We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't tell everyone else!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fretheim Fjordhytter
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“don't tell everyone else!”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Stayed at number 3 cottage (of 4) in late June 2010. My friend and I were picked up at the station (only a 5 minute walk away) by owner Sue. Sue could not be more welcoming, the cabin/cottage/house (!) could not be more cosy - and yet spacious - or more comfortable. We had free use of the log supply which is kept under the cabin and is fractionally above high water mark. The tv / dvd was rendered almost redundant despite (BBC) Wimbledon and World Cup being on, - when you have panoramic views like these from the window why watch the tele? Everything is well appointed and clean, the area is stunning, the fjord is freezing (Sue reckoned I'm the first to swim in it!) and I want you all to keep this a big secret so that the cabin is available when I next want to visit......... btw the bar in the village has to be the best I have been in and the most expensive. But they have their own micro brewery and if it is ever worth paying £9.50 a pint this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f1nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I stayed in one of these cottages last month. Talk about being well looked after . The host is a local farmer Anders and his Australian wife Susan. The cottage are right on the fjord, in fact they half hang over it. Plus there was a small boat for fishing. There are four cottages and we had ample room. It seemed top be set up to suit either one of two couples or a family. Flam is just breathtaking and the cottage had a big picture window looking down the fjord. The cottage was spotless and really nicely set out. Try taking the train up to Myrdal - its a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurgundyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling Essex man
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The other review says it all really. The web site sold it to us as well and the cabin did not disappoint. We stayed in No. 4 which is the one on the right as you look at the cabins from across the fjord. The cabin was very well equipped and spotless. There was only two of us but the cabin can easily cater for 6 - one double bedroom and two twin bedrooms. Overall, excellent!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peversFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We booked a week at the cottage through Norsc Holidays costing £500 for the week. This wasn't cheap, but the photos on the owner's website sold it for us!!

Even arriving in Flåm in torrential rain, the first impressions did not disappoint. There are 4 cottages located right on the shore of the Aurlandfjord (a branch of the Sognefjord) - with nothing in front of them but fantastic views of the fjord and the surrounding snow-capped mountains.

Our cottage contained 3 bedrooms (2 with twin beds, the other with a double bed), a living room / dining room / kitchen and a shower room (with under-floor heating). The kitchen contains an oven + hob and a fridge with small freezer compartment - the ability to cook your own meals helps keep living costs down in expensive Norway! (Groceries can be purchased at the Coop shop in Flåm - within walking distance).

The cottage has electric heaters throughout, but also has a wood-burning stove (wood provided) which is a nice touch.

We found the cottage to be of a high standard and spotlessly clean. However, the big selling point is the location - the large front windows make the most of the fantastic views.

Flåm is well situated for exploring the Sognefjord and is a 2-3 hour drive from Bergen. The Flåmsbana railway station is a 5 minutes walk from the cottage.

Helpful?
5 Thank Emyr_Elen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.0 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.0 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
743 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#6 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
0.0 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Fjordhytter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Fjordhytter

Property: Fretheim Fjordhytter
Address: Flam N-5743, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Flam
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing