We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant location but not the best hotel”
Review of Casablanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed 15 September 2013

stayed here for a week with my boyfriend in august, unfortunately we were given a tiny room at the back on the ground floor which had metal grills on like a prison and the room was very dark subsequently, I am sure the upstairs rooms were nice and bright and they had nice balconies, break fast was just adequate but the location is brilliant, right in the middle of everything and 5 mins walk from the beach

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibraltar2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Have tried to register a negative review on hotel website without success. Stayed in July for a week. The service and quality of what was offered at breakfast was very poor, after a couple of days very demoralising. Tables were not cleaned and re-set and after 9am difficult to find a clean table. Everything ran out and painful to watch the half-hearted efforts to replenish basic items, cups, glasses etc. There were other problems.

Room Tip: I think being Portugese helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank squirrels55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our room was small and cramped, and very noisy from the apartments across the road. The beds and pillows were lumpy, so not a good night's sleep. The food was awful, and both of us had upset stomachs for the entire week. I think some of the food was recycled, and not fresh. There were not enough sun beds, so we could not get by the pool. For the money we spent, we would have done a lot better in some of the nearby hotels, which I went to look at, and was so annoyed that we were stuck in the dismal Casablanca. I would not go back again.

Room Tip: Don't go at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned from here July 2013 , the casablanca inn is very clean , fresh towels everyday and good air conditioning. We stayed b&b , was satisfactory but limited choice, didn't think staff were friendly at all infact quite miserable. There are no currency bureaus either which is unusual , very good location for beach which is lovely . All in all very relaxing but not a lot there so a week was enough .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

my wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks at this little gem,from the moment we walked in reception we were greeted with a nice smiling lady, we had a nice room 206 facing the front which was a big bonus as talking to other guests their rooms said theirs were dark. we were bb the choices were enough for breakfast which done the job. all the staff we came across were friendly and the cleaners got you anything you needed.. the pool was ample size, and a sun area was upstairs, we would certainly book this hotel again along with jet2 who were amazing with their times. just round the corner you get a nice cup of milky coffee at gig@bite. just one bit of advice to anyone going to this resort, there are no foreign exchanges it caught a few brits out as not everyone has a debit or credit card.you can use a bank if you take stirling but the exchange rates are poor,you might like to notify your bank or building soc you might be using your card as their might think it has been stoled. in all a nice and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: you might like to email the hotel direct 2 weeks before you travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michaelCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had booked a twin room for my Aunt & I,went to the room--- double bed!
When we told reception we were greeted by a ‘grumpy’ girl, gave us a key & said that’s the only room left!
This room was OK.And we had twin beds!
We booked HB as it was cheaper than B&B.
Every day the breakfasts were the same. Rubber fried eggs, dried bacon etc then fresh oranges but tinned peaches & pears (AND peaches were selling in the shops for 99 cents a kilo.And the same rolls which were there the night before!
The evening meals were diabolical!! So after 2 days we decided to eat out every night
After 4 days we didn't even go to breakfast, haha.
We found out ( by accident) that our key fitted the room next door, so BE AWARE, THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN!!!Reception said this was impossible & never even came with us to check!!! But we knew this was true!!!
The Hotel does not offer currency exchange so we went Saturday to the machines & ALL were empty. Sunday night they were filled again but we never found a bank that would exchange Sterling.We went over to Spain by ferry, & banks were every where.

Hotel is spotless clean but leaves a lot to be desired with the food & some of the staff.
Meals were awful so do not do HB!!!
The Head waiter in the dining room was only interested in people who were buying bottles of wine so they thought he was wonderful, of course.
Cats all over the furniture PLUS hairs did not add to the ambiance of the Hotel.
If you want a drink in the afternoon, no bar staff, ring the bell!!
Actually,more like FAULTY TOWERS!!! haha.

Room Tip: Our room 220 was good, sea view though 200 yards away. Maid kept spotlessly clean. BUT by accident...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryandChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have just returned from a week here,staying half board. The rooms are spacious and have very efficient air conditioning.The bathroom was also very spacious and spotlessly clean with soft white towels, changed as required. The white bed linen was changed regularly and the room thoroughly cleaned daily.There is also a small fridge ,which was great for cool drinks in the room.
The breakfast had plenty of choices of both hot and cold food.fruit juices, coffee and tea which
was very good. The evening meals were less enjoyable as the food was rather bland and lacked seasoning,but the quality was good.
There is a small pool,and also a sunbathing area upstairs,which was quite useful.
The location is ideal for the beach, or for the buses to visit other resorts.
We visited Tavira and Villa Real de S Antonio,and took the ferry to Ayamonte in Spain.
One evening we ate at a local Taberna just across from the hotel.It is called Taberna Dona Maria and it served authentic Portuguese food in a rustic style,which we really enjoyed.We also enjoyed the coffee served at the Gyg@bite coffee shop ,just round the corner from this hotel.
It was a nice relaxing holiday,which we enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 14 in Monte Gordo
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#12 of 14 in Monte Gordo
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn

Address: Praceta Casablanca, Monte Gordo 8900-434, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte Gordo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: £22 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casablanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Monte Gordo
Casablanca Monte Gordo
Casablanca Inn Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing