We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant luxury - a real treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Challet Fonte Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Challet Fonte Nova
Ranked #2 of 15 Alcobaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Elegant luxury - a real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

We adored Challet Forte Nova. We had a great, super-comfortable room in the new part adjacent to the beautiful old house. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. We were offered a complimentary welcome drink & breakfast was absolutely delicious. All in all a five star experience. The Challet is very well located, a few minutes from the stunning monastery and near cafes and restaurants in this small but charming town.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
67
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Everything was perfect. The staff were helpful beyond words, nothing was too much. Breakfast was delicious and abundant! Room was beautiful, we were in the old Challet, first floor fantastic balcony and beautifully decorated. Housekeeping was first class. We were here for a wedding at the monestary, so location was perfect. I saw a few of the rooms, all beautiful. I was unsure about the rooms in the Spa, but they turned out to be huge and the bathrooms enormous!! All in all, it was perfect. One of the nicest places we have stayed for a long time. Great recommendations for dinner and also a trip to Obidois over our 3 night stay. Rooms were quiet and the beds very comfortable... 5/5

Room Tip: All the rooms i saw were great, both in the Challet and the Spa. Although if I could choose, id ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rrhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a delightful small chalet (the swiss chalet style is not characteritic of Portugal but there is a reason) with great spacious rooms, fantastic breakfast and outstanding service. One honestly feels like royalty while visiting. The location could not get any better at ony a 5 minute walk from downtown Alcobaca and the monastery. After a day visiting nearby Batalha rest in the lounge while sipping a drink or two and you will think you are a duke and duchess!!! You definitely get more for your money at the Challet Fonte Nova

Room Tip: ask for one of the rooms on the top floor with a view over the small gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acamacho1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel is very well located, close to the monastery. The room we stayed , in the 2nd floor, was ample , well decorated, and very comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Good base for an exploration of central Portugal and the heritage sites of Alcobaça, Tomar and Batalha.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy_Martin_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Thank you,Trip Advisor Ranking!
I was absolutely the right that I believe the ranking and visited Challet Fonte Nova, the number one popular hotel in Alcobasa.

This is beautiful and romantic hotel full of kindness of the staffs.
Our room #3 is in the new building ,large and bright room with huge marble bathroom. The bathroom includes a big bath tab and many toiletries.
I often travel some countries, this bathroom may be the largest bathroom I ever stayed.

Mosteiro de Santa Maria is very short walking distance from the hotel. You can park your car in the hotel parking lot. Mosteiro was so amazing !!

The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous. I mean, food ( bread,ham and cheese, fruits, chocolate-cake,yogurt , handmade jam) was just nice,but the dishes and the atmosphere of the room was full of elegant.
It seemed that there was no other guests here on this day, so my hubby and I could eat breakfast in the special living room by ourselves. I felt that I must do everything in a aristocratic manner! :)
This is a beautiful memory of our travel in Purtugal.

I asked the staff, Which nationality of people is the most frequent visitors of this hotel?
She said that American, Spanish and German are the most.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsRoomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

This wonderful little hotel has been beautifully and sympathetically restored by Maria, its owner. The staff are helpful and friendly and the standard of service is excellent. Maria, has a great eye for detail and the public rooms are a joy. The high spot just has to be the breakfasts which are mouth-watering and served with great style. Alcobaca does not have great deal to offer apart from the monastry and 1 or 2 nights should be sufficient. However if you do stay you simply must stay here. Bob and Linda Swinburne

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobSwinburne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

Stayed at room #4 in the new wing of the Challet at the end of September, 2009; the room was huge and nicely arranged, although I guess lacked the old charm you may find in the older rooms located at the Challet itself (the new wing is a separate building, located right beside the Challet); the new spa was not yet operating; breakfast is served at the Challet building, an amazingly refurbished old manor house which almost transports you back in time (albeit we have not seen the Challet rooms); service was excellent: very personal and accommodating; Alcobaca is a charming and quaint little place, boasting a beautiful monastery, one of the nicest and grandest we have seen during our short 6-day tour of the north half of Portugal; after visiting the monastery enjoy the afternoon sipping coffee or drinking beer at one of the nice eateries skirting the place, as we did; 1 day should do the trick.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperParatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcobaca
1.8 mi away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#4 of 7 in Alcobaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar Sul
Hotel Miramar Sul
#1 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Palace do Capitao
Palace do Capitao
#1 of 1 in Sao Martinho do Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
5.5 mi away
Miramar Hotel & SPA
Miramar Hotel & SPA
#2 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
#1 of 4 in Batalha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Challet Fonte Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Challet Fonte Nova

Property: Challet Fonte Nova
Address: Rua da Fonte Nova, Alcobaca 2460-046, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Alcobaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Alcobaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Challet Fonte Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Challet Fonte Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing