to use the motor boat, making sure we were happy with everything. He and Sue reassured us that we could contact them via SMS anytime we had a problem (they are often out and about, taking care of their cattle herd so this is the easiest way of reaching them and they are very good at responding to messages).

There is a parking area near the cabins, which are based right at the edge of the water, ensuring the most amazing views from the cabin windows. A lovely smell of fresh wood pervades the cabin and is noticeable as soon as you step inside. The interior is spacious yet with a cosy feel. We had no need whatsoever to use the woodburning stove as the heating was more than sufficient - in fact, we ended up turning it down, despite the chill in the September air outside!

The main living space comprises a very comfortable seating area for relaxing and watching TV or listening to music, along with a good-sized dining table and decent kitchen. It is well-equipped; the only items I missed being able to use were a baking tray and frying pan. There are plenty of other pans and lasagne dishes, however, so it is possible to improvise. Besides, it was so incredibly helpful to have cooking facilities in Flåm as the restaurant prices are mostly very high indeed. (Try the nearby Aegir Brewery pub for good food at less scary prices if you do want to eat out. Good beer, too!) We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and followed Sue's excellent advice to stop at a supermarket along the way (Voss is good) to pick up food supplies as the Flåm supermarket was closed by the time we arrived and is not open on Sundays.

The star of the show was, of course, the magnificent view. Who needs a TV when you have one of the most beautiful vistas in the world visible from full length windows across the whole of the front of the living room!

There were 3 bedrooms in our cabin, two up and one down. We chose the upstairstairs, most spacious bedroom, which looked out onto the fjord. I have a spinal problem and was relieved to find the bed to be perfectly comfortable. It's pretty peaceful, too, and, despite me usually being an insomniac on holiday, I slept like a baby for all 4 nights of our stay. The downstairs bathroom contains a decent shower as well as a very handy washing machine.

We would be delighted to return to Fretheim Fjordhytter and it was a bit of a wrench to leave our cosy haven with heavenly views at the end of our stay. This really is somewhere special and I can't imagine anyone being disappointed by it. It certainly helped to make our silver wedding holiday an extremely memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tasmanian-wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had such a great experience here. The owners, Sue & Anders, are very hospitable & friendly. The cabins are immaculate and the views spectacular. The local coop grocery was a 5 minute walk from the cabin and a new micro-brewery next to the grocery. The cabin is secluded, peaceful & quiet. The kitchen is perfect for cooking meals too. We highly recommend it. One of the best experiences in Norway!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonsai29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012


5 out of 5 for;
1.Stunning and beautiful views
2.Wonderful and peaceful location
3.Well equipped cottage
4.Boat with outboard motor to use on the fjord
5 Perfect for break with Norway in a Nutshell Tour

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We just returned from a 10 day trip to Norway and stayed at these cabins in Flam for a week. We were met from the train by the owner, Anders, who was incredibly nice and helpful throughout. The cabins are large, clean and have a lovely nordic feel. They are well equipped and the view is enchanting. Anders and Sue have thought of everything - the kitchen had everything we needed and there is a washing machine proved to be very helpful and despite the weather being a little damp, the wood burning stove helped dry out the clothes. Free wi-fi was a plus, too. The cabins are located on a quite corner of the fjord, away from the tumult of Flam and the numerous cruise ships that visited during the week. The coop supermarket is only about a 5 minute walk and had pretty much everything we needed. We hiked, biked and took out the motor boat which came with the weekly cabin rental several times to the neighboring village of Aurland, which has a great pub with beer garden. So much fun! Would highly recommend for those looking to kick back and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NiaMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is a great place with the best view you can imagine. The cabins are basic, but very large so if you have a few people they're really cost effective too. Free wifi is great as well

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank hugh2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We spent three nights at a cottage at flam, overlooking the fjords. The cottage slept six, had everything we needed and was very comfortable. It was also great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were on vacation in Norway, traveling by car from Oslo to Bergen and back. Fretheim Fjordhytter stay in Flam was the highlight of our trip! Beautiful place, stunning views, comfortable accomodations. The cottages have everything you might need and are located in a private and serene location. Supermarket within walking distance. Anders is very hospitable and helpful. We are dreaming of coming back one day. Thank you very much for you hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristinaf276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.3 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
3.9 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
249 reviews
8.1 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
0 mi away
Brekke Gard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Fjordhytter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Fjordhytter

Address: Flam N-5743, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Flam
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing