We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best experience in Norway Fjords”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fretheim Fjordhytter
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best experience in Norway Fjords”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was the best place I have stayed anywhere in all my travels. The cottage was warm and cosy with all the amenities and the view spectacular abd stunning. Anders Fretheim was very helpful and gave us some tips on how to spend the 3 days there. The boat with each of the cottages gave us the opportunity to experience the serenity of the fjord. The cottages are brilliantly located and secluded but also a easy 10 min walk to the Flam station and other restaurants. I hope i can go back there someday!!! I will never forget the view from the living room early in the mroning or late in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SukantiSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Sue and Anders were so welcoming and helpful they made us feel right at home. The cabins are just superb - the view number one as you are right on the edge of the fjord - and we had such a great time taking out the little boat that comes with the cabin and being the only ones out on the fjord! Just magical! Thanks so much Sue and Anders you helped make our time in Norway extra special!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kallista, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Flam was our introduction to Norway and wow! We stayed here for 3 nights in and it was fabulous! The outlook is something special, your view is looking straight up a spectacular fjord.
The cottages are well set up and you don't want for anything and so, so clean. There is plenty of space to relax away from home, with a spectacular view.
All you need to bring is your food and drinks.
This accommodation was a standout for both of us in Norway and a must if you're in the Flam area.
The owners are the most friendly and hospitable people you could ever wish to deal with.
Two very happy Aussies!

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter which cottage you stayed in, they all look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Simply superb!

Fantastic location on the water's edge of Aurlandsfjorden. Just a stroll from Flam's harbor. Spectacular views. Superb comfort. Excellent equipment, furnishings, kitchen. In short, the place has everything for the perfect holiday in Norway's magnificent Fjordland, not far from Bergen. PLUS, the lovely welcome and hospitality of the owners, local farner Anders and his Aussie wife Sue.

If you have a car, even better. Beautiful excursions available, with two of them highly recommended.

Drive the scenic route of Aurlandsvegen from the village of Aurland to Laerdal. You will take in the magnificent views of the fjords from high above the water. You will also drive through the high mountain plateu to Laerdal, where snow and ice hold reign in glorious wilderness, even in mid-June.

Also recommended, the Kaupanger to Gundevald car ferry, a two and a half hour cruise through some of the most beautiful scenery you will ever see. And, much, much cheaper than the organized tours available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeteBp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I recently visited Norway as a 25th wedding anniversary celebration so I was hoping for something a bit special at the places we stayed and that's exactly what we got with our stay at Fretheim Fjordhytter.

As others have already said, the owners, Sue and Anders, are incredibly nice, kind and helpful people. Anders showed us around our cabin and also how to use the motor boat, making sure we were happy with everything. He and Sue reassured us that we could contact them via SMS anytime we had a problem (they are often out and about, taking care of their cattle herd so this is the easiest way of reaching them and they are very good at responding to messages).

There is a parking area near the cabins, which are based right at the edge of the water, ensuring the most amazing views from the cabin windows. A lovely smell of fresh wood pervades the cabin and is noticeable as soon as you step inside. The interior is spacious yet with a cosy feel. We had no need whatsoever to use the woodburning stove as the heating was more than sufficient - in fact, we ended up turning it down, despite the chill in the September air outside!

The main living space comprises a very comfortable seating area for relaxing and watching TV or listening to music, along with a good-sized dining table and decent kitchen. It is well-equipped; the only items I missed being able to use were a baking tray and frying pan. There are plenty of other pans and lasagne dishes, however, so it is possible to improvise. Besides, it was so incredibly helpful to have cooking facilities in Flåm as the restaurant prices are mostly very high indeed. (Try the nearby Aegir Brewery pub for good food at less scary prices if you do want to eat out. Good beer, too!) We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and followed Sue's excellent advice to stop at a supermarket along the way (Voss is good) to pick up food supplies as the Flåm supermarket was closed by the time we arrived and is not open on Sundays.

The star of the show was, of course, the magnificent view. Who needs a TV when you have one of the most beautiful vistas in the world visible from full length windows across the whole of the front of the living room!

There were 3 bedrooms in our cabin, two up and one down. We chose the upstairstairs, most spacious bedroom, which looked out onto the fjord. I have a spinal problem and was relieved to find the bed to be perfectly comfortable. It's pretty peaceful, too, and, despite me usually being an insomniac on holiday, I slept like a baby for all 4 nights of our stay. The downstairs bathroom contains a decent shower as well as a very handy washing machine.

We would be delighted to return to Fretheim Fjordhytter and it was a bit of a wrench to leave our cosy haven with heavenly views at the end of our stay. This really is somewhere special and I can't imagine anyone being disappointed by it. It certainly helped to make our silver wedding holiday an extremely memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tasmanian-wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had such a great experience here. The owners, Sue & Anders, are very hospitable & friendly. The cabins are immaculate and the views spectacular. The local coop grocery was a 5 minute walk from the cabin and a new micro-brewery next to the grocery. The cabin is secluded, peaceful & quiet. The kitchen is perfect for cooking meals too. We highly recommend it. One of the best experiences in Norway!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonsai29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile


5 out of 5 for;
1.Stunning and beautiful views
2.Wonderful and peaceful location
3.Well equipped cottage
4.Boat with outboard motor to use on the fjord
5 Perfect for break with Norway in a Nutshell Tour

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.0 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.0 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Fjordhytter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Fjordhytter

Property: Fretheim Fjordhytter
Address: Flam N-5743, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Flam
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing