We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Croissant

Le Croissant
Ranked #37 of 74 Restaurants in Monte Gordo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Excellent food and fantastic service. This is a very small restaurant but with about 8 tables outside. There is a wide variety in the menu and the fish is really good. Overall, a great dining experience. Staff are friendly and the service is top quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“I thought the chicken piri piri would be nice but oh dear!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I ordered the chicken piri piri. What a mistake. The waiter put a very small bottle of very concentrated piri piri sauce on the table and said it was very hot so use it carefully. When my meal arrived it was fried pieces of chicken and boney very small pieces of chicken at that. Which part of the chicken, who knows. Other than the batter there was very little chicken and a lot of bones. Half way through the meal the waiter took the piri piri off the table and gave it to other customers (Fawlty Towers came to mind) When I had finished (which didn't take long!) I had more on my plate than I had started with! Someone described this to me a few days later as the chicken's coccyx. I thought it was going to be a piece of chicken (breast or thighs) marinated in piri piri but it was the most awful end of the chicken you could eat. We have laughed about it since and fortunately my husband didn't have the chicken he had a port chop so and his was ok.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GregoryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a good place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is a small restaurant but has a wide choice with something for everyone. Not as expensive as the main restaurants but could have a larger dessert menu. Friendly service from the waiters and owner as we have dined there a lot in the past 5 years we have been visiting Monte Gordo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SRA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We went to this restaurant twice during our 2 week stay in Monte Gordo. The first visit was OK but on the second occasion they didn't have one of the items on the fish menu. I appreciate that this can happen often but there was very little apology for this. One of us just wanted a snack meal and opted for Pizza, it was the worse Pizza we've ever been served. The base was rock hard, dry and the topping was greasy and didn't go anywhere near the edge of the dough. Clearly this was a pre-made Pizza and not home made as we'd been led to believe.
There are several restaurants along the same small stretch of road in which this eatery is located and on subsequent nights we noticed a lack of customers here whereas the other 3 places were always bustling.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Croissant also viewed

Monte Gordo, Faro District
Monte Gordo, Faro District
 
Monte Gordo, Faro District
Monte Gordo, Faro District
 

Been to Le Croissant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing