We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit”
Review of Casablanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed 7 April 2012

just returned from casablanca inn on a half board basis, the hotel is spotlessly clean the staff friendly and helpful. the meals are what you would expect from a three star, the breakfast was a buffet, predictably frankfurters, bacon and such, the evening meals can be a little unusual but with a choice of two starters three main courses, usually two meat dishes and one fish dish, and a choice of fruit ice cream or a sweet the price was very good value, but if you prefer bed and breakfast there are many restaurants nearby, this is one hotel i will definitely return to

Room Tip: the rooms in the back are the most spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denzilWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

The stars over the entrance state that this hotel is 4 star but having in stayed in other 4 star hotels in the Algarve this is definitely not up to that standard. The public areas are clean, the room was a good size as was the bathroom and the hot water plentiful at all times of the day. Towels were changed daily. When I let the water out of the bath it came back up through the floor and flooded the bathroom floor. The storage in the bedroom was exremely sparse for 2 adults, no where to put the cases once unpacked. The balcony got the sun all day. The hotel is adjacent to a concrete play ground which is brightly lit all night long, the room had blackout curtains but I would rather not have stadium lights 3 foot away from my bedroom window.
The reception staff were helpful and pleasant.
The HUGE disappointment for me was the breakfast which I can only describe as something less than a service station. There was no variety one day to the other, fresh pineapple everday which was great but tinned peaches and pears, WHY NOT fresh oranges ? which are abundant in every single field. The meusli and cornflakes were at the chepeast end of catering multi quality. The bread rolls were good but the other offering, a cross between a coirssant / brioche were also the type you get 50 in a sack at the supermarket. I had the yoghurt on the first day but it tasted bad to me, there was also a pink yoghurt which I saw no one eat and yet it seemed to be put out each day. The fruit juices were cheap squash type, lurid orange and sickly sweet. As other visitors have stated the beans were lukewarm.

The whole impact is cheap and sparse and money saving and more 2 star than 4 star.

Its a shame because the staff were working really hard and all they need to do is to get some fresh fruit and up the standard a small amount to achieve a lot more.

We booked at the start of 2012 and got a good deal on Expedia with Monarch Flights, if I had paid the advertised rate for this hotel I would have been really disappointed.

Montegordo was very quiet and at this time of year it was common to find we were the only 2 people in the reastaurants in town. It is a good base for exploring locally but is a bit of a concrete jungle built to exploit the beach as opposed to authentic portugese charm.. in Winter it is full of Dutch tourists. We really struggled to find anything authentic in Montegordo, luckily Castro Marim, Tavira and Vila Real da St Antonio make up for the lack of charm.

I would not chose to stay at Casablanca again.

Room Tip: if you dont want the lights shining in all night go round to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Casablanca Inn is a really well run small hotel which offers great value for money breaks. We stayed here in March, 2012 on one of their 2 night dinner b&B breaks. The hotel is clean, the staff really friendly and helpful. The restaurant offers slick service and the food was good. The hotel offers a heated pool and sun bathing area. It is well located very close to the beach and other bars and restaurants. The hotel bar prices were very reasonable too. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Casablanca Inn, the majority of previous comments are pretty accurate. Hotel spotlessly clean, rooms also kept very clean with daily clean by maid. Pool area and sunbathing area very private but rarely used, the majority of the residents during this week were over 60 so not really attracted.
The food on the whole was very good, the breakfasts were lukewarm...but if asked the head waiter would organise a reheat in the microwave. Did not bother us as we had toast, egg and bacon, plus fruit and yoghurt..it was the beans which seemed to be the hassle, but let's face it that would not spoil anyone's holiday.
The area around the hotel was very quiet, you could hear a pin drop, our room was over the entrance and was no bother. It overlooked a children's play area, but again rarely used. Quite a few residents took advantage of the bike hire straight across from the hotel.
We stayed half board so organised our own lunch, although the hotel could provide snacks with a discount between 12 and 3pm.
All of the beach front restaurants cooked fresh fish caught that morning, bargain sea bass lunch for 8 euros Inc drink at Hel Bar highly recommended. Also paid several visits to La Ma Ma Italian restaurant tourist menus 4 courses for 9.50 euros with wine..again excellent value for money.
All in all weather excellent, hotel more than satisfied our needs, plus the quietness and ability to switch off completely made this weeks break one to remember. We will definitely be back at the same time of year...no hesitation in recommending this for any age wanting a quiet homely break...

Room Tip: Room 204 excellent as has sun all day, it was quiet whilst we were there, but could be slightly nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very clean. Friendly staff. No problem with breakfast as some people have commented. Good selection. Bit dim in the lounge area. Loved the cats and dog! Would go back again.
Sue B

Room Tip: rooms at front have better balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sueb248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Have just arrived back after two weeks at this hotel, found it very pleasent and really clean staff always helpfull, and in a good position for shops bars ect. The thing thats lets it down is the FOOD always cold, breakfast was the usual suspects bacon eggs fruit ect, but always the hot food was cold, had one evening meal on day of arrival and that was enough did'nt eat there again. But there are lots of nice places to eat quite cheaply near by.. All in all we had a good holiday, and it would'nt take much to make to make this hotel great, but it is never a 4 Star hotel just 3.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The hotel was just fine but we had to share the public area with 3 cats and a dog if you don't like cat hairs on your clothes this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#5 of 14 in Monte Gordo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#12 of 14 in Monte Gordo
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guadiana
Guadiana
#11 of 14 in Monte Gordo
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn

Address: Praceta Casablanca, Monte Gordo 8900-434, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: £24 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casablanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Monte Gordo
Casablanca Monte Gordo
Casablanca Inn Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing