We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice trip away”
Review of Casablanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed 25 September 2012

just returned from this hotel, The room was on the first floor ,it had a small balcony but we only used it for drying the towels,The beds where very hard with twin beds in the room but very clean.The bathroom was a nice size and the shower very good .The cleaning ladies keep the room very clean.We had bed and breakfast and the food was very good lots of choice but the staff could not keep up with clean tables and keeping the food topped up so some times you had to wait.

Room Tip: You need a room with the big balcony`s on the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We read the previous Trip adviser reports and were happy with what they all said,so we decided to book it. It was a lovely hotel,our room was at the front of the hotel and I can appreciate some people were annoyed at there being a playground right at the front,but when we had been out for a meal and got back for bed they had all left the play area by then so it wasnt a big problem although the hotel di say Adult Hotel.
The rooms were cleaned every day and the beds madw and clean towels put out.
Breakfast was ok but the tiniest bowls for cereal.Some days there was'nt any hot food left eg bacon eggs etc.
We usually had toast and cereal and coffee.
I did have one evening meal there and the portions were tiny and not very appetising but you got a discount because you were staying there for B&B.
It was quite close to the beach so not far to walk.

Room Tip: we were at the front of the hotel and it did get a little noisy when people were leaving dragging th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisnged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Small hotel, very clean, convenient location. We enjoyed the fact that our balcony overlooked a square where children and families congregated in the evenings. Was a lovely holiday atmosphere and was lovely to enjoy a glass of wine listening to the murmur of voices in the warmth. We enjoyed the food - the soup and the fish were always acceptable or better. The english menu could be eccentric - one night it listed Fluke with gravy . My husband. a curious sort ordered it and it turned out to be a very nicely cooked plaice with sauce. Vegetarians might need to contact the hotel before booking - very few choices for them. Monte Gordo is a nice change from the more familiar Algarve resorts, many more Portuguese and Spanish visitors than Brits or Germans. It's also easy to get around to other towns in the area by public transport - train bus or ferry. As other reviewers have said the beach is sensational.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dweenCumbriauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

First visited this hotel in 2000 and it was superb, at the time the owners were celebrating 25 successful years. Decided this year to make a return visit after reading positive reviews. Would have liked to rate 'very good' where cleanliness concerned.The cleaning ladies were very thorough and helpful. Staff on the whole were very pleasant, although one receptionist did like to chat away on the phone leaving guests waiting to be attended too.
What let the hotel down was the food. This was mediocre at best. Breakfast -, cold beans, cold scrambled egg, breakfast tea offered was 'Earl grey' . The evening meal is waiter served and although a choice offered a really bad meal was tinned ham and instant mash potato, with 6 slices of carrot. Soup was lukewarm, fish was served with gravy on one occasion.
Desserts were burnt or very dry eg fruit tart without ice cream or cream. Many were left on plates.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Happycampers1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

just returned from this hotel & could not fault it at all. the staff were very friendly & made us welcome.the rooms were spotless & the food was varied & tasty. this was our first time at this hotel but it will not be our last.monte gordo is a lovely place & the beach is great. well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katebishop1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

just back from this hotel could not fault it it is spotless and friendly staff the hotel is central in monte-gordo the beach is to die for . we did a lot of walking nice walk along the beach to villa real where you can grt a ferry over to spain for 1;70 Euro well worth a visit . will Definilely be going back again soon

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annbates_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We went to Montegordo about 20 years ago and decided it was time to go back.
The town has changed (as expected) enormously and for the better.
Casablanca hotel is located in a quiet street just off the main drag with a community square in front of it where the locals gather in the evening.
The outside sitting area made for interesting viewing.

Room Tip: Front facing overlooks square referred to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beefCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#5 of 14 in Monte Gordo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
472 reviews
0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.2 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#12 of 14 in Monte Gordo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn

Address: Praceta Casablanca, Monte Gordo 8900-434, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: £23 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Monte Gordo
Casablanca Monte Gordo
Casablanca Inn Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing