We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The MacLeods”
Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Monte Gordo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$39
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are located on the main avenue to the right of the casino (when facing the front of the casino). We serve authentic Thai cuisine in a warm friendly atmosphere. We also serve home made Italian Ice Cream and were the first Italian Ice Cream parlor in Monte Gordo. Try our crepes and waffles freshly made when ordered. We cater for allergies and provide Vegetarian and Vegan options.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The MacLeods”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A memorable and most enjoyable meal. The owner is very friendly and helpful. This was our second holiday in Monte Gordo and we were looking forward to having a meal there. The food is exquisite and not unreasonably priced. We were amazed that it was not busy every night. We will be returning in January and are already salivating at the thought of our meals there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Iainmacleod3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    23
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Monte Gordo Best Restaurants”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A must visit for travellers to Monte Gordo. The owner, a gentleman from Goa, is very welcoming and helpful towards the menu. His passion for food comes out in bundles in all the dishes we tried. We visiting Thai Orchid twice during our stay and really enjoyed our experiences. Please try if you like Thai, Chinese or Indian foods.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easily recommendable”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was overall a positively great experience, we happen to walk past it while going out for a walk and came to lunch the very next day.
It was a slow day, so we were the only costumers there, which usually leaves me kind of uncomfortable. Turns out the owner was a genuine and heartwharming person that made us feel at ease, and the food was nothing short of memorable! Everything from start to finish was top notch, it was our first time tasting thai food and it was awesome, you could tell there was passion envolved in cooking it. Recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Punkr0cker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Marim, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So good we went back again”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have lived in Portugal for eleven years and am always looking for a "different" cuisine for special occasions. Just happened to be passing when the restaurant was being prepared for New Year and the owner was outside distributing flyers. I was so pleased to see the first Thai restaurant in the area being transformed from the old Tropicana that I booked a table on the spot for myself and four friends. We had a fantastic night, the hospitality was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious. I returned recently with the same friends and was not disappointed. I cannot believe that this restaurant is not packed out every night, the people in Monte Gordo do not know what they are missing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank franceshills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

During a short stay in Monte Gordo we stumbled across the Tropicana - surprised to find a Thai restaurant on the seafront. It really was very good. From when we arrived the staff were friendly and the service was great throughout - the kitchen staff were happy to change the amount of spice on one of our dishes, and the food came quickly even though the restaurant was busy.
The food itself was also very good. Thai is our favourite cusine and the food here was as good as we have eaten in any Thai restaurant we've been to before (and we've been to quite a few!). We had the green chicken curry and Hainanese Chicken - both were nice and spicy and had plenty of flavour.
Should we find ourselves in Monte Gordo again we'll definately be paying a return visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

Monte Gordo, Faro District
Monte Gordo, Faro District
 
Monte Gordo, Faro District
 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing